Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hueytown Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 4, 2014

The staff here is extremely unprofessional and rude. They also take advantage of low income working parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2014

The teachers and the staff have helped my daughter tremendously and always are there and encouraging for her.Her grades have improved and character.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2014

1Pg 2 It depends on the teacher and if your child wants to get help with their work if they don't understand. My child was trying to get help on social studies cause she didn't understand the work, the sub for her teacher thought they where talking and diseplined the class for thinking they where cheating instead of asking the kids why they where talking. So the sub didn't even let the kids tell her why they where talking now my child doesn't like that sub any more and my child was real up set about this cause she's not one that gets in trouble at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

My grandson attends Hueytown and this was his first year..We have very pleased with the teachers, the principal, and parent involvement, looking forward to next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2010

I was very unpleased with this school and the adminstration. The teachers never had time to speak with parents they fail to respond to any concerns I had about my childrens grades. The new assistant principle she is extremly rude and fake. This was the worst school year that I have ever experienced. I don't recommend this school to anyone The office staff is very rude as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2010

hueytown elm. is a great school for your children. we have enjoyed this school for several yrs
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2009

This is a great school that my son loves
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2009

I am a grandparent and think Hueytown Elementary is one of the best around. Great programs, teachers and office staff.


Posted July 25, 2009

Hueytown Elementary is a well-run, organized, and caring school! I love how well the faculty and staff work together!! Hueytown strives to do what's best for its students!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 27, 2009

My son was in 4th grade this year and it was a great year! The teachers he had (Mrs. Ragland, Mrs. Jones & Ms. Hart) were excellent!! I would recommend these teachers any day!! The principal Mrs. Hendrix is leaving and we are hoping that the new principal will be our assistant principal Mr. Henderson. He loves all of the kids at our school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2009

So far I am pleased!!!!! My daughter is in Kindergarten. I am impressed with her vocabulary as well as her eagerness to want to read more. Hes is the number one reason I moved to Hueytown. Way to go Mrs. Moran!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2008

We love HES. My child is in First Grade and is in Ms. Morpeth's class she loves it. Ms. Morpeth treats these kids like they are her own. We are truley blessed for her to be in our little girls life. Also, Mrs. Waldrop (k) is a wonderful teacher to she sets the foundation for these kids their first year of school - we love her too! The Harrell Family
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2008

The reason that I moved to Hueytown was becasue of all the great thing that I heard about the school. I have to admit that they were right and I love the school and so does my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2008

I too have kids that attend hueytown elementary and we enjoy it. Coming from a private school I thought they would fall behind but they have managed to keep an A average. My first grader also had Mrs. Morpeth and I must say she really encouraged my daughter to excel to her highest potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2008

Mrs. Morpeth is the greatest for first grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2008

This school is wonderful. Yes, they do have their share of fundraisers but what school in Jefferson County doesn't? I have a 5th grader and a 1st grader there and they both enjoy school (as much as most kids do). The entire staff is wonderful. So, for anyone to say that the staff there was too busy dealing with their personal stuff is simply wrong. We all have personal things we have to deal with on our jobs sometimes. For any person to post negative comments here regarding this school just shows how ill-informed they are. HES is great. Keep in mind parents, your kisd get out of their education what you (and they) put into it. So, before you point fingers and say that such and such is wrong, step up, help correct any issue you may see.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2005

I am very displeased with the administration at HES. Very unorganized! Office aid to busy chatting about their personal matters to do their job. My child comes home upset because he feels left out. If you do not sell the fundraiser items your child cannot attend their school fundraiser mega party. They ask our children to sell this crap and if they do not no mega party for them. How do they think this makes a child feel? I have to be the bad parent for not letting my child sell this dollar store junk. Where is the tax money going?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2005

Hueytown Elementary is the absolute #1 Elementary school I have ever seen. It is an asset to our community. I have one son that went to Hueytown from Kindergarten until 5th grade (the whole time), almost every one of his teachers were very attentive to him and his classmates in every need they had. In fact, his 4th grade teacher got my son started in honors classes and a Duke University Talent Search Program that he is still a part of today! Now, my younger son started kindergarten this year. My younger son has never been to daycare his whole life! His kindergarten teacher is wonderful. He enjoys school now and I enjoy being his room mother. The safety of the children is always taken care of. The Principal and Vice principal are strict but fair. All the kids love all of the staff and teachers. A+.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2005

I am very displeased with this HES. My child is in first grade and hates going to school. As opposed to last year my child loved school. The difference is my child is made to feel 'stupid' by her teacher. Her self esteem has dropped tremendously this year. Also, her teacher has missed quite a few days of school taking away from my child's education. The substitutes have asked me what they normally do. As if I would know. I have been at the school many times trying to get my child the education my taxes are paying for. I just get the run around. I will not be sending my children to HES next year. They deserve better and that's what they'll get.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2004

I have 3 children enrolled at Hueytown Elementary. I have to say that the teachers and everyone else is dedicated to the children. My children love school, and every teacher in the school. Thank You Hueytown for all you have done for the kids at the elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students93%
Female92%
Male94%
Black91%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible87%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education75%
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant93%
Poverty89%
Not poverty98%

Reading

All Students89%
Female90%
Male89%
Black85%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Free lunch eligible83%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education63%
General population95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant89%
Poverty86%
Not poverty96%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
Female90%
Male78%
Black69%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Free lunch eligible76%
Reduced lunch eligible88%
Special education33%
General population94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant82%
Poverty78%
Not poverty90%

Reading

All Students83%
Female86%
Male81%
Black76%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White89%
Free lunch eligible78%
Reduced lunch eligible81%
Special education44%
General population93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant83%
Poverty79%
Not poverty92%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students97%
Female97%
Male97%
Black94%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Free lunch eligible94%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education86%
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant97%
Poverty95%
Not poverty100%

Reading

All Students86%
Female88%
Male85%
Black84%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Free lunch eligible81%
Reduced lunch eligible92%
Special education47%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant86%
Poverty82%
Not poverty93%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students77%
Female78%
Male77%
Black67%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White86%
Free lunch eligible70%
Reduced lunch eligible92%
Special education43%
General population88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant77%
Poverty73%
Not poverty85%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 55% 58%
Black 40% 34%
Hispanic 4% 5%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 64%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Terry Henderson
Fax number
  • (205) 397-4145

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

112 Forest Rd
Hueytown, AL 35023
Website: Click here
Phone: (205) 379-4100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Deeper Life Academy
Hueytown, AL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT