Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Valley Christian High School

Private | 9-12 | 308 students

Well-rounded students & big school opportunities in a small school environment.
 
 

 
 

Living in Chandler

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $149,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $970.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 11 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

41 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 17, 2012

Excellent programs and teachers that challenge students to grow and develop a Christian worldview while preparing and developing the students for college and careers. Outstanding extra-curricular opportunities including a nationally-ranked Robotics program, one of the most successful athletic programs in the state and an award-winning and nationally recognized music program.


Posted October 24, 2011

We have had two children graduate from Valley, we currently have a senior there, and will have a freshman there next year. We have been mostly satisfied over the years with the school. It is true, there have been some unsatisfactory teachers over these years, but for the most part they have been weeded out. The school has also been through a lot of changes with the administration, and we feel over the past couple of years they have made real, positive changes in this area. We are very excited with the new administrator for this year, and look forward to the next four years, under his direction. He is placing the school on a path, along with the teacher, of coming along side the parents, in the Spiritual development of the students. There is incredible opportunities in academics, sports, music, the arts etc. My kids have made life long friends at VCHS and we would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2011

There are people in this world who aren t just nice to your children, who aren t just excellent teachers, but are people God places in your children s lives you reach in & mold who they are. VCHS is filled with teachers & coaches who have done this for all 4 of our children. We have 2 boys & 2 girls who are very sports oriented,& Valley has allowed them to play on multiple state championship teams.Our kids have traveled with the highly acclaimed Trojan Choir, served in the community & school government, participate in national medical forums,& are being offered college scholarships from across the country due to the high academic level Valley has brought them to.God has answered our prayers through the incredible,God-pursuing peers they've found at Valley.There are young people there who live life to the fullest & push our kids to be their very best.We have a home where Christ reigns & wanted a school which would come alongside us to help grow them into adults who would be well equipped to serve Him, using the gifts He gave each of them to the fullest,& most of all, that would feed their fire for our Savior. We found that in Valley Christian High School. We have been truly blessed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2011

I enthusiastically recommend Valley Christian to anyone who wants to give their child an excellent education in a truly Christian environment. Academically, Valley has helped my children to rise to their full potential and allowed them to be a part of a wide range of extracurricular activities. When my older daughter graduated, she received numerous scholarship offers and is currently doing very well in college. The teachers and staff at Valley really make the difference. They are wonderful Christian role models for the students because they are able to speak from their own life experiences about how having a relationship with Christ helps them every day. Is it worth the tuition? Yes! We have used ACSTO and TRIP to make it possible for our kids to attend Valley. If you want to learn more about the school, one of the best ways to do this is to attend one of the open houses offered throughout the year. I did this about 7 years ago and am so glad I did!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2011

Valley Christian High School has made a tremendously positive impact on our family! We have finally found a place where our child can thrive by using the gifts that God has given him. If your child is an athlete, Valley has a place for your child. If you child is into the Arts, Valley has many opportunities in this area. Perhaps, one of our favorite classes, Ministry Development is available for the child who wants to lead or support chapel services and ministry opportunities. The teachers at Valley are called and committed, and because of this are able to connect with students, meet them where they are, and help them grow in their knowledge and in their faith. I want no other school for either of my kids. Valley is definitely the school of choice for our family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2011

We have two children currently attending Valley Christian and they both love it. The teachers at Valley really care about our kids and want them to succeed. The Christ centered curriculum has enriched both of their lives. Because of the size of the school, our kids have been able to be involved in a variety of activities, from sports to drama. Our son is a senior this year and has been able to obtain a number of scholarships that will make college a reality for him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2011

Valley Christian High School has been an outstanding school for my 2 boys to attend. After sending our 2 older kids to a public school, we love the Christ-centered curriculum, and the "family" nature of this school. My boys both played sports here in a very competitive environment with great christian coaches. I would highly recommend this high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2011

Valley has been a great experience for our kids. We were amazed at how many graduating seniors received full-ride scholarships to major universities, along with appointments to the military acadamies. Our kids liked the smaller more personal setting, without sacrificing activities in sports. They must have just about all the same sports activities as 5A schools, but the chance to participate was so much better at Valley.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2011

We LOVE Valley Christian High School! Our son attended VC and graduated in 2010. These were the best four years of his life to date. He found his place, was able to excell in everything from academics to sports. He made life long friendships with students, teachers & his coaches. He was well prepared to attend a 4 year top rated private college where his is excelling all because of Valley Christian High School. We are not wealthy and were able to send our son there because of the Arizona private school tuition tax credit program. We did not feel out of place due to income status. We have another child approaching high school years and we will consider no other high schools besides VC.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

Valley Christian High School is an excellent private high school. The teachers and staff have an attitude that the students success is their success. If you are looking for a wholesome spiritual environment, excellent academics, arts, and athletics, look no further. I have seen my student mature in all areas. The community is welcoming and family oriented. This was the best investment we've made for our student. I believe at graduation our son will be well prepared for college and carry with him a solid spiritual foundation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2010

As a graduate I can say that I grew spiritually during my time at VCHS. I made some great friends there including teachers who genuinely cared for me. I'm doing just great in college.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 13, 2010

Our first year at VCHS has been everything we had hoped for in a school. The school is able to keep a good balance between rigorous academic emphasis, spiritual emphasis, and activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2010

Our family has enjoyed a wonderful four years at Valley Christian High School. He has matured academically and socially and has his college plans all set having received solid guidance and instruction. We are very thankful for the wonderful faculty and administrtion who genuinely care for students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2010

Gives high expectations with how it is presented, but doesn't live up to its own hype. Poor academic quality and hypocritical on ethics and morals.


Posted November 3, 2009

Valley was the best decision I ever made. I graduated a few years ago, but I still go back and catch up with my old teachers.


Posted August 13, 2009

Too small to build any long-lasting, real friendships. Some good teachers, mostly bad. Much too conservative to have any real diversity
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 5, 2009

I had my child attend this school and graduate last year. My otherchild will be a freshman will be attending another Christian High School. Valley has some good qualities but over the years they have become nothing but a high priced private school. The academics are not challenging, drug issues, teen pregnancy and the most lewd behaviors at school dances are the norm. This is not my idea of a Christian School but is far better than a Public School. In the early years when my son attended, again he graduated in 2008 this school was the best of the best. The new admistrator came in and the school became very liberal. I hope that Valley Christian becomes once again the school it was at one time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2008

Not satisfied! Except the small school atmosphere which was appealing I didn't see any benefits of this school verses a better public school. An overload on religious imput (unless you want to be a minister or go that route) but the Christian attitude wasn't there. High tuition, limited choices and the lunch room is a joke.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2005

Wonderful school. Lots of learning and attention to details.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2005

My child has done very well in this school, The small school atmosphere has been good for him. I found the teachers my child had were very responsive and cared about him. The students seem to be very nice and well mannered. I only wish the school had a bigger variety of elective classes. They seem to be lacking in that area. Also, the tuition is very high.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 42%
Black 2% 6%
Hispanic 2% 39%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 11%
Asian 0% N/A
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff American sign language
French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Computer programming
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:10 pm
School Leader's name
  • Mark Bistricky
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
  • CSI

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Honors track
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Business management
  • Computer programming

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Carpool List
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Community service
  • Drama club
  • Math club
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$9000 - $9000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Tax credits

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6900 W Galveston St
Chandler, AZ 85226
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 705-8888

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT