Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Neely Traditional Academy

Public | PK-6

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 9 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

53 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2005

GPS Traditional Academy uses the Spalding Method for Language Arts. This back to basics approach, even in 1/2 day kindergarten, is amazing. The time on task is used to its fullest. Young students are reading at a quicker, fluent rate. Math is accelerated at almost a full school year. Extra-curricular music, PE and Art are part of the regular day. Band and Strings are available before school, as to not take away from the regular classroom time. Parent involement is key and expected. There is a strong PTO that is supportive of administration, teachers, and students. Parental classroom volunteerism is stongly encouraged. This is a wonderful school of choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2005

This school has motivated my children to learn and enjoy learning. The teachers and principal really take the time to challenge my kids to do more.The class size is managable for the teacher. After being at a school of more than 1200 students, this school is perfect for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2005

Structured back to basics program with emphasis in disciplined classroom environment. Test scores are definitely above most other schools (public or charter). Daily homework coordinating with classroom activities. Students are encouraged to do their best and improve each week. Less emphasis on music, art, PE (these are attended every 7 days) in order to devote more time to the basics. Parents are encouraged to participate in the classroom and/or by providing supplies as needed. No door to door sales for fundraising - more internal family fundraising is emphasized. Good carpool system available in addition to a few bus pick-up locations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

We have had much success with our 5th grader at GPS Traditional (Neely) Elementary school. The structure of the curriculum does help with keeping the children focus on the basics and less on the extracurricular activities. Although my son misses the competitiveness of sport activities of his previous school, he has been able to direct that energy on the academic side which has elevated his self steam and eagerness. This school has been a great experience for all of us. Highly recoomended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2005

My kindergarten student is currently attending this school and we love it. The teachers and staff are excellent and the atmosphere is casual and fun even though the education is serious.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2005

Good program for A.R and A.Math. No advanced english and writing. Principal Ms Nance just left school, it is a big loss to the school. School provide breakfast and lunch, quality is not so good. Computer skill teaching was weak.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2004

GPS Traditional Academy is a wonderful school. My daughter is in 1st grade, and her reading ability is beyond many of the 1st graders we know who attend other area schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2004

Neely is a school that emphasizes the fundamentals of learning. I feel that they take the children as far as they can go in Math and Reading. The school could use some help in the writing/languauge arts area, but not unlike many Gilbert schools. It is a great choice for my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2004

Besides the academic achievements, parents who care [about] the enviroment and the facility of this school should think it twice. It is located quite close to a funeral home and the playground is just next to a power transmission substation. It is within a very undesirable area. The school buildings really need an immediate renovation.


Posted September 13, 2003

My child is in first grade and was at Neely last year also. I cannot say enough good things about this school. My child was reading first grade level books at the end of last year. The skills she learned have already taken her far, and this is just the begining of her schooling. She looks forward to school every day and continues to wonderfully. This is all to say I hope the district recognizizes the good thing they have going and reward the school for a job very well done and prepare for the kids to move on to jr. and sr. high in an environement they can continue to reach their full potential. The best part of all it's a public school and we have aready paid the tuition thru our taxes!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2003

I can't praise Neely, or as it is now named GPS Traditional Academy, highly enough. I am so impressed at the quality education coming from this school. Every day I see homework that emphasizes the Reading, Language and Mathematics skills that my children are learning. The principal and teachers work closely with the parents, and are completely devoted to each child's education. Parents are very involved in volunteering in classrooms, and reading with kids. The school PTO devotes tons of time to fundraising activities that are fun for everyone and benefits both the teachers and the kids. We may be giving up holiday art projects and those wonderful cookie dough sales other schools like so much, but I for one am thankful for that. I see serious future scholars coming from GPS Traditional Academy. I hope and pray the Gilbert School District is preparing to launch an academically challenging Junior High, because these kids are growing up, and they are being taught to have higher educational standards at Neely.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2003

In my opinion Neely is a school where your child's educational growth takes priority. It's focus is not on the arts, although it is still included in their cirriculum. It is a structured enviornment, but not in such a way that the classrooms are lacking positive and encouraging feelings. My children have experienced one other Gilbert Public School, and have been at Neely now for 3 years. The individual attention to their educational needs has been wonderful. The support I was promised when interveiwing Neely has been there for us from the start. The other school could never have met my children's educational needs like Neely has. The principal and teachers we have gotten to know have all been professional and completely devoted to my children. They have been supportive and encouraging, and open to change. My greatest concern now is where my kids will go to Junior High School. Gilbert needs to carry on this ' Neely' type of education all the way thru High Scool!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2003

Neely Elementary is the best of the best and I don't understand why anyone with a child in Gilbert would have their student anywhere else. It is like getting a private education from a public school. The teaching staff is very structured, and has very specific goals for each child. Time is spent learning and focusing on academics. Our students are pushed to their highest potential, while being taught respect, excellent study habits and the importance of education. And they read and read and read! Wendy Nance leads the school as principal, she is absolutely awesome! If you are looking for an art project to come home for every holiday, Neely is not the school for you. If you are looking for an environment to challenge your child and academically prepare them for Junior High, Neely is the place.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 42%
Asian 16% 3%
Hispanic 8% 42%
Black 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 6%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 12%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

321 W. Juniper Ave.
Gilbert, AZ 85233
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 892-2805

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Edu-Prize
Gilbert, AZ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT