Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rudy G Bologna Elementary School

Public | PK-6 & ungraded | 1 student

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

40 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 4, 2005

Very liberal minded school. They had a 'art' group come in and teach some freelance song and dance to every grade level. Not much foundation learning can take place with too much fluff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2005

I'm very disappointed. The first meeting with the parents a few weeks ago was a shock for me, no one from all of the first grade teachers could speak himself, they just were reading some prepared document displayed on the wall, one by one, nothing from the heart, just a formal reading. The first impression was: 'I don't like this job but I have to do that.' If you want to meet with the teacher for some reason you can't do that and have to wait for a next meeting in a month or so. Most of the teachers never say hi or smile when meet with parents or children. In the very beginning of the school year we signed a paper who can pick up our children from the school. What happens every afternon? They leave the class alone, the teacher disappears, so there is no control. Is it really safe?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2005

The school needs more public support
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2005

The teachers are wonderful. They truly care about the children and their success. I am glad my child attends Bologna and I am looking for to many more fantastic experiences!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2005

After two years at this school, I am looking for other options. My child is is at the top of his class in reading and math, however no challenging work is given to him. Everyone in the class does the same work, no matter where they are at. On the plus side, most of the kids I have seen do read pretty close to grade level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

Bologna has wonderful educators, students, and parents.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 24, 2005

Mr. Estes and all of the teachers at Bologna are skilled and caring people. Bologna is a quality place for children to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2004

My 5th grader has been at RGB since all-day kinder with Mrs. Shaw and I couldn't be more pleased with the school. The teachers are awesome and they have high expectations for the students. Mr. Estes has brought together a great staff of teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2004

I am satisfied with the education my children received at RGB.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2004

I feel that Mr. Estes has done a wonderful job with my son. He has given him a great sense of worth, and self esteem. Also the office staff this year is the best. Thank you Bologna
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2004

Overall, Bologna does an excellent job of educating the students. My son attended all-day kindergarten with Mrs. Shaw and Mrs. Burke, and he couldn't have recieved a better education in a private school. This year (1st grade) with Mrs. Jenkins my son has made HUGE strides in reading. In this the school has exceeded my expectations. I would like to see more parent involvement and more encouragement of parent involvement, which I think would turn this good school into an exceptional school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2004

Our grandson is in kindergarten, and has Mrs. Angel. We are from PA. and while visiting AZ. in Dec. we scheduled a visit, and had the privilege of sitting in on one of his classes. The office staff was very friendly and helpful. His teacher, was everything he told us she would be, a good teacher, caring, and helpful. We saw that she has a good relationship with her students. She sends a positive message to them, included with organized structure in the classroom. Which we believe provides them with a good foundation for their coming school years. We liked the way the school was laid out as far as classes, library, and the courtyard. Our grandson was proud to show us his school. He has a positive outlook about his teacher and his school.


Posted September 23, 2003

I have had children at this school since it opened. I feel that they have a great staff of teachers. The teachers all seem to be very caring as well as talented and dedicated. The PTA, FTO, parent site counsel, or whatever they are calling this year is a joke! As a parent it is difficult to continue to volunteer because of the clickish environment that has been allowed to continue. There are no elected officers, which allows the same self-chosen few to make all the decisions and then act extremely put upon because they feel they do all the work. Donations and volunteers do not receive acknowledgement let alone a thank you, donations (including tax donations) do not receive receipts, and don t expect to be repaid for purchases you are asked to make on behalf of the FTO , without a huge fight. Great Teachers are wonderful; a great school community would be even better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2003

Overall, very disappointed with Bologna. Minimal exposure to science, history, music, art. Class size 29 is common. No real PTO, no classroom 'open houses' except 'meet the teacher' 1st week of the year, no school open houses, one 15 minute parent/teacher conference for the entire school year (which ocurred without privacy as other parents waited in the classroom for their 15 minute conference), hard to access teachers, and inaccessible principle. Refused to offer any guidance for our ADHD child despite our verbal and writen requests.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2003

Wonderful teachers however my interaction's with the Principal, Mr. Estes was not so wonderful. He in my opinion brings the school's value down.


Posted April 28, 2003

A quality school. They have a very diverse population and meet the needs of all students. Their extra curricular activities are outstanding. Ranging from tutorials to sports. Mr. Grimes does an awesome job with many students involved in running club and the Hershey Track program. My children look forward to joining his running club and track club each year. I am very pleased with all the teachers my children have had over the last couple years. Bologna teachers, keep up the good work! Thank you!


Posted April 28, 2003

My children have attended Bologna since it opened. James Estes and his staff are top notch. Having served on the PTO and interacting with the staff on a one-to-one basis, I have been and continue to be not only satisfied but impressed with the quality of education my kids are receiving. Bologna will be hard to match when the time comes for them to move on to Jr. High.


Posted April 21, 2003

Three years ago my husband and I enrolled our children into Rudy G. Bologna elementary school. It seemed like a pretty good school. I asked many people about the principal and staff, it was all positive feedback. Unfortunately, this year has not been good. Mr. Estes is a very laidback principal who doesn't want to have to deal with problems. I would love to see a new person come in and put this school back on top. Every teacher that I have met or know are fantastic people with great attitudes that seem to love what they are doing.


Posted April 21, 2003

Could use a principal who actually looks and acts like he wants to be there. He doesn't seem to want to help with problems, rather just act as though it really is no big deal.


Posted October 15, 2002

Bologna is a good school but as all, could use a little improvement. With the current Principal there is no good Parent Teacher Organization. He prefers his P.L.T. with only very few who actually enjoy this type of meeting and are active in it. Could use a Principal who is more active and not so easy going and laid back. Would love to see more parent/teacher activities. Some really good teachers to be found at this school and some wonderful students who are a joy to see at the school every morning. Mr. Breen is especially wonderful to meet and he is very active with all the programs both safety and arts with this school. Make sure you look him up!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
68%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 45% 43%
White 37% 42%
Black 9% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 58%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (480) 883-4020

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1625 East Frye Road
Chandler, AZ 85225
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 812-7600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Basis Chandler
Chandler, AZ







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT