Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mcdonnell Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 9, 2013

I went to this school for most of my elementary years, I am now a ninth grader at Butler High, this elementary school is a amazing school, all the teachers really care about the children in the classes. They strive to make a difference in each student. I was a straight A student, because each of the teachers decided they want all of the students to do well, they taught in different ways, explained in many ways, and had different teachers try different ways of teaching you something that you don't understand. They try their best to teach every student, and help out with anything they can.


Posted September 26, 2013

This school is awesome. The teachers really care about the education of the students and my son loves this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

My daughter transferred from another school to McDonnell and she learned so much more in that 1 year than she did the 2 years she was at ther other school. I want to give kudos to Mrs. Davis who is no longer at this school. She was an awesome teacher for my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2013

Hi this will be my children's second year going to this school. The school is okay but I wish they would really step it up as far as the uniform policy because it would bring more money into the school I mean times are very hard. I would much rather my kids gets stains and red dirt on a uniform then their regular clothes. The field that we had the school ran out of food and my kids had bought their tickets and they didn't get any snacks they were really sad .Im very much apart of Mc donald elementary but there has to be room for improvement and they don't have the money to fund anything and the field day money that they made I don't know what they did with it someone help
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2013

I went to McDonnell Elementary from K to 5th. I am now a graduate from high school. that school is amazing. the teachers are nice. most of the teachers that was there when I was there is still there. I visit the school at lease once a year. but in my eyes the teachers there is great. they are super nice to the students.


Posted September 6, 2009

this school has good curicular and its a pretty good school thogh it could use some work
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2008

I feel as though this school caters to children who are liked by the staff and those who are not part of this group do not get the attention that they deserve. All of the children there should get the same attention and education. If you are not part of the in crowd it seems as though you are treated unfairly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2007

My kids have been at McDonnell for three years. I love this school, and so do my kids. Mr. Malone is a wonderful principal, who encourages his students to learn and behave with respect. They may not have the best facilities, but the teachers and staff are the heart of the school, and they are wonderful. One of my daughters started there in 3rd grade, couldn't read. Graduated to middle school reading at a post-highschool level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2007

Very negative school - the principal sets the tone. You can feel the despair when you enter the school. I feel very sorry for the poor teachers and students. The superintendent does nothing to improve the atmosphere.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 24, 2005

My children have been at McDonnell for just over a year. I absolutely love this school. They are doing so much better than in their previous school. The teachers really care about their students, and the rest of the staff is also wonderful. Any questions or concerns I have had were addressed immediately. My only regret is that my children didn't start at McDonnell until 2nd and 3rd grades. I wish we had been there all along.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2005

My nephew is attending McDonnell Elementary, and I attended 7 years ago. I just visited today, and everyone was encredibly nice, still, and the teachers were very nice, just as I remembered them. I had forgotten how big the school actually was. And everything clean, not like other schools I've seen, even higher grade schools. McDonnell is a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 16, 2004

My son is starting His 3rd year at Mcdonnell and it's terrific!! Mr Malone is a caring principal who puts the kids first.The teachers are wonderfuly loving, They all treat the kids like thier own.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students78%
Female77%
Male80%
Black86%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learners71%
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant78%
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a

Reading

All Students77%
Female83%
Male71%
Black86%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learners61%
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant77%
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students76%
Female72%
Male83%
Black64%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learners64%
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant76%
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a

Reading

All Students83%
Female79%
Male89%
Black82%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learners50%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant83%
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students77%
Female79%
Male74%
Black74%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learners55%
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a

Reading

All Students74%
Female71%
Male79%
Black74%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
36%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students39%
Female41%
Male40%
Black37%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic32%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learners27%
Proficient in English42%
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 39% 5%
Black 36% 34%
White 13% 58%
Two or more races 6% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 86%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Allen C. Malone
Fax number
  • (256) 428-7281

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4010 Binderton Place
Huntsville, AL 35805
Website: Click here
Phone: (256) 428-7280

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Grace Lutheran School
Huntsville, AL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT