Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

San Tan Elementary School

Public | PK-8 | 967 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 10 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

64 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 22, 2006

My child teacher is nice and so have the past teachers, but I get a sense that they are frustrated with management and it is reflected in their style. They are also very inconsistent we have had problems with the bus service, lunch room catering dept, I just think they are busting at their seams.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2006

It is becoming evident that this school still has some 'quirks' to work out. There needs to be much more communication between school and district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2005

I have tried to be supportive of this school. I believe that there are many improvements this school needs. I am seriously thinking of pulling my children and homeschooling until next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2005

Great School. Have had no problems with teachers. They need some type of dress code.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2005

My son was in Kindergarten last year. I was very pleased with his teacher and the curriculum. I volunteered in his classroom often and noticed how structured and organized the class was.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2005

I think that there needs to be a few more teachers monitoring the campus as school starts and ends. I hear the older kids sometimes behaving poorly and I worry about the younger kids and the influence this may have on them. But when my child is in this school I am confident that the faculty is giving my child a great education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2005

The principal is not aggressive enough. I think the school grew too fast and no one was prepared. I know that two more classrooms were added, but they are so small it's hardley worth the amount of money that was spent. Also , there are no lockers. My older child has lug his 20 pound backpack every day to school. Also, no lockers for P.E I think there are some problems that need to be fixed before next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2005

In the last 5 years, my son has been to 4 different schools in maricopa county. Out of all of these schools, san tan elementary is by far the best school he has every attended. Between the teachers and office staff, they treat everyone like family! I'm really sorry Mr walters, the principal is leaving this year, he has got to be the best principal that I have ever encountered! I can go online and review my son's grades at any time and i communicate via email with his teacher on a daily basis. The teachers there go over and beyond their normal duties when it comes to caring about their students. My son's teacher will find time either early in the morning or late at night to respond to emails to the parents. Higley school district is just so much more better/different than the rest! they care and understand..:)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

I am extremely happy with San Tan elementry. Yes, they are a new district and have a few kinks to work out, but everyone actually wants to be there (teachers). I personally love the new teachers; so enthusiastic. They make learning fun and they have bright ideas to share with teachers that have been teaching a long time. My child is in HATS (gifted program), and is learning at such a great and not stressful pace. I volunteer in my kids classrooms and help out with other school activities. I see first hand how everyone works together. We moved from a Kyrene school and truthfully, I was terrified! To my surprise.....I and my kids have never been happier. San Tan goes the extra mile. New district does NOT mean less dedicated! Every district started somewhere!! San Tan is just starting out great! So thankful we moved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2005

Very pleased with the school so far. My daughter is in Kindergarten and has learned to read. Parent involvement seems very good and the teacher's seem to be very caring of their students.I want my daughter to continue at this school but the boundaries are being changed
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2004

The majority of the teachers are new to teaching. The teachers don't seem to know how to get the students to comprehend what they are being taught. It's a new school, so they are still in the 'trial and error' stage. Just seems disorganized. I am currently looking for a new school for my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2004

As a parent I am very disapointed with San Tan elementary. When the children are out for any reason it is totally up to them to get notes from other students. I find it to be in complete disrespect to the child to have to beg to another classmate who may or maynot take the same quality (better or worse)of notes. I have seen times when a child has gone to the teacher to ask for the hand outs, or assignments and told, there are no more copies as someone must have taken too many.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2004

I am really disappointed that the district would rather focus on getting test scores up in math than to continue on the intense reading program they have been doing. My son really did great last year with his teacher -so much patience and excitement about reading. Really made him love reading. I haven't seen that kind of focus this year yet. I think San Tan would be a better school if they didn't focus so much on test scores and construction but more important, [on what] each individual childs needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2004

I've been rather disappointed with this school in many aspects. The number of grades (K-8) is too large of a scale and the layout of the school is very poor. Dropoff of children is difficult and the younger children are at the furthest point from the dropoff, making it impossible for parents to see if children actually make it to their class lineup safely. My child's teacher seems very inexperienced and disorganized - inconsistent with any sort of regular communications (newsletters for instance), and often runs out of supplies (paper for projects, and other classroom items). The school seems to always be asking for more money - from fundraisers, to unordered pictures, computer games, and on and on. I'm hoping the Higley School District will merge with the Gilbert School District and make some much needed improvements.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2004

My son entered this school in 2003. I have not been very pleased. He is obviously bored and no one has offered accelerated material for him. I have asked for it, but not had any back up. I feel that keeping a child excited about learning is worth five minutes time to find him a more challenging activity to do. But sadly, my child has stopped loving school since attending San Tan. He loves his teacher, enjoys the other children, but he doesn't want to go because 'it's boring.' He feels that he already knows the curricula, and based on the homework sent home and my attendance in the classroom numerous times, he is right. I'm seeking another school for next year. I will say this. I have loved every person I have talked to. The staff is friendly and outgoing. I think they could turn this school around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2004

I feel that the principal of this school is lacking in many areas especially where the care of the students is concerned. He is unresponisive and passive to parent concerns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2003

We moved here last year and everyone from the principal on down were amazing! It is so refreshing to go to a school where they challenge your children and truly care about them. Two thumbs up! Highly recommend!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2003

It is a new school and there are stil bugs to work out, but I like the fact that because the school is so young, the policies and practices can be influenced by the current needs of the community/students. A great school is being developed here- the staff is caring and my children are happy there. As time passes San Tan Ranch Elementary will prove to be a great starting point for our great Gilbert kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2003

I am really looking forward to a new principal and my kid finally being academically challenged. Under the past administration too much time was spent on fluff and unimportant stuff. This district does not promote a challenging academic curriculum.


Posted May 8, 2003

Teacher and principal interaction with students is wonderful. The school has caring and hardworking teachers. My children are able to stay after school and work on homework or get extra help in those difficult subjects. They enjoy participating in all the fun activities such as Power House, pajama days and Festivals.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
87%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 42%
Hispanic 21% 42%
Asian 4% 3%
Black 3% 5%
Two or more races 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 18%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3443 E. Calistoga
Gilbert, AZ 85297
Phone: (480) 279-7000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT