Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Pope John Paul Ii Catholic High School 5

Posted November 05, 2013
- a student
I am a former student and I can honestly say that I could not be more thrilled with my education. I am very lucky to be able to receive the education that I have because I honestly feel that it paid off when I came to college. I am a sophomore in college and the expectation to get A's and B's is still there for me due to my prior education habits...studying, note taking, etc. And when I was in the old building, which yes, was rough around the edges the same education and religious foundations were built. The building was a building. The main goal was to make a Catholic high school for the area so that all of the students from the feeder schools could choose to continue their Catholic education. Like I said I am very grateful for my education and the religious foundations that were built. The teachers are AMAZING and are there for the students and the Principal is literally the nicest and best thing for the school. If you have to opportunity to send your child here I HIGHLY recommend it. You won't regret it.

Pope John Paul Ii Catholic High School 5

Posted June 30, 2013
- a student
We are close to God and our main purpose is to ensure that every student walks out of here with the strongest relationship with God that he/she can obtain and carries it on for his/her entire life. GO FALCONS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Pope John Paul Ii Catholic High School 5

Posted July 31, 2011
- a parent
I really enjoy going to CHS. While the work is really hard and we have alot of homework, it is an excellent school. Everybody knows everyone else and the school is like a big family. Mr. Aquilla is an amazing principal and knows every student and communicates with everyone. He is also very into going to the sports. The only thing that I do not like is that some of the students that are let in go there because they were expelled from other schools and they are not very good influences. Other then that, the school is challenging and I love it. :)

Pope John Paul Ii Catholic High School 4

Posted August 27, 2008
- a parent
My daughter graduated from CHS in May of 2008. She was in the National Honor Society, and was accepted to Auburn University's School of Architecture. She also qualified for two (2) scholarships at Auburn. At CHS, she learned discipline, time management, study skills, and personal responsibility. I am convinced that she will have a very successful carreer at Auburn, due in large measure to her preparation at CHS. All of the teachers are caring, dedicated educators. The administration knows each student personally. Most students can participate in atheletics, if they want. They student body is overwhelmingly goal oriented and college bound. Most come from families where both parents are well educated. The building is the only reason that I did not rate the school 5 star. Anew site has been purchased and a buuilding program is underway. Both my daughter and I are very pleased with her high school experience at CHS.

Pope John Paul Ii Catholic High School 0
no rating

Posted July 05, 2008
- a community member
This high school is excellent. It received the most scholarship money per senior in North Alabama. The guidance counselor actually knows each student and his or her potential before their junior year. The faculty and principal care about what the students learn in the classroom and allso that each student learns that they are important to their community. Although the athletic program does not have onsite facilities that meet every need, the staff works together to provide competitive programs in almost every sport. Catholic High is a great opportunity for students in Huntsville to excel.


Pope John Paul Ii Catholic High School 1

Posted November 16, 2007
- a community member
This school is in horrific shape. The building is not safe and would not be a great place to be in a storm. It looks like it could fall down anysecond. There are holes in the walls and rats in the basement. The teachers are mediocre. There are some good teachers but they dont have the supplies they need to teach efficiently. The academics are no better than those of a public school. The atheletics program is dreadful. There are not any fields or a gym. The bottom line is that this school is not worth the 6000 dollars a year. A better education and better facilities can be found at a public school. The students at the school widely bash the school and the administration for the lack of a decent building. The administration continually promises a new building but they did not come through in the past 10 years.

Pope John Paul Ii Catholic High School 5

Posted September 26, 2004
- a former student
The Catholic community is known for their educational institutions. It's true that the school does not hold with 'free spirits' but if you and your child are serious about their future then I would highly consider CHS for education, community, the staff and athletics. The teachers give all the support and teaching aid they possibly can. An old adage still rings true 'You get out what you put in', if your child is unresponsive or uncooperative in class then no they will not get 'star pupil' attention; they'll get what they deserve... punishment. The regular curriculum is demanding in itself and for the really ambitious they offer several AP courses and special dual enrollment program with UAH. Alumni from Catholic High have gone on to Georgetown, George Washington U,Purdue,Auburn, West Point, military etc. As for the shape of the building, it was the old Social Security building, what do you expect?

Pope John Paul Ii Catholic High School 5

Posted August 20, 2004
- a parent
My daughter went to this school and graduated last year. We felt she received a great college prep education.


Pope John Paul Ii Catholic High School 1

Posted August 14, 2004
- a parent
I think this school is not a school for children who wish to have independence, freedom or choice. This school limit's your choices of what you want to do, or want to be. The school has little to offer as far as classes go. Just the basics. If you wish to become a doctor, a psychiatrist or some other field, I would not send your children to this school. The building is in VERY bad shape. The teachers have little intrest in the children, as they state a Catholic School would. A school with more classes, more teachers and more to offer is what you would need.

Pope John Paul Ii Catholic High School 5

Posted May 21, 2004
- a parent
This is a top-tier college-prep school,using a 'classical education' format. The school has over 220 students and is growing. The new 55 acre facility will open Fall 06 & will accomodate 650 students. The school is one of few that requires 4 years each of math, science, English, history,& religion plus 2 years of foreign language (Latin, French, German or Spanish), etc. The principal & staff know each student by first & last name (& many parents). Although it is an authentic and 'true-to-the-faith' Catholic school, its student body includes approx. 30% nonCatholics because of its high academic reputation. The school is proud of its ethnic diversity, having students from all races and some foreign exchange students. There is much parent-involvement which helps maintain high discipline. There is no drug or alcohol problem at CHS. Extracurricular activities include: expanding sports program, academic clubs. The students publish a national, award-winning literary magazine.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pope John Paul Ii Catholic High School
7301 Old Madison Pike Northwest, Huntsville, AL  35806
(256) 430-1760
Last modified Pope John Paul Ii Catholic High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Pope John Paul Ii Catholic High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top