Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
1-5
Public
Ozark, AL
Students enrolled: 372

3 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Joseph W Lisenby Elementary School 1

Posted January 09, 2013
- a parent
Lisenby was slowly becoming a better school, but under its new leadership, it has quickly declined. It has become the most unwelcoming school we have ever been a part of. Parents are discouraged from coming to the school. Even told that they can not enter the school. Volunteers are not wanted. The school has turned into a prison. Police are also called on some of the children there. Poor leadership would be an understatement for this school. There are some wonderful teachers there, but they are being brought down by the new principal.

Joseph W Lisenby Elementary School 1

Posted November 13, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Joseph W Lisenby Elementary School 5

Posted March 15, 2009
- a parent
Wonderful, nurturing, learning enovironment!!! The staff is top notch, and strives to stretch the children to their maximum potential. The adminstration is readily available to assist parents and form partnerships to meet the childrens physical, emotional, and developmental needs. The PTO ( Parent, Teacher, Organization) is very active in providing support for our school needs. We love Lisenby School!!!

Joseph W Lisenby Elementary School 3

Posted November 17, 2008
- a community member
Lisenby Elementary is slowing but surely improving. There are those teachers that go above and beyond what they are supposed to do and there are those who do not. Hopefully, someday Lisenby will be just as wonderful for everyone, as you speak of in the review below. As a whole, Lisenby is just not quite there yet, but there are certainly some wonderful individual classrooms.

Joseph W Lisenby Elementary School 5

Posted November 16, 2008
- a community member
This school is a wonderful place for children. The teachers are loving and caring. Three of our children attended Lisenby several years ago and they received everything they needed to be successful adults. The faculty and staff are highly qualified and they want the best for each and every child. Check out Lisenby School.


Joseph W Lisenby Elementary School 3

Posted August 20, 2008
- a parent
It is wothout doubt that most any public school or school system has its downfall; Lisemby and the Ozark School System are no exception. We had 2children at Lisemby last year (4th & 5th), and one this year (5th). Our current 5th grader is in the TAG program, which is great for him because it keeps him interested in the education process...for the most part. The problem lies in that he excells in some areas and is now lacking in Math b/c they will not drop his Math level down one without upsetting his other schedule. Or so this was told by one and yet another story by another, both Lisenby educators. I feel that public schools are doing their fair amount for 'special needs' children. Current laws require these children's needs be met and no such laws for any other type of student or programs.

Joseph W Lisenby Elementary School 2

Posted August 17, 2008
- a parent
We have to respectfully disagree when we say Lisenby is not catered toward the 'special needs' children and we speak from personal experience. It has taken years, the special education laws, outside help, parent involvement, and more to get our 'special needs' child started on the road to an appropriate education. It should not have been this hard, but unfortunately it was and is for so many other students and their parents. We have no doubt that some children are falling grossly behind...both 'special needs' and regular education students, ours included. On a positive note, there are some very dedicated, loving, good teachers at Lisenby, but there are some that lack in many areas. There is a definite need for improvement at Lisenby and with the Ozark City Schools all together, the Superintendent's office included.

Joseph W Lisenby Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted July 16, 2008
- a parent
Thats just it..everything is catered to 'special needs' in this school. My daughter didn't have special needs and in fact, she was falling grossly behind at Lisenby. It wasn't until we decided to go with the Abeka program that I realized how behind she was. Luckily we caught on quick and changed.


Joseph W Lisenby Elementary School 5

Posted February 07, 2008
- a parent
My Step daughter is a special needs child that has made huge progress since attending Lisenby. She now makes A's in spelling and many other subjects. She loves her teachers...they have made a real difference in her life. Thank you!

Joseph W Lisenby Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted January 16, 2008
- a parent
Fabulous school! Safe environment, friendly and caring staff! Learning abounds!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Joseph W Lisenby Elementary School
860 Faust Ave, Ozark, AL  36360
(334) 774-4919
Last modified Joseph W Lisenby Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades 1-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Joseph W Lisenby Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top