Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Chapman Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 21, 2012

Fortunately, my son had a great teachers for K and 1st. His teacher is out on leave and the substitute that took her place finds it necessary to bully children into good behavior. My son has never had issues or problems with behavior and the reports I get from her about him just don't add up. When I discussed it which another teacher about how to handle it she suggested I speak with the principal. The very next day she called me FROM CLASS to tell me that if I had a problem with my son in her class I needed to talk to her and no one else. I told her I thought it was inappropriate to address me with that manner and it was not her business who I chose to speak with about my son. I'm really sprurpised at the nerve she had. My issue is not with the school as much as it is with Huntsville City and their teacher hires. Since my son is so uncomfortable we are switching him to another school to finish 1st grade. I find it hard to believe what my son is telling me isn't true when she adressed me in the same manner that he was so specific about. I never thought this would happen to him, to us. I feel so bad for him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2011

Both of my children have attended this school since Kindergarten. The staff is excellent, very caring and knowledgeable. I feel each child receives a lot of individual attention and the faculty really get to know not only the student but the entire family as well. I find the principal to be a little distant and not as hands on, but the rest of the staff to be outstanding. I think the small class size really gives my children an advantage over other city schools. Both of my children were reading within the first semester of kindergarten. I think sometimes the school focuses too much on AR/reading and not enough time is addressed to math and especially not to science or social studies. I am very pleased with my experiences at this school. There is little parental involvement and those few that do volunteer end up shouldering all the weight for all PTA/room helper duties.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2010

Overall good school but communication this year seems to be an issue. Sadly, most of these kids will not continue on to the same middle school because Chapman Middle is not up to standards---any standards! Kids must get on a bus to be transported between 3 or 4 schools of their choice. The middle school needs to be better and reflect the neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2009

Most teachers at this school have their Master's Degree and several are National Board Certified. I do believe they offer a well-rounded education. The learning is very hands-on and each grade takes several field trips throughout the year to enforce subject matter. The kindergarten is especially wonderful--the best in Huntsville--and is a model kindergarten for the state. The teachers are innovative and caring and do a great job, especially considering all the state-mandated 'fluff' that teachers are required to cover nowadays. The parent involvement is not strong, but the handful of parents who do volunteer are very appreciated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2008

Chapman Elementary is the best kept secret in Huntsville. I like having my kids in a smaller school where they get more individual attention. The teachers are wonderful but I would like to see more participation from the other parents!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2008

This is great elementary school. My son has attended since kindagarten and loves it. The new principle is outstanding, and has made many changes to the school and shows genuine care and concern for the school and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2008

Teachers are great! Principal is wonderful! Office staff friendly and helpful! HOWEVER most of these kids are not well rounded. Children are excelling in one subject and completely failing in others. This does not mean well rounded to me and my family. I believe the teachers here should focus more on academics and making sure their children are indeed ready for the next grade. Parents should be informed well in advance if there seems to be a problem with the child so the parents can be more involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2007

Excellent school. Teachers are great! Principal is wonderful! Office staff friendly and helpful! The children are well rounded. They are offered art and music as part of the curriculum, which is very important to me and my family. My child has excelled at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

39 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
86%

2009

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

39 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
82%

2009

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

32 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
81%

2009

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

32 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 91% in 2012.

35 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
77%

2009

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2012.

35 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
79%

2009

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
Female95%
Male67%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White89%
Free lunch eligible76%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population82%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Poverty74%
Non-poverty100%

Reading

All Students92%
Female100%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible88%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Poverty89%
Non-poverty100%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible100%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Poverty100%
Non-povertyn/a

Reading

All Students97%
Female100%
Male93%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible100%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Poverty100%
Non-povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students91%
Female100%
Male86%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White88%
Free lunch eligible93%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Poverty94%
Non-poverty89%

Reading

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible100%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Poverty100%
Non-poverty100%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2012.

35 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
48%

2009

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students86%
Female85%
Male86%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White83%
Free lunch eligible80%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Poverty82%
Non-poverty89%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 58%
Black 28% 34%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Hispanic 2% 5%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2006 Reuben Dr
Huntsville, AL 35811
Website: Click here
Phone: (256) 428-7080

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Greengate School
Huntsville, AL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT