Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hamilton High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

49 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 22, 2008

Hamilton is really a wonderful school. In just 10 years, it has set high standards for its students and reaches above level in all areas, which compete highly to the top schools in the state. This layout is quite the work of art, besides the fact that it's a bit small for the amount of students it holds, but we cope. Their motives are to send every student to college, and guest speakers are in and out of the classrooms delivering encouragement. There are plenty classes you can take to expand your horizon, if you will, and teachers are all willing to help. The career center is a great place to plan on classes to take in the future, and where you want to go to school after you graduate. I love going here!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 17, 2007

As a current student at Hamilton High School, I must say it is an excellent school. We exceed in athletics, academics, and the arts. This school has a great foundation under it and is everything any parent could hope for for their child's education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 9, 2007

The semester I spent at this school was the worst semester of my life. The curriculum is too constricting and the schedule is detrimental to the students' time management skills. However, the biggest problem was the size of the school.The campus is much too small for the amount of students it holds, making hallways very dangerous. Hamilton does have a few good teachers, as I recall, but if you get stuck with a bad one they don't cater to your requests. It's very hard to get ahead in this school for the mass of the student body makes it hard to get noticed.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 26, 2006

I graduated from HHS when it first opened I was really happy to attend HHS. Staff and teachers are all very caring. The only issue with the school was that it was a closed campus but I think it was a good thing because it kept students from ditching.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 26, 2006

I graduated from Hamilton in 2002. The school lunches are nothing but fattening foods. I started ditching regularly my junior year. Missed 20+ days of the last semester. I got caught once. Senior year I missed 20+ days each semester and was never caught. I still graduated but was rarely there. There was a handful of great teachers that really cared. So watch your kids there.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 12, 2006

Hamilton is a lovely school with a diverse set of teachers, a great campus, and great extracurricular activities. Of course, as in many schools it does have a few problems such a overcrowding, but I can assure you there is not a 'serious drug problem' I have been at this school for 3 years now and have never been confronted with drugs at all. Hamilton is a great school, and I would reccomend it to anyone!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 8, 2006

I agree with the comments regarding the academics, but they have serious drug problems at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

The teachers and counselors are wonderful. If all our educators were so caring and responsive, our educational system would thrive. I'm thrilled my son is attending Hamilton and would highly recommend this school to any prospective resident.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2006

This school has wonderful academic programs and extracuricular activities. And the students and staff are wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2005

great sports, over crowded, teachers care
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2005

This is an amazing school! Enrol your children here! Beautiful campus, diverse! Simply amazing!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 10, 2005

Quality of academic programs: This school has highly trained teachers that a are gladly willing to help students if neccesary. They bring forth a 'benchmark' or a moderately difficult test every 3 weeks or so to train for the AIMS (which must be passed by senior year or graduation will be declined) Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities: There is a massive amount of clubs avalible for joining at HHS. As far as class avaliblility goes, it becomes a bit iffy when you register a week or so after the school opened for registration. Level of parent involvement: Hamilton high school's level of parent involvement isn't what you would call great, but it holds steady at average.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2005

Great School. High academic standards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2005

My daughter Amanda entered 9th grade in July 2005 and is in honors classes, speech and debate and chorus. She is acclimating nicely to the large physical size and enrollment of Hamilton High and is attending her first social dance this evening!Her teachers are proficient and the student body in general is friendly and welcoming. I look forward to Amanda prospering here these next four years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2005

My son just started attending Hamilton after spending K-8 in a conservative, small charter school with a strict dress code and conduct rules. He wanted a change. We were afraid of sending him to such a big public school with all the regular temptations and potential problems. So far we are pleased. He feels safe, and the mentoring program they have for new freshmen is outstanding. You have to be a bit aggressive there if you want to find out information or answers to questions, but he seems to have excellent teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2005

In general my graduated daughter had a great experience at Hamilton. Most of her teachers were very good, fair and accessible. I would recommend the school to others. The two complaints we did have: 1)She took multiple AP courses and exams the last two years - she did exceptional except for Gov't/Economics and Calculus even though she had straight A's. The test material did not match the material studied in class. Also, the school favors sports programs over arts programs in an extreme matter - revenue, trips, sponsorship, etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2005

Hamilton High School was a wonderful school for me. Even though the school was big, and the enrollment numbers made me feel like a small fish in a big pond, the numerous extracurricular opportunities helped me feel connected to my school and the community. Having such a large campus helped me better prepare for my college career. I graduated from Hamilton in 2002, and plan to graduate from Northern Arizona University in May of 2006.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 5, 2005

Great athletics program, clean wonderful school. Nothing but positive things to say.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 25, 2004

Hamilton High School is a great school for students, and it has one of the best sports organizations in Arizona.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2004

Hamilton High is a beautiful school with a lot of good things going for it. However, because they are such a large school, students easily get lost. They don't follow up on student absences, so students can easily get away with skipping classes, etc. There doesn't seem to be a lot of one on one care for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

879 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

880 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

871 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 42%
Hispanic 21% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 13% 3%
Black 10% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 21%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (480) 883-5020

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Badminton
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Badminton
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3700 S Arizona Ave.
Chandler, AZ 85248
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 812-7600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Basis Chandler
Chandler, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT