Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Duran Jr High School

Public | 8-9

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 5, 2013

This school needs tighter student management. They also need to clean the bathrooms and cook a lunch you can eat.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2008

ummmm....this school is ok. Sure there are sports and sometimes cool activities that get u out of class but a lot of time i feel like i have too much homework and too many projects!! it can get overwhelming.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 24, 2006

I am very pleased with the education and direction that my son is receiving at Duran Jr. High School. The teachers have managed to hold his interest and the principal (in the words of my son) runs a tight ship. Good job! Thanks for all the hard work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2006

First of all, as a parent, I feel the negative postings to this site about Duran Jr. High are unwarranted and probably the result of those who will have a gripe with anyone who 'disciplines' their child or does not cater to their every need. There is a little something called 'responsibility' for one's own achievement and behavior...two things many parents/students seem to neglect. Sure, the school building is not what it should be and this is largely the responsibility of the school board and should be addressed with more than minor cosmetic changes, however, the quality of the education is excellent---again, if a student takes the initiative and has parents who expect the child to perform. If these parents are so concerned over the 'quality' of the school, why have they not bothered to form a PTO or parent group? The answer: it is easier to play the blame game.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2006

Hi my name is Vikki and im finished my year at duran today. This is a wonderful school and the teachers are great, there are no sports but that will be avilable. In the next grade you can sign up for a sport for the jounior high, You pick your classes if you pick the elective wheel you will get a new class every nine weeks such as art globe technolgy and something else . If u pick directive studies it is mainly a study hall(whole nine weeks) , and band and choir are for the whole nine weeks also. I am in band and love it Ms. Todd is wonderful. Parents are a main part of the school and would be nothing without it. And you do not get 10 points off your report card.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 20, 2006

I'm a student at Duran and i'm sorry,but all of these opinions are based on ignorance!Our school rewards positive behavior with Panther Pride tickets, and students do not ever get ten points taken off of their report cards because they forgot their materials! Our teachers at Duran do not punish students to such an extreme. There is always a friendly staff member awaiting parental volunteers. Our principal and vice principal do care about every thing that goes on in our school.They do everthing in their power to help our school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 9, 2006

I have one child that goes to Duran Junior high school and that is the only child of mine that will ever go there.I have been to the school once for registration and a couple more times for other reasons and when I go to the front desk to ask a question there is never anyone there and by the time i get the answer to my question I am now considering home schooling my child.(this is the worst school in Alabama.)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2005

Duran is very disappointing compared to Eden Elementary. Eden is aptly named, a wonderful place for little angels to learn and grow. The administration there is the best I've seen. The staff genuinely cares about each child. Unfortunately this is not the case at Duran, where parental involvement is discouraged by the administration, there is very little communication unless they have determined that your child needs discipline. If a student tells a staff member that another student did something against the rules, the 2nd child is automatically guilty. Some of the teachers take 10 points off of the child's report card for forgetting to bring materials to class. They try to force maturity instead of teaching maturity. They punish severely for bad behavior but do not reward positive behavior. The administrator says he always takes the teacher's side because he knows kids lie, he treats parents and students as annoyances. Sad!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2005

I have found the staff of this school to be less than helpful and generally uninterested in the students. I get the distinct impression that the school as a whole does not welcome parent input or presence. This is in sharp contrast to the elementary school experience in this district which makes this the situation all the more disappointing. As we love our home and do not want to move, we are making every effort financially to get into a position to afford private schools in future for our children. I do not trust this school with my children or their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2005

The academic that is offered is fine, But I along with others feel that it could be taught better by some. I also feel that the school feels the less parents are involved the better. Which is sad for us the ones who would like to be more involved. I feel the staff is rude. If you e-mail or call the school the calls or emails may or may not be returned. When you do visit the school they are not very friendly I feel that they expect these children not to make mistakes to be very responsible. Which is fine, but when a mistake is made or something forgotten they need to remember these are still children. or human at that all people make mistakes including the staff there. And trust me they make plenty of mistakes If I was in a position to home school my kids I would.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2012.

339 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
77%

2009

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2012.

340 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
75%

2009

 
 
75%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students75%
Female79%
Male71%
Black62%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White76%
Free lunch eligible67%
Reduced lunch eligible81%
Special education15%
General population83%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant75%
Poverty69%
Non-poverty81%

Reading

All Students81%
Female88%
Male75%
Black82%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White81%
Free lunch eligible76%
Reduced lunch eligible81%
Special education26%
General population89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%
Poverty77%
Non-poverty86%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 58%
Black 11% 34%
Hispanic 2% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

309 Williamson Dr
Pell City, AL 35125
Website: Click here
Phone: (205) 338-2825

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Pell City High School
Pell City, AL


Duran South
Pell City, AL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT