Advertisement
Advertisement

Anchor Lutheran School

Private | PK-8 | 196 students

We are best known for our caring and nurturing Christian environment.
 
 

 

Living in Anchorage

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $224,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,140.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

I can't say enough about this school. They are truly like a family and have a great reputation on our community! I sent my daughter to Their summer program 18 years ago And have my Lil guy enrolled full Time! He is In 2nd grade and has dyslexia . I have a tutor come In 2x a week and everyone is very supportive of the extra assistance. They go above and Beyond and are very deserving of recognition!! Anchor Lutheran is a fabulous school that I recommend without a doubt!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2013

My two children have attended Anchor Lutheran for nearing four years and our family could not be happier. We love that the school not only provides a fantastic ( and technologically cutting edge) education, but character development with a foundation in Christian principles. The teachers really do care about those kids and what a difference that makes in the whole school experience. I would recommend Anchor Lutheran to any family who wants their kids to learn in a welcoming, supportive, top notch Christian school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

My 3 year old recently started attending Anchor almost two months ago and I can already see a significant difference in my daughters behavior. She wants to go to school and see her teachers and looks forward to bring your bike to school day, enjoying her own homemade lunches and she absolutely loves all of her teachers. Not only are they polite and friendly but they enjoy what they do day in and day out. It's a real pleasure to see the teachers there are dedicated to educating the children they encounter on a day to day basis. I highly recommend enrolling your loved one in school here, you will no regret it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

Anchor Lutheran is the perfect fit for our family. Both our children now attend, and when I pick them up they are all smiles, telling me about thier day. Low class sizes means a great student to teacher ratio with great individualized learning based on what your child needs. I would recommend Anchor Lutheran to any one who is looking for good quality education that focuses on the growth of the child and the family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

Our child has attended Anchor Lutheran since she was 4 years old. We have built an incredible relationship with the staff, students, and other parents that I can't imagine sending my children anywhere but here. Their Christ-centered education is wonderful, especially in a day and age where the pull and corruption of the secular world is such a strong influence on our society. They keep our children grounded in the word at all times.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2011

This is my son's first year at Anchor Lutheran, and he has been accepted and warmly embraced by the students in his class. We have been very happy with the personal attention our son receives from the teachers, appropriately challenging him to reach his potential. The staff has demonstrated excellent communication with us, and have been very helpful. This school shines with the light of Christ - it obviously affects everything they do. We're so happy we came to Anchor Lutheran!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

My children have attended ALS first through seventh grade for the past several years. The teachers love, care for, and respect the children, and my children report the very best experiences. The kids' test scores have always been high throughout their attendance. The school encourages involvement by parents, and we feel invited.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2009

Students are provided individualized attention in a caring and positive Christian environment. Parents can feel assured that their children are in a safe and nurturing environment. Classes are small and teachers know all the students, not just those in their classes so no one goes unnoticed. Parents are encouraged to actively participate in all aspects of their children's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2006

my daughter has been going to ALS since 1st grade and she excels every year. She has been an A-A+ student and I believe it is because of the teachers and the studies they use to teach with. The amount of students per class, I believe make a big difference. The parents are encouraged to come to all pre-scheduled events and are always welcome to help in school functions. The school has a wonderful library for research. The children take field trips with parent support and they are well supervised outside on the play ground with the teachers. ALS has a well sponsored and supervised before and after school program. I love this school and the program has become a good part of our life. Come and see for yourself what God has done at ALS.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 43%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 43%
Black 3% 2%
Hispanic 3% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Asian 0% 3%
Two or more races 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology
School facilities
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 9:00 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Jim Scriven
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Lutheran Church (Missouri Synod)
Fax number
  • (907) 522-3359

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Religious
  • Service learning
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Futsal (Indoor Soccer)
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Futsal (Indoor Soccer)
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Robotics club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Assist with hot lunch program
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Anchor Lutheran School focuses on building a rich partnership with parents for the benefit of our students. Communication between the home and school is constant and effective. Together, appropriate guidance and support is provided for our students so that they may be successful and well prepared for education at the next level, for life in general, and for the life to come.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
50
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
50

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$7000 - $8000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Service High School
Dimond High School
Lumen Christi High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8100 Arctic Blvd
Anchorage, AK 99518
Website: Click here
Phone: (907) 522-3636

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Atheneum School
Anchorage, AK





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT