Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Four Peaks Elementary School

Public | 4-5 | 274 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 20, 2011

This school has been wonderful for my son. He struggled with us moving often and ADHD. I originally placed him in a Charter School and was very disappointed. I had heard negative things about 4 Peaks and was very pleasantly surprised. My son was challenged, given extra work when needed, and most of all, given his self esteem back. As a child with ADHD, his self-perception was that he was just a bad kid. Teachers and administration worked with me to help develop a plan to regain his confidence. He is not on Honor Roll and receiving citizenship awards, due to teachers who took the extra time to work with him. The new principal is great and very involved. The teachers take the time to serve the kids needs. The PTO sponsored homework lab is an amazing resource. Those who take their kids over the hill to Scottsdale are truly missing out on the individual service provided in a smaller school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2011

If I could give this school a negative stars I would...avoid at all cost. I had 5 kids in the school system and had different problems with all! It all starts at the top, Administration doesn't listen and your child needs to fit into their box to learn, its almost cult like, speak up or disagree and you become the outcast. The communication is VERY poor and the principal at this school is more interested in making friends with parents and redecorating the lobby! Its a complete joke and VERY tragic for such a wonderful city. They need to shut down and start over, or incorporate the schools into Scottsdale. FH doesn't have the resources to offer the success the kids deserve. My kids now attend Scottsdale schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2011

I have two children that went to this school, one excelled because she is an amazing motivated student who learns quickly and easily. Although we re-entered the FH school system after 2 years in another state where she had been in their accelerated classes and Four Peaks would not put her in the gifted classes her first year back. My other child had 2 very difficult years at this school before I took him out of this district. They tested him and he indeed did test academically gifted, however, the learning environment was very inflexible and the administration was slow to react to his needs. He was bullied and punished unjustly and I was not informed for weeks, even though I volunteered at the school every week. His last year at the school set him back academically instead of meeting his needs. It has taken 1/2 the year in his new school to get him back to being able to learn in a classroom environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2010

This school administration and teachers are in need of a major "renovation". The principal is retiring, and that is a positive. My son has been the victim of this schools lack of responsibility and hiding behind policy and uses the budget restrictions as an excuse for everything. Front office staff is rude and unapproachable. Access to your children is minimal which leads to poor parent involvement. Go to Anazasi if you can.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2009

We moved here from another country in Europe and our child loved this school from the start. We were very lucky with our home room and math teachers who were exceptionally great in so many ways. The art and music teachers are terrible and discouraging. Mrs. Romans the principal has been approachable and helpful all along. We are happy to be here and hope for another great year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2009

Four Peaks has provided a challenging and effective program for my gifted daughter. Their 'whole child' approach has helped her be a well rounded, curious, excited learner. There are many choices available, but Four Peaks is the best choice for families who want their child to not only be taught, but also encouraged to learn independently.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2007

My 3rd Grade daughter goes to this school. I think the Principle Mrs. Roman is wonderful. She is definitely is involved, cares and is really on top of things. I also find her to have things well organized and if there is a problem she gets right to the source and is easy to communicate with. As with any school the luck of the draw with a teacher is key and plays a large roll in your child's education and motivation. Some at this school are excellent and some are qualified but not as nurturing but over all I think it is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2007

When we came to this school, the principal had a meeting with me and my son to get a feel for what class he would fit into best. I was very impressed with Principal Romans and I still am. I think she knows the kids and cares about the quality of education. We came from California schools and I believe this school is a lot better acedemically. They also try to round the child character with Christian values. They try to teach organization by encouraging use of an agenda. I think this is great! They also try teach the kids responsibility. Overall, I believe it is a very positive learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2006

Teachers: great. Extra curricular activities: lots. Principal: unresponsive to parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2005

Quality academic programs with available extracurricular activities and a fair level of parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2005

Four Peaks has been a good environment for both of our children. They lack extracurricular activities to enhance their imagination. Parent involvement is very high.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2004

Both my children have gone to school here. Seems like every grade had teachers that are considered 'avoid at all costs' by most parents. In one case, so many children transfered out of a teachers class at the request of the parents that other teachers were forced to handle the extra load of kids. Some teachers are wonderful, but some are very negative and disorganized and I've seen cases where teachers blame the student for their disorganization. The good teachers seem to leave the schools in this district for greener pastures.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2003

We have been, w/ 2 other children, K-12 in another school district, in another state. Doesn't compare to Four Peaks. Great school, great staff & this school is great for my child, as she is getting an awesome education thanks to Four Peaks!!! Also, the leadership of the Principal & Vice Principal is outstanding!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 14% 5%
Hispanic 6% 43%
Black 4% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 26%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (480) 664-5499

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15414 North McDowell Mountain Road
Fountain Hills, AZ 85268
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 664-5400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Basis Scottsdale
Scottsdale, AZ





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT