Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Phenix City Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 710 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 12, 2012

Phenix City Elementary School has been a wonderful place for both of our children. Our oldest child attended 1-5 grade. He is now in 6th grade at PCIS. Our youngest completed kindergarten and first grade. The technology, emphasis on reading, emphasis on sight words, teachers, and curriculum make an excellent combination! Ipads, laptops, computers, etc. are used often. There are SmartBoards in every classroom. There are no portable "trailer" classrooms that many other districts have had to resort to. Class size is good and discipline is maintained fairly. The principal is very supportive of parents and teachers alike. He is fair to students and truly cares about their success. PCES also rewards success. Children receive T shirts and other incentives for meeting goals such as learning all 1000 Fry words, reaching Accelerated Reader milestones, behavior, and various math milestones. The curriculum for Reading is Story Town and the curriculum for math is Saxon Math. We would not move out of the PCES zone to attend any other school in the district, and this is something our family thinks about when trying to choose a new house to buy. PCES is clean, safe, and academically challenging.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2011

THE INFORMATION ON THIS WEBSITE IS INACCURATE. The test scores listed are too low, the school information is out of date and, in many cases, just strange. According to the website, we offer Cantonese, and Mandarin as well as band, and orchestra. We do not. It lists 27 organized sports here but elementary schools in Phenix City do not offer organized sports. Many parents have toured the school and enrolled their students here. Some have said that the picture presented by Great Schools was not an accurate one. As the principal, I invite you to come and visit our school. You will receive a tour of the facility and may then decide for yourself. Our military families are often pleasantly surprised and have taken a great deal of pride in sending their children to this student-centered, technology-rich school. GreatSchools.com wants to sell you batteries or allergy medicine and has no incentive to provide you with accurate information. While some of the parent ratings are very flattering, they are usually based on one positive experience (or one negative one). Come for a visit. David Jones, Principal
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2010

I feel the school's method of educating is a success for my Kindergarten. She knew only her whole name, parents name, how to count and now she know the sound of words and numbers and a few letters. She is also reading. School are not the only teacher; parents hold a major part in a child's educational career. PCES for now!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2009

My daughter has attended PCES since I moved from Dothan (Kelly Springs Elementary). I plan to keep her at PCES for the duration on my stay in Phenix City. She brings home meaningful work everyday, the adminstration presents themselves in a positive way and my daughter enjoys the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2009

I have 3 of my kids go to this school. I love how the teachers keep me informed. My middle child hasnt been held back any either. While in the 4th grade she was moved on to 5th grade math to keep her mind challenged. All three kids are doing great. The only aggrivation I have ever felt is from the staff behind the office desk. They always seem as though they don't know what is going on and that just annoys me. I think they have the job only cause they have been there since the day the school was built. Other than that I love the teachers, principle, and all other staff members. Oh and my kids enjoy it too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2009

I have a child that attends PCES now .He is in the second grade.He loves going to this school.All the Teachers are so good to the kids and parents.And we could not ask for a better principal (Mr,Jones). I am so glad my son has three more years at PCES.I can say i am a proud parent of a child that attends PCES.THIS IS WHERE THE SMART KIDS GO.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2008

I didn't send my daughter here for long. The classroom was overcrowded and there was no control over the students. But the biggest problem was where the students were compared to most schools. Most could not write their name or their ABC's. And the only thing my daughter brought home everyday was coloring sheets. I would not recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2007

The teachers are great. The curriculum is exceptional. Great environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2007

I have had a child at PCES now going on her 5th year. We have never had any problems that were not handled in a fast, professional manner. Mr. Jones, the principal, has been great! He goes above and beyond to help students and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

101 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
65%

2009

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

101 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
77%

2009

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

118 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
80%

2009

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

118 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
81%

2009

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 91% in 2012.

113 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2012.

113 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students75%
Female71%
Male79%
Black67%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White88%
Free lunch eligible74%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population75%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant75%
Poverty73%
Non-poverty83%

Reading

All Students88%
Female90%
Male87%
Black85%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Free lunch eligible88%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Poverty88%
Non-poverty87%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students75%
Female72%
Male78%
Black74%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White77%
Free lunch eligible71%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education64%
General population77%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant75%
Poverty73%
Non-poverty80%

Reading

All Students81%
Female84%
Male79%
Black78%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White87%
Free lunch eligible78%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education55%
General population84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%
Poverty79%
Non-poverty85%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students91%
Female95%
Male88%
Black89%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Free lunch eligible90%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education55%
General population95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Poverty90%
Non-poverty95%

Reading

All Students89%
Female96%
Male82%
Black88%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Free lunch eligible86%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education36%
General population95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Poverty87%
Non-poverty100%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2012.

112 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
83%

2009

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students84%
Female91%
Male77%
Black83%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White88%
Free lunch eligible82%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education45%
General population88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant84%
Poverty83%
Non-poverty89%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 62% 35%
White 34% 58%
Hispanic 2% 4%
Two or more races 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 82%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr William David Jones
Fax number
  • (334) 732-1165

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2307 South Railroad St
Phenix City, AL 36867
Website: Click here
Phone: (334) 732-1160

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Patrick's School
Phenix City, AL


Veritas Academy
Phenix City, AL




Lakewood Baptist Church
Phenix City, AL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT