Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Az Compass Prep School 1

Posted January 18, 2016
- a teacher
Former Teacher: Administrators treat the faculty like their personal slaves-No time for bathroom breaks or lunch. Faculty forced to stay after school mostly every afternoon for unscheduled meetings by principal which amount to nothing. He cannot make a decision on any issue and tables the discussion for the next meeting. There is no accountability for misbehavior of students and the disruptive students constantly prevent the few normal students who attend that school fro learning. Owners only interested in the FTE money they get from the state., which goes in their pocket. the school does not employ hall monitors, lunch monitors or recess monitors and force the faculty & students outside for recess in 114 degree heat in Aug, September. I f any faculty member complains, the Admin forces them out. the students are better off to just stay home.

Az Compass Prep School 1

Posted November 02, 2015
- a teacher
Good teachers, bad admin, worse principal and fragmented program. Once you're hired, you're forced to fend for yourself. No one will support and help you. Previous Teacher


Az Compass Prep School 1

Posted September 02, 2015
- a parent
I worked there in the Spring 2015; bad news. The principal, who was also new, was clueless and very vague. He could not articulate himself, so planning stuff on or around certain days were tough because he wouldn't email you or communicate things in advance. Things "come up" out of nowhere and he expects you to drop what you're doing and tend to it. For spring break last year, I had planned a honeymoon 3 months in advance asking if there would be anything on spring break. Of course, admin said no. The principal ended up scheduling a professional development smack in the middle of break two weeks before break; meanwhile 5 or 6 teachers had plans to go out of town. Even with admin knowing that they added it last second, they expected us to show up and cancel our expensive tickets half of us got. Not to mention the principal showed up late that spring break to the PD. And not by 30 minutes, by about 3 hours. A lot of us were livid at him for doing such a selfish act. He took forever to approve time off. He never communicates. Good teachers, lousy school, lousy principal. This also rubs off on to the kids. If you are considering working here, find another place to work. If you are a parent thinking of sending your kids here, don't. As a former teacher there, send them to a better school. This is the most ridiculous system I have ever witnessed as I have taught over 25 years. I hope parents and new teachers consider this before diving into AZ Compass;.

Az Compass Prep School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted September 02, 2015
- a parent
No way is, has or will this school ever do this. Send your kid somewhere else.

Az Compass Prep School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted September 02, 2015
- a parent
It does quite the opposite; it enables student's to act out so that when they go out in the real world, they will be shocked to see that employers do not tolerate that type of behavior. AZ Compass wants its teachers to "develop relationships" with students as the solution to everything. Some things are ok, but not after a kids threw paper at your face or cursed you out screaming.


Az Compass Prep School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted September 02, 2015
- a parent
Principal lies, does not communicate and although admin has policies in their handbook written down, it is hardly ever followed up with admin. It is a bunch of lies.

Az Compass Prep School 1

Posted April 24, 2015
- a parent
Please don't send your children here, many issues on almost every leave. When you call a counselor with a problem it doesn't ever get resolved. Program system issues that keep your students from passing, just so they have to retake classes over. They say you can work at your own pace however that's not true at all. I enrolled my daughter in a math class over the summer 2014 and had no issues. She called the school by her self at age 17. I have never been able to login in to see her progress. Now that she is 18 she has failed 3 class that she in rolled her self in. I called and they removed one of the class from her transcript. With this last class there has need computer issues not updating her class work. Called a counselor 4 days ago and was told the teacher needs to grade her out still. However, I belive the just don't care to get her grade right. Now when I call back again I will not get the same counselor, there is no accountability that way. My daughter at her home school has 3.8 GPA if that helps you understand stand I'm not just a parent that doesn't hold my children accountable for their school work. I sincerely hope you find this information helpful.

Az Compass Prep School 4

Posted April 03, 2014
- a parent
This is a very small, but quickly growing school with a beautiful new campus and really great teachers. I am very impressed with the schools willingness to individualize based on the needs of the student.


Az Compass Prep School 5

Posted January 10, 2014
- a parent
AZCP gives my daughter what she needs in life to succeed. She use to go to a public school where she was being overlooked by the teachers and just pushed along not realizing that she was struggling in her reading or they just didn't care. I took out of the public school system and brought her to AZ compass, where she is advancing in her reading and she is building her confidence back up which is what she had loss in her other school. The teachers are so passionate about teaching which makes it so easy for her to learn. She adores her teachers and her principal. It is more of a family atmosphere which makes it easier to talk to the administration when you have an issue. They take every step to ensure that when she graduated from High School that she will be successful in what ever she decides to do in life. Couldn't have chosen a better place for my child. I would encourage every parent that has a child that needs the extra TLC, to bring them to AZCP...The Principal is understanding and compassionate about her children..

Az Compass Prep School 5

Posted December 17, 2013
- a parent
My child attends AZCP and I could not have been happier. The principal and the teachers are very dedicated to my child's education. I love the fact that I can come in and talk to an administrator or teacher at any time. The staff is all about the education of our children. I give this school the up most respect.

Nearby schools

Az Compass Prep School
2020 North Arizona Ave, Chandler, AZ  85225
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. (480) 287-5588
Last modified Az Compass Prep School is a Charter school that serves grades 7-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top