Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ashland Elementary School

Public | PK-6 & ungraded

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

42 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 6, 2007

I have two children who attend Ashland Ranch and we love this school. Every Teacher we have had from Kdg. - 4th has been wonderful! Although both of my children have had all A's, I feel they have been challenged and are consitently learning. I sometimes feel the homework is a bit too much especaially for the younger grades. All of my experiences with the Teachers have been great. The one time I needed the Principals assitance she was wonderful, helpful, caring & professional. I hope our future years here at Ashland Ranch are just as Great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2007

Parent involvement is great at Ashland Ranch. We have been happy with the programs offered and just amazed at the wonderful dedicated teachers. We feel the teachers make the school, even with the negative administration. Teacher quality is high and outweighs lack of principal leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2007

I enjoy Ashland Ranch Elementary school. My children have had good experiences there. I really like the teachers and the activities they do with the children. After school on the campus is a bit scary though. Only Kindergarten and first grade teachers escort their students out and the rest of the children run wild to their destinations. It is very unsafe with all the running and little ones get knocked over. Other than that I like the school overall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2007

Principle over reacts and doesn't communicate well with parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2007

Poor communication with parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

This is my son's first year here at Ashland Ranch...He is in the 1st grade and I have nothing but good things to say about his teacher and his progress so far....The staff are always so informative and helpful...he is also enrolled in the VIK program and loves it....Keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2006

This is my child's first year (second grader) at Ashland Ranch and so far I am very disappointed! He on the other hand loves his teacher, which means a lot to me. However, my first parent contact/invitation with this school ie curriculum night was not good. I left so confused and very uninformed! It was unorganized and very unprofessional! Parents, teachers and the principal all standing around looking at these posters of circles and rectangles filled with words! Very confusing! Never experienced such a uncanny curriculum night quite like this before!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2006

There are many professional teachers at Ashland Ranch however, the administration is a disaster! I've had a few opportunities to meet with the principal and each time I've left with many unanswered questions,confused and disappointed! Very concerned parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2005

My son is in first grade, so far this experience with this school is not the greatest, or far from it. My concern has been so far with the school being so crowded. Security at the school is horrible, and pick up or drop off is worst. No computer courses either.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2005

I have attended several schools in GPS, and I cannot believe how fabulous this school is. What a wonderful school, the front office, the teachers, the principle, I don't know how it is possible to have every contact I have made from the nurse to the principle, be positive, but it has been my experience. Wow!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2005

I don't like the principal of this school. She is rather harsh with the children and is wishy-washy in her disciplne. The front office is something to be desired! The teachers are good with the children, strict but loving and the ones my children had always kept their classrooms controlled. The curriculum moves too slowly for those students who are advanced and need daily challenges. Way too much review in the early grades (1st-3rd) with too much emphasis on the mundane. This is definitely not the school for the child that needs to be challenged!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2005

As compared to many other elementary schools that I and my children have been affiliated with, Ashland Ranch Elementary is definitely one of the best. The staff are truly committed and professional. The campus is first rate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2005

Ashland Ranch Elementary is an excellent school. Yes, the front office can be a bit curt at times, however their main priority is to make sure that classes are not disrupted unnecessarily and that the campus remains as safe as possible, and that is an enormous task for anyone with a school this size. You will not find a better kindergarten teacher than Mrs. Motroni anywhere - she is top of the line. Wow! All of our teachers at this school have been extraordinary, with maybe the exception of one. This is a terrific environment in which to have your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2005

My child has been in the all day kindergarten class this year and has enjoyed it hugely. She loves her teachers and has really improved her spelling and handwriting over the year. The school is very well designed with lots of wide bright corridors and pleasant rooms plus large outside facilities. This is a great school and I would recommend it to any parent looking for a caring environment for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2004

While Ashland Ranch may have some good teachers, it severly lacks in regards to the Principal. We were in Ashland Ranch district for a couple years until Spectrum Elementary was complete. Spectrum is by far a better school with better leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2004

Our children have attended Ashland Ranch since it opened. We have been very impressed with the teachers in grades K-3 (no experience above, yet), especialy 1st grade. We have one child that needs special education and we've been pleased with the school psych and speech teacher. The principal has listened to our concerns and has been eager to help work out issues that have come up. However, we do feel that there are issues involving her leadership and communication skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2003

School has excellent resources and some great teachers. However I believe it is poorly managed and Principal has extremely poor people and organizational skills. Interactions with front office have been poor at best. Kindergarten registration process is laughable. There is a very involved PTSO and the facility is great and I see teachers doing a great job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2003

Unhappy with the one size fits all approach to teaching. I would like to see smaller class sizes, more hands on teaching and structure in the classrooms. Not happy with Principal's attitude and lack of parental input for school.


Posted May 1, 2003

Mrs. Giannetta, 3 grade teacher Ashland Ranch is totally awesome! I could not ask for a better teacher for my child! She is loving,caring,organized,active and just plain super!


Posted April 24, 2003

It seems there is only one good teacher in each grade and with it being an extremely overcrowed school, the chances of getting a good teacher are slim. We've been at this school 2 years now and have been disappointed in the principal and the way things are run. Teachers are not focusing in on their own classes and individual needs but are mass producing everything instead of tailoring teaching to their class and children. I've seen test scores consistently drop. 3/4 of the year seems to be review with no new challenges. There are some wonderful teachers, no doubt. I think this school has alot of potential but but I don't see it working so far.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 42%
Hispanic 17% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Black 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 13%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1945 S. Ashland Ranch Road
Gilbert, AZ 85295
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 917-9900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT