Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Columbia Elementary School

Public | K-6

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 17, 2013

The facility is nice, but I WOULD NOT recommend. My son's first grade teach, Kim Adams, was absolutely HORRIBLE! I went to the principal hoping to get a resolution with my problem, but he WAS NO help at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

Great school for my grandson. He is adjusting well with kindergarten and looks forward to school everyday!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

This school is awesome. The teachers are stellar, being able to know what my daughter does every minute of every day is also nice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2013

I am so happy that my children attend Columbia Elementary School. The teachers and school staff are top notch. This school encourages parent involvement and that makes it feel like a school family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2011

Columbia Elementary has been a good school for our kids. This last year, a new principal came into place and he seems to be very kind and good at his job. I really don't have anything negative to say nor do I have anything glowing to say. Our children have GREAT friends, so that means alot to me that the kids are surrounded by other kids from nice families. It really is a great community. When shopping around for a house here, we would speak to various neighbors and we heard many times that when the schools were redistricting the Columbia parents demanded their kids be able to stay at Columbia. It's the community that makes Columbia great as well as the teachers. Just nice, every day people who love our country and community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2010

It was a bit of a shock to move my child from a private pre-school to a public school because she was well ahead of the kindergarden level, so the first year was challenging for her behavior wise. So, while she loves her school and teachers, so I disappointed that there is not more emphasis on helping kids continue to progress that come into kindergarden knowing how to read and write. She was often very bored and therefore got into a lot of trouble for talking and distracting other kids. The teacher communicated to me that she thought she was bored, but there didn't seem to be any actions taken to challenge her. So, she didn't really learn anything new in kindergarden. In fact, I think she regressed in her writing skills because they didn't practice as much as in her previous school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

I have had 2 children attend this school and overall it is ok. However, my child was in 4th grade this year and his teacher J. Lanier was horrible. Her lack of communication about coursework was appalling. The students RARELY had home work so you never knew what was being taught in the class until graded papers were sent home. She never posted assignments or sent correspondance even if requested. Very negative, disappointing educational experience. My child learned very little if anything at school this year. My rating is based soley on this year's experience. My overall rating for the school would be 3 stars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2009

I have 3 kids at this school and we have had amazing teachers every time. Mr. james is an amazing, caring and progressive principal. The education and teachers are phenomenal. With the new zoning we may have to change schools and that saddens me to the point that we may move to another house in order to keep our kids at Columbia. I don't want them at any other elementary school. I have nothing but praise for all that they do for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2009

Overall it's disappointing. The facilities and leadership from the principal standpoint are excellent. However, many of the teachers would rather be someone else. We've had a string of very below average teachers who have other priorities than what is best for the kids. There are some good teachers, though. We just don't seem to get them for our son. The system is not all they say they are. They submit the applications for all of the honors they get. But it generally has nothing to do with the quality of education. The cafeterial 'health food' policies are way over the top as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

I have two children currently attending Columbia Elementary. One is in 4th grade and has attended since Kindergarten. The other is in 1st grade. The teachers are, for the most part, very accepting of parent involvement, and all of our teachers so far (7 of them) have been interested in my kids' welfare and education. Of course not all teachers are the same, and some have been better than others. The principal is good-natured and understanding. He emails parents when busses are late, weather causes dismissal times to change, and to give out the weekly menu. We have had to have trailers this year for the first time since the school was built (in 2004), and with a new school on the way, should be back to normal by next year. The PTA for the past few years has been excellent, and volunteers are always welcome. It is a happy school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2008

My daughter attended kindergarten there and may return for 1st grade, if we don't have to move with her father's new job. But I love this school. At first, we thought the teacher wasn't that attentive, but by the end of the year everything was perfect. My daughter learned how to read and developed really great social skills in Mrs. K. Adams class. I strongly recommend this school and teacher. An added plus is that it is so technologically advanced with Smartboards in every room. We give Columbia 2 thumbs up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2008

Wow! I'm very surprised to read the previous comment. I'm sorry that the other child had such a negative experience. I have a first grader and a preschooler(who has received speech services at Columbia) and have been completely impressed with the loving and professional staff. My first grader is reading way above grade level and her teacher keeps her excited about school and learning. Rahter than being bored, she loves coming to school! My other daughter had some speech defecits that we saw and started addressing at age 3, she was so sad when she 'graduated' because she couldn't come back to Columbia until kindergarten. I am very thankful that my children have such a strong educational and nurturing learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2008

HORRIBLE!! Yes, the teachers are rude and mean and more concerned about what they drive and wear than about the children. This school gave my child a complex and was a very bad introductory into education. When I visit at lunch there was never any laughter or smiles. We have moved and my child attends another school and can't wait to go everyday and the children can be children and have smiles and laughter. One of the teachers really did give my child an inferiority complex-the principal is the same.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2007

Excellent teachers! Wonderful programs! Top notch education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2007

I have a son who is in the developmental delay classes and has thrived at this school. He loves his teachers and they really care for him. I couldn't ask for a better school for him. The office staff is very friendly and helpful. This is where to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2007

I have often heard Columbia Elementary referred to as 'The Happy School.' I have two children that attend Columbia, their teachers have been very different--yet very affective. They actually seem happy to come to work. The principal allows for diverse teaching styles and is very positive and encouraging. The hands on approach to science and math is very evident and you can tell it is encouraged and/or mandatory. Curriculum is important, but environment and social atmosphere are even more so...this school has it all! No other Madison School compares.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2006

Very nice environment for learning. My daughter is very timid, and she has flourished at this school. There is superior supervision, and structure, as well as a vigorous academic program. While there are not a lot of extracurricular activities directly tied to Columbia, Madison City offers a huge number and variety of activities for children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

127 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
80%

2009

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

126 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%

2009

 
 
99%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

105 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

105 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
99%

2009

 
 
96%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 91% in 2012.

111 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2012.

111 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%

2009

 
 
95%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

134 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

133 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
99%

2009

 
 
96%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students87%
Female91%
Male83%
Black58%
Asian/Pacific Islander86%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Free lunch eligible63%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education61%
General population91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Poverty57%
Non-poverty93%

Reading

All Students93%
Female96%
Male90%
Black89%
Asian/Pacific Islander86%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible81%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education78%
General population95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Poverty83%
Non-poverty95%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students93%
Female91%
Male95%
Black90%
Asian/Pacific Islander93%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White94%
Free lunch eligible87%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Poverty84%
Non-poverty95%

Reading

All Students97%
Female95%
Male98%
Black95%
Asian/Pacific Islander93%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Free lunch eligible93%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Poverty95%
Non-poverty98%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students96%
Female100%
Male93%
Black89%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Free lunch eligible92%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Poverty93%
Non-poverty98%

Reading

All Students94%
Female95%
Male93%
Black85%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Free lunch eligible83%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Poverty83%
Non-poverty98%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students96%
Female96%
Male95%
Black88%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Free lunch eligible76%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Poverty79%
Non-poverty99%

Reading

All Students99%
Female100%
Male98%
Black96%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible95%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Poverty96%
Non-poverty100%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2012.

111 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students86%
Female88%
Male85%
Black70%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Free lunch eligible67%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Poverty66%
Non-poverty94%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 58%
Black 18% 34%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 11% 1%
Hispanic 7% 5%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 20%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

667 Balch Rd
Madison, AL 35758
Website: Click here
Phone: (256) 430-2751

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT