Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Slocomb Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 551 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 27, 2014

Worst experience thus far as a parent while my children attended this school. We are not from here so we don't fit in to start with,this school made it clear that we didn't as well. Taking my kids out of this school today. I'm sure there are amazing teachers here,I just didnt have ethe pleasure of experiencing that. My chhilds teachers were disconnected and showed no true love towards my children or teaching. So glad this school will be in our past after today. The. Assistant principal is horrible. Bring an issue to his attention and he will share his many fishing trips with you instead of resolution in best interest of your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2009

My daughter is in the 3rd grade and she loves the school and so do I!!!! The teachers are extremly great with them all!!!! Way to go teachers especially Mrs. Smith in third grade
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2008

my son loves that school!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2007

I am very satisfied with Slocomb Elementary School. My son started kindergarten at the school and is now in the 4th grade. I feel that he is getting a quality education with qualified teachers & staff. If I have questions or concerns, the teachers & staff are always very helpful and go out of their way to make sure that the issue is resolved in a timely manner. I would recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2006

I have never experienced a school that is dedicated to teaching students academics, values and productivity. I am proud to say I have met these individuals who strive to teach our children these valuable lessons at Slocomb Elementary School. We are very blessed to have an administration and staff who cooperates with each other and the parents of their students. Have pride for Slocomb Elementary School because it is a wonderfully unique school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2004

I am confident that the teachers in my son's school are competent. However, my son who is ADHD is having a very hard time keeping up. He is failing yet again and he has already been held back once. His teacher and I are at a loss as to what to do and the special services team is taking their time to help me assess the situation. He is smart in many ways, but he is failing several core classes. I am glad that his teacher and the principal are willing to do what they can to help me, and they do not make me feel like a bad mom because my child has trouble learning. There should be more teachers like this.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

91 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

91 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
96%

2009

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

86 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
72%

2009

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

86 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
79%

2009

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 91% in 2012.

106 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
76%

2009

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2012.

106 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
82%

2009

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students92%
Female95%
Male90%
Black85%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible90%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Poverty91%
Non-poverty95%

Reading

All Students90%
Female98%
Male84%
Black77%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible86%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Poverty87%
Non-poverty95%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students81%
Female85%
Male78%
Black92%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White80%
Free lunch eligible79%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population83%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Poverty80%
Non-poverty84%

Reading

All Students88%
Female91%
Male85%
Black85%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White89%
Free lunch eligible87%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Poverty89%
Non-poverty88%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students87%
Female81%
Male93%
Black73%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Free lunch eligible80%
Reduced lunch eligible83%
Special educationn/a
General population92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Poverty81%
Non-poverty100%

Reading

All Students91%
Female90%
Male91%
Black88%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White90%
Free lunch eligible88%
Reduced lunch eligible92%
Special educationn/a
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Poverty89%
Non-poverty94%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2012.

106 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
79%

2009

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students83%
Female81%
Male85%
Black65%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White89%
Free lunch eligible77%
Reduced lunch eligible83%
Special educationn/a
General population88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Poverty78%
Non-poverty94%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 58%
Black 14% 35%
Hispanic 8% 4%
Two or more races 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 64%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Steve R Benton
Fax number
  • (334) 886-9842

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

108 South Hemby St
Slocomb, AL 36375
Phone: (334) 886-2132

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT