Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
55 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 83 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Arrowhead Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted January 31, 2016
- a community member
Thank you, Mrs. Hunt, for being a breath of fresh air for Arrowhead, and for always being positive, upbeat, and a great role model for students and your staff.

Arrowhead Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted January 31, 2016
- a community member
The teachers at this school seem to recognize that students who work hard throughout the day should not be given loads of unnecessary homework. They see homework as a tool to enhance learning, rather than a torture device.


Arrowhead Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted January 31, 2016
- a community member
All Things E.Q. has been implemented, with an emphasis on recognizing "the human in everyone", from the administration down. Kids are regularly rewarded for demonstrating kindness and compassion toward each other, as well as other important character traits. Character Counts Assemblies are just one way students who demonstrate these traits are celebrated!

Arrowhead Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted January 31, 2016
- a community member
Arrowhead holds students to a high level of accountability in all facets of school life.

Arrowhead Elementary School 5

Posted January 31, 2016
- a community member
Great school, great staff, and great kids! Thank you, Arrowhead, for providing such a positive learning environment!


Arrowhead Elementary School 2

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
Poor communication from the teachers. I thought it was just the Kindergarten teacher but now that my kiddo is in first grade, the communication is poor there too. I think they all need training on classroom management and how to interact with kids in a developmentally appropriate way. Younger children need to be able to fidget and have an outlet for their activity. They should not be expected to sit still for long amounts of time and made to be silent. I was offended that my 5 year old knew what "be quiet so you can hear a pin drop" meant in Kindergarten. I mentor other teachers and can tell you that if I ever walked into a K classroom that was made to be that silent every day, I would be putting that teacher on an improvement plan. My child comes home with countless worksheets that were completed in class. Busy work should be kept at a minimum in primary grades - you're going to BURN THEM OUT. Train your teachers better!

Arrowhead Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
Homework is great! But the amount of worksheets/busy work given during school hours is excessive.

Arrowhead Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
Pointing at students, not learning their names, disciplining them when no clear expectations were set, not following up with a reason why they are being disciplined - none of that develops honesty, integrity, or fairness.


Arrowhead Elementary School 2

Posted August 23, 2015
- a parent
Really seems to be hit and miss with the teachers. Kindergarten teacher was not good at communicating with parents and seemed to think parent teacher conferences were only necessary for the worst students. 1st grade teacher was awesome. 2nd grade teacher was out most of the year, seemed to struggle with classroom management on the occassions that she was there and at the end of the year had the nerve to tell the class " You have been the worst class I've ever had." Wow. How extremely inappropriate. The jury is still out on the 3rd grade teacher. But so far, I'm not impressed. She told the class an inappropriate story about someone who had called the police on her for drinking and driving when supposedly she hadnt been. I get she was trying to teach them about not assumming- knowing the full story before telling, etc. But is that an appropriate story to tell 3rd graders? Unfortunately, I'm seriously considering changing schools.

Arrowhead Elementary School 2

Posted May 01, 2015
- a parent
My son walks on his toes due to a disability. Today he wouldn't even get out of bed which is highly unusual for him. When I asked what was going on he stated he was afraid he would walk on his toes. I asked if he was being teased and he stated yes. But what surprised me most was it is by his teacher! He said she calls him "Tippy Toes". I'm sure she may not being doing it with the intention of hurting him; however, teachers play a significant role in personality development. I would think it is common sense, as a teacher, to know that what you say WILL have a lasting impression on the students. Seems like kids get picked on enough by their peers, do they really need it by teachers?

Nearby schools

Arrowhead Elementary School
7490 West Union Hills Dr, Glendale, AZ  85308
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 83 reviews. (623) 376-4100
Last modified Arrowhead Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top