Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
86 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (7 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (6 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (6 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (9 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (8 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (7 responses)
characters left.
There are 155 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Heritage Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 19, 2016
- a community member
Ms. Ashley has made kindergarten such an amazing year for my son.... He was bored in the beginning of the year bc he already knew the stuff she was going over, so she found extra stuff for him to do and help with. She always had encouriging words for her students as well.

Heritage Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 08, 2016
- a parent
I have three children in this school with multiple teachers. There's no way to thank just one. We are military and moved here at the beginning of the school year and I was worried about how the kids would adjust. This school has been amazing. From the awesome teachers, to the friendly, helpful staff. The school has made us feel like we are home. We stay well informed of all the daily activities and happenings to come. If you're looking for a school that supports the community, makes the learning environment fun and loves your children as if they were their own, then Hertiage Elementary School is where it's at.


Heritage Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 08, 2016
- a parent
The school has five pillars of characteristics that are taught throughout the day. Trustworthiness, respect, caring, citizenship and fairness. The kids learn these traits and it is evident.

Heritage Elementary School 5

Posted May 08, 2016
- a parent
This school has it all! Amazing staff and awesome teachers. A fun learning environment with a family feel.

Heritage Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
Thanks Mrs. Schursky!!! You've helped to my my child's 1st grade experience an amazing one! I wish we could take you to 2nd grade with us!


Heritage Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted March 04, 2016
- a student
One students accusation is enough to condemn another. There is no fairness from the top down here.

Heritage Elementary School 5

Posted February 02, 2016
- a community member
Staff and Teachers very attentive. Lovely school. Good meals. Email and text system is great way to keep parents informed. Offeres after school program. Greenhouse, Falcons Nest, good electives! Overall a Great School!

Heritage Elementary School 5

Posted December 13, 2015
- a parent
I have a Kindergartener and an 8th grader in Heritage. They love their teachers and the school. They don't love the dress code, but I do. The uniforms are great.


Heritage Elementary School 1

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
This school, while I'm sure has some excellent teachers, has too many deeply rooted systemic issues that have a significant negative impact on children. I put my son in there for a change of pace from the public school system and it was nothing but a nightmare from the very first week. I can only speak to his 6th grade teachers but it appears that some are more interested in issuing pink slips and lunch detentions for things that should be handled in class and mostly for nothing more than being annoyed. As an example, his homeroom teacher issued him a lunch detention because he raised his hand to ask a question about an assignment. Why? Because the teacher could not get his class to be quiet so he could hear and because my son called him on it as the reason he was asking, he was rebuked and punished. Luckily, there was another teacher who overruled that one but that is but one of many examples. Again, he adored most of his teachers but the few that are more concerned with pink slips than doing their jobs had a significant impact on his grades. The principal and vice principal are ineffective and show little or no objectivity. They label things as they see fit and again are more interested in punishing kids for being kids than they are in educating them. To top it off, there is no communication between the teachers and parents. Student confidentiality and privacy are a joke since they are more than willing to divulge confidential student information in public without identifying whether or not that person has a right to the information in direct violation of federal law (FERPA). When brought to the principal's attention not only did he NOT do anything about it but rather, he tried to justify it. I am not a whining parent of a problem child who refuses to deal with his child's behavior; quite the opposite. While he isn't perfect, he has NEVER hated school so much. Since transferring to the public middle school, he is A's and A+'s is all his classes, gets frequent compliments from his teachers on his behavior, and all enjoy having him in class. He is happy and is enjoying school again with NO discipline problems. Kid or school? I doubt it's the kid. Unless you have no other choice, keep your kids away from this place if you care about their success.

Heritage Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted December 03, 2015
- a community member
keep your hands to yourself and mind your own business is something I've heard my grandkids repeat.

Nearby schools

Heritage Elementary School
6805 N. 125th Ave, Glendale, AZ  85031
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 155 reviews. (623) 742-3956
Last modified Heritage Elementary School is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top