Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Risen Savior Lutheran Church

Private | PK-6 | 230 students

Advanced, caring, intimate Christian Education

 

Living in Chandler

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $235,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $970.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 28, 2013

I can not speak for the early learning/preschool but I can speak for the elementary and I can say the teachers are very caring and do a great job educating the children in their care. The principal is very kind and like the teachers he wants what is best for the kids. Everyone I have come in contact with from both the school and the church are very nice and welcoming. If you are looking for a great elementary school with small classes and excellent teachers than Risen Savior is for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2013

I have had no greater joy in the education of my children then that which was given through Risen Savior. What an exceptional and excellent school. I would go no where else! If you are considering private schools for your children this fall, you would be overjoyed with the education, leadership development, educators, and overlaying importance of honoring God. It is the best school in all the world in my mind!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2013

I would have to agree, this school/staff is less than welcoming and for a church this seems a bit hypocritical. If you are looking for something other than what the public schools have to offer, find a good charter school. These class sizes might be small, but they are too small and the social and emotional growth that is so important to children is actually lacking here because of that. It's the closest experience to home schooling your child outside the home. I didn't care for the director and her lack of educational background or knowledge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2013

I was very disappointed with my experience here. Both the church and school staff are very "cliquey." This is not a welcoming facility, and the most negative experience I have ever experienced with any faith based environment.


Posted November 2, 2011

Amazing School with an amazing new principal!!!! The teachers are awesome. The kids have different specials everyday of the week.. which include, Spanish (Rosetta Stone) and teacher taught, Art Masterpiece, Music, PE, Computer Lab (where they are learning how to type on the keyboard properly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2011

Whoever wrote the last review obviously has no idea what's going on at the school. There is a new principal this year with years of academic experience both as a teacher and an administrator. All of the elementary school teachers are highly qualified, two have Master's degrees and all have taught for many years. My sons both qualified for CATS program in Chandler, so I know they are getting an excellent education, and the curriculum used at RSLS is identical to that used by the CUSD. If your child needs strong discipline and an iron hand, perhaps this is not the school for you. However, if you're looking for loving guidance and an environment highly conducive to learning for all, then definitely consider Risen Savior.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2011

My son is enrolled in Risen Savior's Early Learning Center. We could not be more pleased with this school. The teachers and aides are extremely caring and my son loves going to school. As a teacher myself, I am very picky about choosing a school for my son. Risen Savior is a great option for children whether or not you are of Christian faith.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2011

Very disappointing, small class size is too small. Communication between administration, or whatever that leader/principal is. She has no clue about education, how to teach, what kids need (besides spiritual growth). Find yourself a nice charter school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2011

My son is currently in the preschool program and we absolutely love it! The staff are very approachable and friendly. There is a lot of parent involvement from bring snacks to the classroom one day, participating a meeting, help raise money for the school etc. The teacher to student ratio is excellent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2010

We love this school! We, too, were very surprised by some of the staff cutbacks. But, while other schools are cutting the 'extras', RSLCS still offers Spanish, computers, PE, and music. The teachers that remain are very well qualified, very caring, and you can tell truly love the children and care about their well being. A great place to be for the grades they teach. The small classes let them not only learn the necessary academics, but also have the time to teach them how to be a good person as well. We would recommend this school. From a preschool and elem school parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2010

My son is starting his 4th yr at Risen Savior and we have been extremely pleased with his progress and accomplishments. The majority of these negative reviews have to do with some teachers being let go at the end of the year, but every school has had to make adjustments do to the economic times. Very disappointing, but they still offer Spanish (great spanish teacher), Art, Music, PE, and computers. His academic progress has been amazing, he has a love and understanding for God that I attribute to this school, and has been taught great social skills. I too, have been frustrated with the leadership, but when I ask my son if he is happy there he gets a huge smile on his face and says yes! He is in a safe, loving, academically challenging environment, and he enjoys it! Every teacher he has had has been outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2010

This school has been lacking for quite sometime. The staff is non attentive when families are in need of help for some tuition assistance. If your a family, who has more than one child you that you want them both to attend this school and you need a LITTLE help with affording it, to be able to keep BOTH your children enrolled... the staff runs you around and NEVER returns your messages. Needless to say, I had to remove my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

The school has lost it's way. Many families are not returning out of frustration with the current leadership. Too many times administrators and board members have ignored the ideas, thoughts and/or concerns of the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

Many Christian schools are suffering because families are suffering. The Lutheran Church - Missouri Synod is second only to the Catholic church in providing Christian education nationwide. Last year, over 40 Lutheran elementary schools across the country had to close. Just like your family's budget, schools can't operate in the red. Our church has and is supporting the school to the best of its ability, but sometimes difficult decisions have to be made. All of our teachers are exceptional people and have appropriate credentials for the level they teach, whether it is in preschool, elementary school or childcare. We are a team & more importantly, a family. When the economy drives down registration, staff will follow. No matter who has to move on, its going to hurt. God's promise is to never forsake us, & we are confident that doors will open for our colleagues allowing them to continue their ministry.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 19, 2010

Unfortunately, the school's quality is beginning to suffer from lack of leadership. Some very poor choices have been made recently, leading to qualified, experienced teachers being let go in preference to nepotism and "the buddy system." It's a shame to see so much potential unfufilled. Risen Savior is a beautiful facility with some very good teachers, but the "principal" and school board are apparently not interested in keeping the best staff possible or in ensuring that their students get the best education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

The direction that this school has taken is very disappointing. They have recently decided not to renew the contracts of several highly qualified teachers, while keeping teachers on staff that have no degree. They have shown all of us that they are more concerned with the bottom line than with providing our children with a quality education. The administrator at this school is not qualified to be a principal and shouldn't be making the decisions that have been made. This school had the potential to be a great school, unfortunately, because of some very poor decisions, many parents in the surrounding community are choosing to take their children elsewhere. So sad!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

If you're looking for a private education in Chandler, this is it. You'll find small class sizes, well-qualified teachers and extras such as Spanish, art and PE that public schools are cutting out. My children love the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2010

My three children have attended Risen Savior for two years. I have been very happy with their teachers and the quality of education. The small class sizes enable personalized attention. Not only are my children learning a lot academically, but they are in a safe environment where they are building confidence, learning self-respect and growing spiritually.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2009

My child has been experiencing bullying for sometime now, and it has yet to get under control. My child will not be returning to this school after winter break. There are many other things that go on at this school that are over looked. I would not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2009

My children have been going to Risen Savior for five years. Not only have they been challenged academically, but they have also grown socially, emotionally and spiritually. The teachers are superb and the administration is supportive. While many schools are cutting back, Risen Savior provides computer classes, Spanish, music, and PE, and does it while maintaining small class sizes. If you're looking for the best Christian education in town, you've found it!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 42%
Hispanic 19% 39%
Asian 13% N/A
Black 8% 6%
Two or more races 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 11%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Music teacher(s)
Math specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Art teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Michael Fischer
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • Infant
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Lutheran Church (Missouri Synod)
Associations
  • NAEYC
Fax number
  • (480) 802-3225

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Multi-aged
  • Standards-based
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Praise Band
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Teachers are Christian, certified and are known to care about their students. We strive to maintain an atmosphere of good communication between teachers and parents.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
230
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
240

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$6000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Tax credits
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

23914 S Alma School Rd
Chandler, AZ 85248
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 802-1505

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT