Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
40 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 53 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Challenger Basic School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 14, 2016
- a community member
You won't find more dedicated, loving, and effective teachers anywhere else! CBS teachers are the best of the best.

Challenger Basic School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 14, 2016
- a community member
Teachers offer Homework Club right after school until 4:00. It's so convenient because by the time the kids get picked up, their homework is already done!


Challenger Basic School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted August 14, 2016
- a community member
The curriculum is fast-paced and quite advanced. If it's a good fit for your child, the quality of education is incredible!

Challenger Basic School 5

Posted August 14, 2016
- a community member
Challenger Basic School has THE BEST teachers who have mastered the art of making all children feel loved and confident while providing an incredible academic education. The quaint feel to the campus allows for the teachers and staff to know and support the kids on an individual basis, and the pure happiness the children exude is inspiring! I love the high standards the school upholds and how the teachers nurture the students' growth in personal responsibility. These loving and dedicated teachers + the sweetest kids around = one amazing sanctuary for learning and clearly one of the best schools in the nation!

Challenger Basic School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted July 25, 2016
- a parent
They are trained to be overly punitive. Even the nice ones do nice things or say things, then ask you not to tell the principal they were nice. I can't tell you how many times I heard, "just don't tell Mrs. Tobin I did this".


Challenger Basic School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted July 25, 2016
- a parent
Even my straight A student was doing homework for 2 hours every night. If we skipped for sports or so on, she would be punished harshly at school.

Challenger Basic School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted July 25, 2016
- a parent
This is what they claim to be doing by continuing to be hard on the students. I do not think "grit" in childhood comes from being beat down. I believe it comes from being in a safe place and being allowed to find success and failure in a safe way.

Challenger Basic School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted July 25, 2016
- a parent
They develop fear of authority. Before I left, I was on the campus twice in one week. Both times I observed a different child sitting on a specific bench crying. I wondered why no one was assisting these children and why they were there on both occasions. They do not care for children's emotional well being at this school, only producing high test scores.


Challenger Basic School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted July 25, 2016
- a parent
A school that promotes bullying is not promoting any of these positive attributes. As a matter of fact, after four years at the school, my final straw to leave was having other parents call me to tell me their kids were reporting my child being abused in the classroom.

Challenger Basic School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted July 25, 2016
- a parent
When the principal and teachers are bullies, the children follow suit. Number one complaint I heard from students there was bullying. They are taught to find the weakest link and bully them by the principal and teachers.

Nearby schools

Challenger Basic School
1315 North Greenfield Rd, Gilbert, AZ  85234
(480) 830-1750
Last modified Challenger Basic School is a Charter school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top