Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Prince Of Peace Catholic School

Private | PK-8 | 388 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Hoover

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $201,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $970.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 28, 2014

POP is an amazing school. Everyone is completely devoted to the children, especially the wonderful teachers and principal. My children are challenged academically, but most importantly come home happy every day. We are so glad we decided to send our children here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2014

Prince of Peace has the most caring staff who treat my children like they were their own. The principal is extremely involved and cares very much for all of the school's stakeholders. The support and guidance my family receives to help educate my children is top notch. I am so blessed to be a part of the POP community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2014

Prince of Peace Catholic School has caring, kind, and committed administration, faculty, and staff. They are all more than willing to work with parents and students to make their educational experience the best. The education my children are receiving is rigorous and develops the whole child. Academic and behavioral expectations have students prepared for future endeavors. All are welcome at Prince of Peace and it is evident the moment you walk through the doors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2014

Absolute worst experience. The principal is very confrontational and combative. Worst decision ever to put my child in this school. My child is now in public school in Hoover and we could not be happier. Hope to never cross paths again, POP!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2012

Prince of Peace is a top-notch school and we could not be happier with the quality of instruction, the excellent leadership, the values instilled in the students, and the close-knit family atmosphere. The school encourages parent involvement, and parents are very active in volunteering. It is wonderful to see our child so excited to go to school each day. We would recommend POP to anyone and feel blessed to be part of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2011

This is an excellent school. Our children have been attending this school for eight years. From kindergarten through middle school, the whole environment supports a love of learning and respect for others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2010

I went to this school from 4th grade all the way to eigth grade. Throughout my years the academics were challenging and fun at the same time. POP has tremendous amounts of school spirit and there is never a time when you don't want to be there. The sports teams and coaches are very successfull in winning championships while being fun at the same time. The teachers are great and so is the principal!


Posted September 30, 2010

POP is the best school in Hoover. I took my kids out of POP and placed them into the public school system. Needless to say, I am now putting them back in POP. The entire staff knows the kids by name and take a valued interest in making sure children consistently make the highest marks on grades. The family spirit of this school is evident from the principal to the parent. I cannot say enough good things about the Christian atmosphere and the academic success rate of this school. In the public school system my kids are doing work roughly two grades below what they were doing at POP. When teachers and parents care about their children's education and their spiritual development, the children will follow suite.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2010

POP is a wonderful environment! I can not say enough good things about this school. The Principal knows every child by name. I have two children at the school and they both love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2010

Absolutely love POP! Great teachers and excellent principal!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 58%
Hispanic 6% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Black 2% 34%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Birmingham
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4650 Preserve Parkway
Hoover, AL 35226
Phone: (205) 824-7886

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT