Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Canyon Springs

Public | PK-8 | 845 students

We are best known for 21st Century Learning.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 4, 2014

We had several schools to choose from in the Anthem area, but Canyon Springs is the school for my children. The students and parents are very nice and down to Earth. The teachers and staff are very dedicated to education. The ladies in the front office are so very sweet and helpful. Even though this is a STEM school, I love the fact that they still offer students the opportunity to participate in fine arts. My children and I very much enjoyed the school's very first musical! Canyon Springs may not be our home school, but my children truly feel like they are home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2013

I've been going to this school for 8 years now, this year being my last, and I can say this hasn't been a great school. I haven't been to any others so I can't really compare. The only plus I can say is that the teachers are for the most part really nice, as long as you're not causing trouble. Everything else is a negative. The admins are terrible, the food is revolting, and countless of other things. I've also been bullied every year after 4th grade, and it's not just the kids. Once when I was eating my home made lunch, the monitors commented saying, "Don't you think that's a bit too much" and forced me to throw it away. So if you care for your children's well being, choose a different school.


Posted September 23, 2013

I love this school! They offer many gifted services as well as services for special needs kids. The principle is wonderful. She has proven to be an excellent leader and the teachers are great as well. I have the option and access to several top rated charter schools in the area and would choose Canyon Springs over any of them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2013

My school is Canyon Springs SChool. My own children have attended since its 2006 opening. I have been a teacher there since 2007. I could not be happier on every level. We are now an accredited STEM Academy and offer Deer Valley's Renaissance program as well. Our administrator's are top notch! Every year brings new and exciting learning opportunities and positive growth! I highly recommend our school!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 16, 2012

Having taught at other schools in Deer Valley, I have found Canyon Springs to be much more supportive of teachers, staff, students, as well as the community it serves, than many other schools. Our focus is STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math), which is truly what our students need to be successful in the future. However, I also like the fact that the Arts and Humanities have not been left behind. This will ensure that our students are more prepared for the future. The Canyon Springs students, families, and community are wonderful to work with, and I think this school is on track to becoming one of the best schools in the region.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 25, 2012

I have worked at this school for a few years now, and all I can say is that it keeps improving. The new principal truly puts our students' needs first. She has worked with the teachers to make sure they are differentiating and flexible ability grouping to meet all of our students' needs, no mater what level they are working at. In the last two years the school has also earned great academic growth scores, even better than the neighboring charter schools...
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 10, 2011

When it comes to Parent to Teacher communication and problem solving. I give it five stars!!! Despite classroom size; the teachers' strive to create great learning experiences. I have one child that completed 8th grade now in I.B program at Barry, and one student currently enrolled in 6th grade. Not to mention, that there is ZERO tolerence for bullying at this school. despite no morning recess, and short lunch recess. My kids while at this school are creating fun learning memories in classroom setting!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2009

My daughter is in 2nd grade and her teacher Mrs. Hansen is a great teacher even though there is 29 children in her classroom. I think that it is to many children in one class but I have to say Mrs. Hansen is on top of everything when it comes to are children. She has been a blessing for my daughter and now my daughter loves to read and be in school. I just have to say for me it's been a wonerful year so far for my daughter and I. Hope next year is just a good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2009

I love this school! We've been in AZ for 2 years and chose CS out of the other schools in the area because it was the newest school here. Yes, growing pains are being experienced but it's exciting to be a part of creating an outstanding school for this community! Getting involved and supporting the students, faculty and staff have proven to be a positive experience for myself and my children. CS rocks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2009

I am the parent of a kindergarten student and absolutely love this school, the principals and the teachers. Parents like to blame the teachers for the problems regarding pick up and drop off procedures, when it's the parents causing the problems. If everyone would follow the correct procedures, it would run more smoothly. You can't blame the teachers for everything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2008

I had my daughter in first grade for three days and pulled her out of this school. It is over crowded, the teachers, principle and staff were extremely unorganized and had no idea who my daughter was when she walked in to the office. Thank goodness I was able to enroll her at New River Elementary - in the same school district, therefore engaged in the same curriculum. I recently moved from Parkside to the Country Club and did not even think twice about keeping her at New River Elementary. All of the Anthem Public Schools are over crowded and out of control. Neither one of my children will ever attend any of the public schools in Anthem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2008

I agree with much of the feedback here. I'm also considering pulling my daughter and placing her in a local charter school for many of the same reasons stated here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

My boys went to this school last year. My kids liked their teachers, which is about all I can say that was good. My oldest was bullied relentlessly and absolutely nothing was done to help the situation. We did not go back this year. Terrible discipline issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2008

My children have attended Canyon Springs since the day it opened. I am very impressed with the teachers, administration, and the office staff. Everyone there is working hard to make this school the best that it can be. Parents need to realize that it takes time to work out the 'bugs' and that the school needs the support of all to be successful. I am thrilled that my children attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2008

My children started this year at Canyon Springs this year and I find that it is very behind compared to Anthem Elementary where they were going before. Input from the teachers was always available as well as updates on your child's progress. Here I find that it's lacking- like pulling teeth sometimes. Classes are overcrowded and there is no discipline for the kids that need it. And the drop-off area is suppose to be drop and go but instead you have parents that sit in their vehicles until the gate opens, if you have to wait then park and walk. No organization what so ever. This school needs to take lessons from Anthem
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2008

I have been going to this school for two years now (during a 6th to 7th grade period) and I find it very crowded. The student's are horrible and the staff let them get away with more than they should. When the students aren't screaming racial slurs, they're yelling obscenities at each other. This school is criminally under-staffed and the principal is not great in the least. she often has fund raisers that lose more money than they earn. Some of the staff are very kind and do not let the student's mis-behave, but the majority of them don't care one way or another what goes on. I find this school a very difficult learning environment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 11, 2008

My son began kindergarten at this school and there's never been a day where he hasn't wanted to be there. His teacher, Mrs. Fields, is wonderful at communicating with us and has a connection with the children in her class. The school has responded to the growing number of students by increasing the number of classrooms and with each change they've made to improve the pick-up/drop-off system, they ve come closer to managing a balance between the children s safety while making it easier for parents to follow procedures. Overall, the staff and administrative department are very friendly and helpful. The principal is involved with the students by rewarding those who follow the Character Counts program by having Smoothies with the Principal. Academic standards are up to par in my opinion, the PTSA is working hard, and I think it will only get better and better at Canyon Springs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2007

The teachers at this school have been extremely kind and involved in my childs education. They really have listened to my requests and concerns and made our family feel like my kids are truly blessed to have them as teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2007

This school is overcrowded and understaffed. The pick-up and drop-off procedures need to be changed or seriously looked at. The Kindergarten pick up and drop off is seriously troubling too. The District needs to re-zone, again! I understand that we are experiencing growing pains, but it's at the cost of my child's education. Despite all this I really like the Staff. I believe in this school and it's mission for education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
87%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
87%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 42%
Hispanic 13% 43%
Black 6% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 23%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Red Carpet Service Award (2010)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Speech and language impairments

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Tricia V. Graham
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (623) 376-5280

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Speech and language impairments

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.
 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Boulder Creek High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

40005 N. 45th Avenue
Anthem, AZ 85086
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 376-5280

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Desert Academy
Anthem, AZ






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT