Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kaleidoscope School of Arts & Sciences

Charter | K-6 | 246 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 20, 2013

My first grader loves this school. It recently just started operating a kiln for clay sculptures to go further with the already impressive art program. Love all the programs, I volunteer enough to know the insides of this school and it's amazing. It's a charter school that is very much part of the public school system, it's not elitist or entitled, but there is much to be proud of. To teach kids different schematics of learning, instead of one main teaching model to fit your circle into a square, it gives every child the opportunity to learn whats best for them. It's pretty great to see your kid proud of themselves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2010

Wonderful Teachers Admin & Attitude
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2009

A safe, creative and inspiring learning environment! This is the school we all wish we could have gone to as children. The teachers are hard working, highly educated, and in tune with the students. Parent involvement is encouraged and appreciated. KSAS is a wonderful school for my three children and I would recommend it to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2009

Science, music, and art all work together to make this school different. Our child is experimenting and learning concepts I did not get exposed to until junior high. The students get to learn 'hands on' and they love it. We get to volunteer as much as we want. The school actually encourages it. I pray that they will add more grades to the program so she can keep growing with Kaleidoscope. Thanks for a job well done.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2008

I was apprehensive at first about Charter Schools in general. I have since become an advocate and have even spoken publicly about my experiences. I wish that I could have attended this school as a child. My children love this learning environment and I love to be welcomed to participate in there education and the specific direction of the school. The teachers are wonderful and highly educated, most have masters degrees. I do feel however, that at the administrative level that a 'select' few run 'everything' just like a traditional school now and most parents would not see a difference between a charter school and a traditional school. I would love to see the optimism, excitement and innovation return to KSAS but I would still very much recommend this school to anyone in Kenai, Nikiski or Soldotna.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2008

KSAS is a wonderful school for my kinder and 1st grader. I believe that the teachers are up to date, cohesive, challenging, and provide a direction to all students. The administration is somewhat lacking in the fact that they dont do enough to allow each child to experience all facets of school life. However, I dont agree that there are a 'select few' who run the school. There is the APC ( as well as the PTA) that governs a 'Charter School'. That is the difference between a 'public school'. The APC is made up of a few parents, the principal, as well as outside community members. They serve to provide the school a forum in which any and all parents or community members can communicate directly with the administration of the staff at KSAS. If you want to see changes, attend an APC meeting and make your voice heard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2008

I moved to kenai when my son was very young so my kids could attend this school... The families and staff all work well to ensure a great outcome for our children...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2008

Teachers are very helpful, and freindly. Lots of activities for families to get involved!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2006

This is our first year attending KSAS and so far I am extremely impressed. I have children in both 2nd grade and Kindergarten, with my 2nd grader also being a special needs child. The staff at Kaleidoscope is encouraging, both to the students and the parents. The principal is very attentive to what goes on in the school as well. They have an amazing music program, a science lab and physical education program that go above and beyond the standards placed by the school district. My children are excited about school and their education has been beyond my expectations. I love the fact that science, art, music, and pe are incorporated into their daily curriculum and not just an outside class. The school and the staff are wonderful and you will not be disappointed sending your children here!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2011.

36 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
>=90%

2009

 
 
92%

2008

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 82% in 2011.

36 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
>=90%

2009

 
 
89%

2008

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2011.

36 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
>=90%

2009

 
 
86%

2008

 
 
83%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2011.

2011

 
 
>=90%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
86%

2008

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2011.

2011

 
 
>=90%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
89%

2008

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 50% in 2011.

36 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
80%

2009

 
 
67%

2008

 
 
66%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 76% in 2011.

2011

 
 
>=90%

2010

 
 
>=90%

2009

 
 
91%

2008

 
 
>90%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

36 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
80%

2009

 
 
83%

2008

 
 
>90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2011.

2011

 
 
>=90%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
>=90%

2008

 
 
>90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 75% in 2011.

36 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
86%

2009

 
 
>=90%

2008

 
 
>90%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

29 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
79%

2009

 
 
>=80%

2008

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2011.

29 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
>=90%

2009

 
 
>=80%

2008

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2011.

29 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
>=90%

2009

 
 
>=80%

2008

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

All Students86%
Female>=80%
Male85%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged>=90%
Students with disabilities<=40%
Students without disabilities>=90%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students86%
Female>=80%
Male80%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged>=80%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities<=40%
Students without disabilities>=90%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students83%
Female>=80%
Male75%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged>=80%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities<=40%
Students without disabilities90%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Alaska Department of Education and Early Development. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

All Students>=90%
Female>=90%
Male>=80%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White>=90%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged>=90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities>=90%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students>=90%
Female>=90%
Male>=80%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White>=90%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged>=90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities>=90%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students81%
Female86%
Male71%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White88%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities81%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students>=90%
Female>=90%
Male>=80%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White>=90%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged>=90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities>=90%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Alaska Department of Education and Early Development. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

All Students83%
Female85%
Male>=80%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged>=60%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities<=40%
Students without disabilities90%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students>=90%
Female>=90%
Male>=80%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White>=90%
Economically disadvantaged>=60%
Not economically disadvantaged>=90%
Students with disabilities>=60%
Students without disabilities>=90%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students89%
Female>=90%
Male70%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged>=60%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities>=60%
Students without disabilities>=90%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Alaska Department of Education and Early Development. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Math

All Students76%
Female77%
Male75%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities43%
Students without disabilities86%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students86%
Female82%
Male>=80%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged>=80%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities57%
Students without disabilities>=90%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students86%
Female82%
Male>=80%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged>=80%
Not economically disadvantaged>=80%
Students with disabilities>=60%
Students without disabilities>=90%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Alaska used the Standards Based Assessment (SBA) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in science. The SBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alaska. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Alaska Department of Education and Early Development. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alaska Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2010-2011 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 9% 23%
Two or more races 6% 7%
Hispanic 2% 6%
Asian 1% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Black 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 21%N/A38%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

549 North Forest Dr
Kenai, AK 99611
Phone: (907) 283-0804

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Cook Inlet Academy
Soldotna, AK


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT