Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Woodland Forrest Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 18, 2014

Woodland Forrest is a great school. Dr. Byrts is an awesome principal and she has such a wonderful faculty full of passionate teachers who really love their students. This school promotes learning and leadership skills. The teachers here have high expectations of their students and they are very professional and friendly. You would truly enjoy being a parent here and your child or children would absolutely love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2013

My school is fantastic, always clean and conmfortable, competent friendly staff who are very knowledgeable
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

I love this school because it works hard to demonstrate that all kids can succeed and become leaders, even amidst a context where nearly 59% of students are on free and reduced lunch
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2008

We loved Kindegarten. My child had a wonderful experience. We hope for the same next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2008

WFS is a great school! My child has been there for 5 years. The staff and teachers are all very dedicated to our children and their education. Our PTA is one of the best! We do a great job at raising money for the school, which keeps our kids from having to sell cookie dough, wrapping paper, etc. Our biggest fund raiser is the Fall Festival. It is always a big event and draws people from our community, not just parents and kids. My only complaint is that we are losing our principal this year. She has been there since when my younger sister (20 years old) was a student at the school, but has decided to retire. She will be missed greatly!! Other than that, I can only say great things about our school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

The teachers are good. My daughter had great years there. My son enjoyed Kindergarten. The only problem I had ws my daughter going to Enrichment Class and missing most of her math class. Her grade in math slipped to a B becasue she was missing the lesson in math. After talking to her teacher about it, she allowed my daughter to stay in her math class and attend Enrichment afterwards. It worked out great. She now has an A in math.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2007

I was very happy with my son's first year on school(kindergarten). The teachers made the transition exciting by making him feel welcomed. So now he loves to go to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2007

My children have had a wonderful experience at Woodland Forrest. High points included wonderful classroom teachers and an exceptional music teacher that enrich the lives of WFS children. In addition, 'Run for the Fun of it', family reading nights and the enrichment program have also been my children's favorite. WFS has received 100% on the Annual Yearly Progress the last few years. My children are very happy. Things that could improve...right now it is a little overcrowded, but this should get better with the new restructuring plan. I would also like to see more parent involvement in PTA leadership roles. We have great PTA support, but there are always room for new ideas! Thanks WFS for what you have done for my children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2007

A school with a great Principal and PTA. Teachers are involved and love on the new children. The school has a great 'extended day' program that rotates children through study time, computers, and the playground. The playground is one of the best around. The school added an 'Outdoor Classroom' that will be certified by the Alabama Wildlife Federation. The school has been chosen as an Alabama Math, Science, and Technology Initiative site.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

69 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
70%

2009

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

69 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
75%

2009

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

65 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
65%

2009

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

65 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
75%

2009

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 91% in 2012.

72 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
80%

2009

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2012.

72 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
84%

2009

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students90%
Female91%
Male89%
Black89%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Free lunch eligible84%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Poverty88%
Non-poverty93%

Reading

All Students88%
Female94%
Male83%
Black88%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Free lunch eligible84%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Poverty88%
Non-poverty89%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students97%
Female97%
Male97%
Black96%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible95%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special educationn/a
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Poverty96%
Non-poverty100%

Reading

All Students91%
Female97%
Male85%
Black89%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible84%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special educationn/a
General population94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Poverty88%
Non-poverty100%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students97%
Female97%
Male97%
Black98%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Free lunch eligible95%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Poverty96%
Non-poverty100%

Reading

All Students89%
Female94%
Male83%
Black92%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White77%
Free lunch eligible87%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Poverty87%
Non-poverty92%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2012.

72 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students82%
Female86%
Male78%
Black81%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White85%
Free lunch eligible77%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population83%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Poverty74%
Non-poverty96%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 79% 34%
White 19% 58%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 60%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Becky B Brown
Fax number
  • (205) 759-3635

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6001 East Hargrove Rd
Tuscaloosa, AL 35405
Website: Click here
Phone: (205) 759-3675

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT