Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dr Howard K Conley Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 734 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

42 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 24, 2014

3 OF MY 5 CHILDREN HAVE ATTENDED THIS SCHOOL WITH MY OLDEST NOW IN 8TH GRADE AND I ABSOULTELY LOVE THE SCHOOL. MY CHILDREN HAVE EXCELLENT TEACHERS WHO HAVE REALLY PUSHED THEM TO ACCOMPLISH THEIR GOALS IN THEIR EDUCATION. THE STAFF HAS WORKED HARD IN HELPING MY SON REACH HIGHER TESTING SCORES BY OFFERING EXTRA HELP AND TUTORING. I HAVE ALWAYS FOUND THAT THE TEACHERS ARE DEDICATED TO MAKING SURE MY KIDS THE KIDS ARE IN A SAFE AND NO BULLYING ENIVORNMENT. I APPREICATED THE PARENT INVOLVEMENT IN ACTIVITIES AT SCHOOL BECAUSE I SEE THE RESULTS IN THE SENSE OF PRIDE AND COMMUNITY THAT IS CARRIED IN THE SCHOOL AND SEEN IN THE CHILDREN. I AM AN PROACTIVE PARENT WHO KNOWS THAT WE HAVE TO BE JUST AS DEDICATED TO SCHOOL AS OUR CHILDREN SO THAT WE HAVE A LEGACY AND CONLEY GIVES MY CHILDREN A SOLID FOUNDATION I AM GRATEFUL.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2013

I love this school. It's in a great neighborhood....caring teachers...gread admin staff.... My children are very happy with this school. The gated campus is always clean and attractive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

We have seen really good changes at Conley over the years since our child started in Kindergarten. Mr. Walters and the school staff are truly awesome! You can see the positive changes in the attitudes of the the teachers and students on the campus. So glad they are an "A" rated school! They have worked hard to earn it and they deserve it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2011

My children and I absolutely love Conley Elementary. Contrary to some parents being disappointed with the current principal, I do not agree. I was honored to be a member of the Principal Site Council. this council is open to all parents and allows us to have a voice in the safety and concerns of the students. The principal is caring and personable. She and front office staff know my daughter and son names. Teachers are awesome and kind. My son always says due to his kindergarten teacher looping to first grade, is the reason why he is smart. I will continually ask for an open boundry exemption until 6th grade is completed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2011

I see that many parents of children at Conley are pleased with the CATS program. But what about those children that are academically advanced but don't have that "special thing" that the CATS tests look for. I have one of those kids and she is constantly in trouble because she is bored in her classroom. She learns more at home and from the library than she does at school. The teachers are nice but the rooms are overcrowded even though the principal says they have capacity to take on the students from Erie that is closing. It's too bad there isn't a program for kids that really excel but don't make it into CATS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2010

I'm surprised at those who believe the current principal at Conley is not as good as the previous principal. I'm a parent of a 4th grader and have been at Conley since 1st grade and have found tremendous improvements since the new principal took over. For example, the previous principal was never seen at student pickup, but the new principal is there keeping your kids safe. She has addressed the open gates (left open by parents and not her) by the kindergarten (previous principal failed). She's been working on getting a new front gate that can be closed (safety doesn't allow the current gate to be closed) which the previous principal failed to do. The new principal came to Conley when the financial condition of Chandler schools began to feel the economic meltdown and still gets things done. I can only comment on the teachers my child has/had 10!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

I rate this school 3 Principal 1 Parent involvement 5 Safety and Discipline 2. School is not what it use to be. its very sad
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

We had several wonderful teachers at this school and enjoyed the open campus as well as the fun activities and school spirit the former principal fostered. However, we took our children out of this school one year after the new principal came along. Parent concerns are not taken seriously and she is not an effective leader of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2009

Yes, a lot of great teachers have moved on, but please know that there are still great teachers at Conley! I have had one child start and complete Conley, and I have one more finishing up next year. I have had no complaints even with the new principal. Yes, things are different, but my child is still receiving an equitable education. Thank you to Paul Gaillard, Halle S., Linda Ryan, Michelle Anderson, Jill Herig, and many others for still making Conley a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2009

The school would benefit by having a new Prinicpal who was more interactive with the children and the parents. She is not personable and easy to talk too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2008

the best school because i learn and its fun and i have lots of friends and i have agreat teacher !
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 13, 2008

Conley is a great school with many opportunities for enrichment. My daughter has been going there for 5 years and loves it! The teachers are very good!! The principal is a breath of fresh air. The change is good for Conley.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2007

I am also the parent of a CATS student (mine is in the 1st grade) I researched long and hard where to put my daughter. I have been very happy with the experience. The children and doing interesting and varied activities and the staff are very friendly. My daughter is a sensitive child and yet has no complaints about the classroom or the school. I agree that the pickup process is chaotic so I would recommend picking up your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2007

My daughter is in the 3rd grade CATS program at Conley. She has grown leaps and bounds academically from the previous year at another school. I find that she is challenged in a caring environment with wonderful teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2007

I'm a picky parent when it comes to my daughter s education and I have to say that the CATS program at Conley is top rate. Its FREE public education and EXCELLENT - which is a combination that is not easy to find! My advice to any Chandler parent is to get your child tested and if they pass (they need a 97% in one of three areas) this is the BEST option around. As far as Conley goes as a school my only complaint is that drop off and especially pick up is chaos and security seems a bit lacking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2007

The world is ever changing and Conley was in need of a change. New staff members were not the caliber as some of the other teachers on staff. Mrs. Alexander is bringing a sense of calmness and 'fun' back to the campus, while still maintaining the professionalism and quality education Conley is known for. The negativity felt last year seems to have left with the staff and the administration. It's good to see the students and teachers enjoying their time together again. Change is a process and I hope everyone is patient while the changes are coming about. It will be good for Conley.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2007

The role models my students have from their teachers are incredible. The teachers here are always taking classes and keeping with up to date on information concerning education. I trust that they are educated, fair, fun, and providing the best education possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2006

Conley is great school! I would highly recommend it to anyone. I currently have two students attending Conley and one that attended for 7 years and is now in JR High. The staff are always working on bettering themselves and improving the school. They have micro society that puts kids in real life situations and shows them how what they are learning in the classroom will help them in the real world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2006

Mrs. Huggins was my kid's 2nd grade teacher, she is wonderful and very details. We miss you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2006

Principal is impossible to get in touch with. I was told, before school started, that teachers had recent education regarding ADHD. I was also told that the teacher that my child was to have was experienced with children with ADHD. This was not the case. The counselor was not even up to date on most current research. Teacher still thought that bad behavior was just result of a problem child, NOT a child with a problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 46% 42%
Hispanic 29% 42%
Asian 11% 3%
Black 11% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 6%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 38%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

500 S Arrowhead Dr
Chandler, AZ 85224
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 812-6200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT