Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Diamond Canyon Elementary School

Public | PK-8 | 1014 students

Highest Test scores in Anthem!!! Excelling staff!

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 10 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 10, 2013

Diamond Canyon is a second home to my children. The teachers and staff there care about my girls and show them love daily. They are learning every day and feel so comfortable with their teachers. I love the rigorous curriculum and high expectations for both standards and behavior. Go DC!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

I have 2 kids attending Diamond Canyon. All the teachers that my kids have had, have been great! I am very pleased with the education they are receiving & how caring the teachers are.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2013

We have had two children attend Diamond Canyon and couldn't be more pleased about the quality of education our children receive at this school. We are continually impressed by the teachers and administration. One of our children just completed fifth grade and we were amazed at the academic, emotional, and social growth that occurred during this year. High expectation were set (as they should be), but our child was supported as she progressed through the year. Our "almost" sixth grader is now much more confident and responsible. This is exactly what should happen as a child is entering middle school. Our younger child had an amazing year in fourth grade and we're looking forward to another great fifth grade year! We cannot give enough positive accolades to Diamond Canyon and we're happy to have our children attending such a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2013

We did a lot of research in selecting the right school in Anthem. We checked out a few public, one private, and the charter school. I didn't show all my cards when we were meeting with schools, and talking to parents, but I was looking for a school that had the best quantitative results (scores), and also had the best qualitative results (a safe environment where they care about my children's success). Diamond Canyon was the school that stood out in both categories, so after about six weeks of investigation, and talking around, we settled here. That was two years ago and we are very pleased with our decision! Scores are still the highest, and we have become even more impressed by what a caring community there is at Diamond Canyon. Lots of great people!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2013

This school is outstanding! I would highly recommend it! My kids love the teachers and administration at this school. Everyone is very professional. You can tell that learning and doing what is best for the students is the top priority. I have nothing but positive things to say about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2013

My child loves going to Diamond Canyon! There is no other place I've found that greets kids each morning with the energy and REALLY knows their students. His teachers have known his academic skills and his interests. I am a very happy parent of Diamond Canyon. We plan to attend for many, many years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2013

I can see this school from my house, yet I drive my children all the way into Phoenix to attend schools in PVUSD! The best decision I ever made was pulling my children from DVUSD and DC. We only had two great teachers at DC (Kindergarten and First Grade and after that it all went down hill)! Only one of those teachers is still there. The list of reasons we would not recommend this school is FAR TOO long to list! PVUSD has been amazing and we never look back, the extra gas is worth it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2013

I am a parent of a 16 yr old and 6 yr old. Not new to the school system. I am retired Air Force and have had the experience of all kinds of schools, both private and public here in AZ, Delaware, and New Jersey. Diamond Canyon is poor managed. The teaching staff in the kindergarten have little support from school leadership. This was our first year so I had nothing to compare the principal to except other schools my children have been through. The principal is detached which explains the front office, I believe they think they aren't allowed to smile or be friendly in any way. Except if you know them on some personal level. When I tried to address a problem/issue early in the year I rec'd a company line which had lies, I tried to address the lies and more lies come. I realized at that point my child was not returning. The parent manipulation is beyond unprofessional. It seems the staff allows parents to have an overwhelming say as to the way business is conducted. It doesn't appear that the children's learning style or benefit is the forefront of this school. My child will not be returning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2013

The teachers are completely detached from the students. At 5th grade there is already periods, the children are sent home with an overwhelming amount of books and expected to have planners to manage their homework. The teachers have no consistent process of keeping track of homework so if your child isn't perfectly keeping track of their assignments in their agenda, you have no way of following up. When we go to student conferences our child's teacher knows very little about our individual child and instead speaks off the grades with little insight on what they struggle with or exceed at. We get a blurb about how she does a great job in participation and is "doing great'. We've had to take complete control over following up on missing assignments after finding out that the main reason our daughter wasn't passing a class was because she had TWENTY missing assignments. Not a note, or a warning. The grade sucked and we assumed she didn't know what she was doing. She's just getting very little support and the teachers seem to treat everyone like a number.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2013

This is a craptastic school.. PTA is nothing but cheesy fundraisers, if your child is not, a) child of staff member, 2) an excelling student, 3)or a child of a pta member.. they will not get all they deserve. They place children in classrooms popcorn (toss them whereever) method.. not what s best for child. There are few great teachers, staff is mediocre at best.. homework is waaaay out of control.. and most times of my three kids *I* had to teach them how to do the homework.. the teachers did not (and if they did it was a video that taught) Pulling my three as are my neighbors.. on to charter schools
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2012

For seven years I was an employee of the Deer Valley Unified School District and a staff member at Diamond Canyon for two of those years. Because of the knowledge and insight I gained about the inner workings I can never recommend Diamond Canyon to anyone. There are a few quality teachers that are restrained by policy, administrators and influential parents. Lack of direction and discipline have undermined safety. When the environment became unacceptable we removed our child midyear. Large turnover of teachers and dropping enrollment numbers are indicators of a troubled school. If you value your child's education do not subject them to Diamond Canyon.


Posted April 26, 2012

DC is excelling again. Awesome teachers and support staff. Large volunteer base and supportive community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2012

My kids are so happy here as am I. Wonderful teachers, and amazing staff. The new principal and vice principal go above and beyond to make sure our kids are learning and safe! Love this school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2012

This school was the best. Diamond Canyon has had the best teachers ever. i did not have had a problem at this school.


Posted November 23, 2011

Excelling last FIVE years! A campus where your children will be known and provided a top notch education! This is the school you must check out! The school scores and data speak for themselves!


Posted November 14, 2010

My children have attended DC since it opened and overall I've been pleased. They've had some fantastic teachers and continue to love learning, which is the most important to me. The administration has been terrific in handling issues that have arisen. My only complaints are aimed at the district, nothing the school itself can control. We started in Paradise Valley USD and I regret the change. That district is far superior IMHO.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2010

If you work at the school, your child gets placed with the "great" teachers. Otherwise, you get what you get, and you can't get upset.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2010

Diamond Canyon has been an excellent school for both of my children. The teachers have been great and the principal is fantastic. We came from a school in California that pales in comparison. i would highly recommend DC!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2010

My daughter has attended Diamond Canyon for four years. Her teachers have been far superior to those she had in both CA and FL. I highly recommend placement at this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

My granddaughters both attend this school. I have visited their classrooms and I am so impressed with their educational standards. I am a retired OK teacher.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
87%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 42%
Hispanic 9% 42%
Two or more races 3% 1%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 6%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 10%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Rated A (highest possible) (2013)
  • Rated A (highest possible) (2012)
  • Rated A/Excelling (highest possible) (2011)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Superintendent's School of Excellence (2010)
  • Sister School Award from HFL in China (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Recycling club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Performing arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Drill team
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:45 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Tara LeCount
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (623) 445-8080

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Individually guided instruction
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Foreign languages
  • Performing arts
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Drill team
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • National Honor Society
  • Recycling club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
  • We LOVE parents on our campus!
More from this school
  • Highest test scores in Anthem (including all pubic, charter, and private schools) ! Highest ratings from state for last SEVEN years. Excellence always expected from everyone!
School leaders can update this information here.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

40004 Liberty Bell Way
Anthem, AZ 85086
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 445-8000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Anthem School
Anthem, AZ


The Caepe School
Anthem, AZ





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT