Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Berry Middle School

Public | 6-9, 12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 24, 2014

I currently go to berry, and I absolutely love it! At the assemblies award after award from all over the country are being announced , plus we are one big family! Yes there are people of all types that go to berry but does that really matter? I think it challenges students and really pushes us to do great things. All the teachers are understanding and caring and I feel like its my home away from home. My family moved to this district just for the schools, that's got to mean something!


Posted May 15, 2013

Currently I go to Berry and to be honest I cant wait for it to end. I'm a smart student but you would think everyone is because the teachers see who the weakest student academically is and then focus on teaching at a level they will understand. I have never gotten anything less than a 90 because some teachers give so many hints its not a test. the bullying is terrible the teachers really have no control over the kids they send them to in school suspension and the kids come back worse! The teachers also dont help you with your future like I really love writing but my Language Arts teacher has yet to say anything about furthering writing skills the only team that really cares is 6-3 they tell you about competitions and send in stuff. I dislike most of the teachers because they dont help. The only good thing is the electives and Dr.Wheaton the principal. If you like slowpaced schools then this would be an amazing school. But if you want your child to be academically challenged and gain skills they will actually use then pick another school.Here they are mainly worried about sports and clubs that win. if you arent in either of those then you arent important to Berry thats the truth.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 9, 2013

This school is far from what people from the outside may think it is. Please don't think just because it's located in Hoover it's the best of the best, no it's not. This school is highly over-rated!! My child attend's this school now and they don't stand by what they believe and preach to parents on the 1st day. I've heard sooo many things that go on there it's crazy. Like the reader before said the school is run by preppies, don't forget hoodrat's also, and the bullying is awful. I feel sorry for some of the stories I hear from my child about other students. It's not all what's it cracked up to be, and we most certainly will not be returning. It's not worth the headache!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2012

The academics here are not well. The teachers only pay attention to the class clowns creating rupture and havoc. They don't teach even half of the time, they enjoy playing around with the preps that could care less about education and gave up their life to sports. Yes, this school might seem parent - friendly and nice, but it's a whole different life to the students that try and learn for the better. For the extra curricular activities, basically the only well done part.


Posted November 5, 2011

OK guys, I used to go to Berry. I got to a fine arts school now, though, and I have to say; Berry is awful. Like two of the people on here said, THE SCHOOL IS INFESTED AND RUN BY PREPPIES!!! I despise preppies. When I went there, there was bullying, I think three or four fights (in one semester, I think) and oh my GOD is there SO MUCH CUSSING! I took advanced math last year and I could hardly learn the material because my teacher went too fast and didn't help me AT. ALL. Berry does have a secret life, I assure you. -A former student of Berry


Posted March 24, 2011

I am a student here at Berry, and I have to say that when I read the comment about berry's "secret life" I nearly hit the button to report inaccuracy. I have had a great 6th grade year at Berry, and the teachers truly care about each individual's future. Dr. Wheaton is the best principal ever. Mrs. Kneisley, the 6th grade principal, is very nice as well. The counselors, especially Mrs. Sizemore, are the best around. The PE coaches are fun to be around (except for Coach Maner and Coach Heffner, but that doesn't have anything to do with how good the school is.) Mr. Baggett, Mr. Neugent and Mrs. Johnson, the band and choir directors, are amazing musicians and teachers. Everything about BMS is great, and I love being here.


Posted August 17, 2010

im a new student here from a diffrent district and so far i enjoy the comfort and help here but i guest since it my first year i havent heard any teasing or anything (yet).so ill come to tell u the rest as i get futher in.


Posted June 5, 2010

My daughter just finished 6th grade at Berry. The curriculum challenged her and received assistance from all of her teachers when needed. She finished the year with all A's and 1 B (she missed it by 1 point!!). Special recognition to Mrs. Pollini on the 6-2 team. She is exceptional!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2009

This school is awesome!!! they really care about your childs education!!! find the greatness
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2009

The school seems like a great place to most parents. But there is a whole secret life at Berry that any student can tell you about, but won't dare to for fear of it ending. The students that actually care about academics are harassed and made fun of daily. The teachers refuse to teach even to the most basic materials and mostly yell at the students. The parents don't know what is going on here and are better off not knowing. Their zero tolerance policy would be a great thing if teachers actually started paying attention. The extracurriculars are nothing special, and very few academic clubs exist. The school was overrun by preps, as Augustus says. I still attend here, and I can't wait until I can be free.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 9, 2008

This school has a great environment atmospherically-speaking, but when it comes to academia, the faculty at Berry are not concerned with going above and beyond students' limits to provide an outlet for educational challenges.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 7, 2007

I Berry (when it was still on Columbiana) several years ago. As I had just moved from a different state, the transition was very difficult, but I truly loved the faculty and staff at the school. Many of those people are still there. The principal, Dr. Kathleen Wheaton, is an amazing woman concerned with her staff and students! She is highly respected and well loved! Which I think greatly contributes to the school's success. I think 'Mr Belding' when I think of her, because prior to going to this school I did not beleive it was possible for a principal to remember students' names, and indeed, if she meets you once she is likely to remember your name. -Former student of Berry Middle School (I attended from Fall 98-Spring 01
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 7, 2006

Berry is a great school. The teachers are great! Berry also has great extracurricular activies. I am very pleased with this school
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 7, 2006

Berry is an awesome school! The principal is great, academics are good, and we have many sports activites
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 10, 2005

My son just left Berry this year due to having to move to another city, I can honestly say that this school is one of a kind, I find myself constantly comparing his current school to Berry and the new school is coming up VERY short. Every aspect of Berry Middle School is exceptional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2004

Berry has been great for both of my children. The nurturing environment has encouraged them to take ownership of their education, while instilling the principles of discipline and accountability.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

388 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

388 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
95%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2012.

405 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2012.

405 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
95%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2012.

391 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
96%

2009

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2012.

388 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students86%
Female87%
Male84%
Black60%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Free lunch eligible66%
Reduced lunch eligible65%
Special education36%
General population89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Poverty66%
Non-poverty92%

Reading

All Students92%
Female93%
Male92%
Black83%
Asian/Pacific Islander88%
Hispanic93%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible85%
Reduced lunch eligible70%
Special education44%
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Poverty82%
Non-poverty96%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students85%
Female87%
Male83%
Black66%
Asian/Pacific Islander91%
Hispanic64%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Free lunch eligible64%
Reduced lunch eligible79%
Special education21%
General population90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant85%
Poverty67%
Non-poverty90%

Reading

All Students94%
Female95%
Male93%
Black88%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic86%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Free lunch eligible84%
Reduced lunch eligible95%
Special education64%
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Poverty86%
Non-poverty97%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students92%
Female94%
Male89%
Black77%
Asian/Pacific Islander84%
Hispanic92%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Free lunch eligible74%
Reduced lunch eligible81%
Special education43%
General population94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Poverty75%
Non-poverty96%

Reading

All Students90%
Female93%
Male87%
Black78%
Asian/Pacific Islander94%
Hispanic92%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Free lunch eligible69%
Reduced lunch eligible81%
Special education40%
General population93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Poverty72%
Non-poverty94%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2012.

406 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students90%
Female91%
Male89%
Black80%
Asian/Pacific Islander96%
Hispanic79%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White94%
Free lunch eligible75%
Reduced lunch eligible84%
Special education50%
General population93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Poverty77%
Non-poverty94%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 98% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Language

The state average for Language was 90% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 95% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 94% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 94% in 2009.

2009

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 90% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Non-povertyn/a

Language

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Non-povertyn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Non-povertyn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Non-povertyn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Non-povertyn/a
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 58%
Black 23% 34%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 1%
Hispanic 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 22%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4500 Jaguar Dr
Hoover, AL 35242
Website: Click here
Phone: (205) 439-2000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Oak Mt Middle School
Birmingham, AL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT