Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Desert Vista Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 641 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 10, 2011

Well first of all the staff that we had contact with seem very confused and stressed out. Very high lack of communication. After being told by several people that our children will be going to Desert Vista, so we purchased uniforms and school supplies to prepare to start school.. Let me say We were not prepared when we got a call from the principal (Nice Lady). she informed us that our kids were at the wrong school according to our address. Why is there so much chaos and B.S. within the school/school district? Is there a lack of understanding and comprehension of how a school should be ran. But like I told my wife this might all be a blessing in disguise, Maybe they weren meant to go tro that school. by how rundown it is I dont think it should even be open...........
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2010

Great school, Mrs. Mittendorf is an awesome teacher. My child is learning more than other kids do in the other school districts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2010

When we started at this school 7 years ago it was a much diffrent school. This Mrs. Sanchez doesn't care about this school and does not treat the children or the parents with respect. she is dropping the standered every year in the 4 she has been there. The teachers are all new every year. LOTS of turn over. The ones who were there for for years have almost all left. We are pulling our kids out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2010

Do not let this happen to your children! I m not saying do not send your children to D.V., but rather if you have a bully issue or any issue you must DEMAND proof that the issue has been resolved or that discipline has been handed out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2010

I am dissatisfied with this school. I was a volunteer all year long and have seen many things that bothered me. My sons Kindergarten teacher was ill and had to leave. His class was always noisy and it took awhile to find a replacement. Classrooms need consistancy at this early age. Principle was always taking sides of the teachers and not an advocate for the parents. She is very hard to talk to and has not one time thanked myself for all the hard work I have put into this school. Teachers are all changing next year and so who knows what will happen. We cannot request a teacher anymore because the principle will not allow it. I'm looking for a new school for this upcoming year. On the positive the teachers that are currently there I will say the majority are very good, but most of them are now leaving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2009

This school is very strong in advocating for its students academically from the principal to all of the staff! Children are treated fairly and with respect. Five stars to the special education and music departments
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2008

My children are new to this school and we could not be happier. They are in 1st and 3 rd grade and they love their teachers. My 1st graders is learning so much, and I owe it all to the positive influence in the classroom and of course the awesome teacher. Its's nice to know my child loves to get up and go to school. Beside math, reading , and writing their are doing science exsperiments and she is reading, what more can I ask for. Where was the teacher when I was young.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2008

I am very happy with this school. The teachers are helpful and communicate with parents. The school is very inviting and they have a lot of great activities to involve the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2007

I love this school! They treat everyone the same and don't have favorites. They have an AWESOME education system!


Posted January 19, 2007

I love Desert Vista both my boys go there and one had a speech problem but now he is doing great the staff there is wonderful and I wouldnt have them in any other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2006

My kids started attending DVES last year and have done nothing but excelled, I believe the teachers and other facilty are wonderful. I have nothing but good things to say about our experience at Desert Vista.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2004

My child has gone to Desert Vista since kindergarten and I think Desert Vista is an excellent school. The teachers are very good with communicating with the parents. The way of teaching and making sure each and every student is all together in the learning process is great. I wish there where more schools out there who cared so much about there students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2003

I think the teaching staff at Desert Vista is excellent they care about the students and give them goals to work toward. The principal is the best in the Apache Junction School District he is the most involved and motivating principal I have ever seen. He is constantly seen around the school encouraging the students to do their best and he disciplines when the time is needed. The students show him the utmost respect that he deserves!


Posted April 28, 2003

DVES is a wonderful school. It is safe and is making great progress towards better scores. I wish that the school went up to the sixth grade. Personally, I feel that another year in an elementary school for their age group would be appropriate.


Posted October 15, 2002

As a parent of two children who were involved in the transfer from Four Peaks Elementary, it is still somewhat early in the year to assess and formulate fair opinion on the above questions. However, I am happy to say, ""so far so good"" and look forward to meeting more personnel from and getting more involved in, DVES. So far, everyone has been overwhelmingly helpful with our transition and we greatly appreciate that.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 42%
Hispanic 21% 42%
Black 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 6%
Asian 1% 3%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (480) 288-0532

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3701 E Broadway Avenue
Apache Junction, AZ 85119
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 677-7510

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Four Peaks Elementary School
Apache Junction, AZ


Avalon Elementary School
Apache Junction, AZ



East Valley Christian Academ
Apache Junction, AZ



Sonoran Desert School
Gold Canyon, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT