Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

A Ball Charter School - Dobson Academy

Charter | K-8 | 589 students

Singapore Math

 
 

Living in Chandler

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $114,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $890.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 11 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted March 26, 2013

Dobson is a fantastic small school. We have about 550 students with an average class size of 25. We offer art, music, PE, technology and library as special area classes. All of classroom teachers are certified and Highly Qualified.

50 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 14, 2008

The teachers and staff make this school an excellent environment for learning. I have 2 children here and they both are very happy and excelling in their learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2008

This school is awesome!! I do believe that this school is the best school I could have put my son in. He has ADD and is a little much to handle sometimes but the teachers at Dobson nurture and help him grow with every step. He entered first grade this year and has loved every minute at this school. He feels comfortable with himself and surroundings much in part do to the wonderful teachers he has, Ms. Walker and Ms O. We love the uniforms too and it helps our son focus. We are looking forward to many years at Dobson.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2008

My children have attended Dobson Academy since 1999, we have been extremely pleased with the teachers, special Ed dept, Principal and all the parent volunteers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2007

Great school, Dedicated and experienced staff. The principal is a well liked, dynamic leader. Excellent art and music program, which is sadly missing from many schools these days. I Have had shildren 1st through 5th. The first grade teachers are well experienced and brilliant. My children have had Mrs. Doss, who does an excellent job in teaching independence and self awareness. This is not easy with first graders. She also does a fabulous job with the sciences and social studies. Children often leave the class hungry to learn more about the Founding Fathers or the differences between deserts and other climates. A love of learning is the key. The only area that Dobson should improve on is not leaving behind advanced children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2007

I do believe that this school is one of the best I could have put my daughter in. Entering the first grade this year, she is excited to go to school. Having already been in the Kindergarden class, she feels comfortable with herself and her surroundings much in part with the wonderful teacher she had Ms. Farester. The only problem is she hates the uniforms, but I tell her to sacrifice one thing she wants to gain multible others is a great thing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2007

What an awesome school. My child is going on his 4th year & continues to be challenged in all areas except P.E and Spanish. P.E. program needs work, but I heard a new teacher will be coming. 4 years & my child still knows only the most basic Spanish. The parent involvement is great & shows commitment to education. Upgrades such as a library, better shading on campus & an obstical course have added to a pleasent experience. Teachers are amazing & truly care about students & their work. I'm not planning on going anywhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2007

My daughter has had the pleasure of attending this school for two years, the tough middle school years. I felt very comfortable with her attending this school. I felt she was in a safe environment with nice students, great teachers,and involved families. I definitely recommend this school for 7th and 8th graders.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2007

I am both a parent and teacher at Dobson Academy. This is my 8th year on staff and when it came time to send my son to kindergarten, there was no hesitation where he was to go. While our campus is small compared to district schools, it is quite spacious compared to many other charter schools. The size has many benefits: more attention to individual students, and a family atmosphere. The staff here work hard and are very dedicated to their craft. We are constantly diagnosing areas in which to improve and working to make them better. We have implemented a response to intervention program which will be presented at an national conference. You don't have to take my word for it, come see for yourself the amazing things happening at Dobson Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2006

This is our 3rd year at Dobson Academy and we just love it! Our child is highly involved in the Fine Arts program at the school and her grades have improved and her self esteem has rocketed!! With so many schools losing their Music and Art programs, Dobson has something to be proud of with their excellent and very educated and creative teachers in Music and Art. I went to the last school production and for a small school, it was incredible. Great work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2006

Wonderful school. Very good on discipline and order. Sometimes unreasonable with rules and regulations. (Including uniform policy.) Children seem to lack personal expession. We love Mrs. Doss in first grade. She keep the kids engaged and is very strict. My son knew all about the beatles, saving the whales, native plants, etc. And was thrilled to talk about these facts at the dinner table. We're going to different school next year. My kids would like to where normal clothes and i wish for more of an art program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2006

My son has been thrilled to transfer to this great school. His teachers are caring and don't hestitate to stay in touch with me via e-mail. Provides a positive learning environment for kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2006

This is our 4th year at Dobson and overall we have been pleased with the program. The one issue that needs to be addressed is the lack of enforcement of their uniform dress code policy. They revised the policy for the 2005-2006 school year which required most families to purchace all new uniforms. However, 15% to 25% of the students are not adhereing to the new policy. I volunteer at the school 6+ hours per week and see first hand the violations. I presented this information to the parent/teacher organization and the charter board of directors and little action has been taken to improve the enforcement. They just keep saying that they are 'doing a good job' but I have not seen any improvement. If they are going to have a policy in the student handbook they should enforce the policy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2006

My son has been at this since he was 8yrs of age. He had fell behind in reading and writing in the public schools, so I found this one and enrolled him. The teachers were great and very helpful, they put him in a after school reading program to catch up with the rest of the class. I'm really greatful for having my son in this school and watching the school grow as he grew.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2006

The Jr. High program has come such a long way. With the addition of a new Math Teacher and Social Studies teacher, they have a real team of high calibur, and caring teachers. Keep up the great work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2005

The elementary is pretty good, the Jr. high needs work. Most of the teachers are great, and a lot of parents are active volunteers. The dress code is not enforced like it should be, for a school requiring uniforms. The playground is small, and the car line is terrible. The school would do better with more room.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2005

My son has attended here for 7 years, it has been the best school we found in the area. Teachers are all high caliber and do an excellent job. Parent volunteer program is excellent and very helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2005

I love this school! I hate we have to leave(moving) They excell in teaching stong academics and character building skills. we choose for our child to learn spanish and he also had the choice of learning an instrument, I also like the uniforms. They need a swing set for the younger students, but other wise no complaints.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2005

This is a really good school. They will teach your child well and help them develop good characher and study habits.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2005

We are constantly challenged at the school for time with the teachers and principal. The parking is minimal and contributes to the problem overall a very good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2004

I have been involved with this school since it began. The consistency to improve from year to year with a desire to excell keeps me committed to sending my children to Dobson Academy. My oldest child is now a Senior at Hamilton High School and has been able to achieve above a 3.0 GPA with ease. This is a credit to her basic foundations she received at Dobson Academy. The greatest challenge at Dobson is in the 7th and 8th grade studies. This year they seemed to address this issue and there has been a vast improvement from the previous year. If Dobson Academy can raise their Mathematic commitment to equal their Litature, this would be the best school in the state if not the nation. I couldn't give a better recommendation for a child's education and growth opportunities,
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
97%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 42%
Hispanic 19% 43%
Black 9% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 5%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 30%N/A47%
Female 51%N/A49%
Male 49%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Taime Bengochea
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (480) 855-6323

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2207 North Dobson Road
Chandler, AZ 85224
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 855-6325

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Aim High Institute
Chandler, AZ


Adobe West School
Chandler, AZ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT