Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Challenge Charter School

Charter | K-6 | 628 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Glendale

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $140,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $960.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 10 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted March 2, 2009

Dear Parents: Thank you for taking a few minutes of your time to learn more about &/or share some of your experiences at Challenge Charter School. CCS was founded in 1996 by Superintendent, Greg Miller & Executive Director, Pam Miller, my parents. The Millers are still active in the leadership of CCS; and I am honored that they have chosen and support me in my new role as Principal. I am proud to have been working with CCS s outstanding team of educators since 1999. The team at CCS is passionate about putting kids first, offering an optimal educational environment, grounded in the fundamental skills of a hands-on, science-oriented, academic core curriculum. As Arizona s First Official Core Knowledge School our curriculum is integrated and sequential providing a challenging and differentiated learning environment also rich in history, character education, and technology. Recently, a few parents have commented on our testing culture. In response, I confirm that our students, of all backgrounds, consistently score 25 to 40% higher than the state average of both: all schools (~1700); and all charter schools (~485). This accomplishment is something our teachers, school community, parents, and especially students are proud of! So, yes, we do talk about it on campus; we empower and encourage our students to celebrate their achievements. Challenge is proud to offer many unique programs and services. Some of the opportunities at Challenge include: Extended-day Kindergarten, before & after school care, extracurricular classes during the school day (such as art, foreign language, PE, technology), Breakfast/lunch program, caring and highly qualified staff, parent/family nights, and a uniform policy. I encourage all interested parents to join us for one of our several Founders Tour & Informational Sessions this spring. At these tours, we discuss school policies & programs in detail and no question goes unanswered. Lots of information including tour dates is available on our webpage at www.challengecharterschool.net. Call our office today at 602-938-5411to sign up! Principal Wendy Miller

119 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 28, 2008

I am amazed at some of the recent reviews from parents. My daughter is in 6th grade and has been at CCS all her school life. My son is in 7th grade and spent K-6 at CCS. CCS provides positive reinforcement to children. Parents that want their children praised just for trying are raising wimps. In life, it is expected of you to try. You don't get rewarded for trying. If you are at a job, if you do not produce, you are gone. Failure is part of life, and children need to learn early this fact. The nurturing is provided at home. It is not the teacher's job to be the care taker/nurturing parent. The teacher is there to teach and start showing kids what they are going to be facing in real life. CCS teachers as a whole, do great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

Both my daughters were in this school, one has now graduated and the other will start 6th (final) grade in August and considering it a lucky day we found the school - I wish they had joined the school earlier and could stay longer The Principal (Mr Miller), Vice Principal (Ms Wendy Miller) and Teaching staff are passionate about their work and all of the children. Its a wonderful environment. This is a great place to learn and to be a kid!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2008

My Daughter has been attending CCS since kindergarten and is now in 3rd grade this year. She has had excellent teachers all 4 years, and continues to still have relationships with them all.The teachers are great! My Daughter expresses that she has had a wonderful time at this school. The level of education is exceptional and my daughter has always had straight A's to prove it. This year she is in Advanced scholars for her reading and writing. I am also very pleased with the staff's concearn for saftey and the 'no bully' policy! We love CCS!To top it all off this year CCS won the Blue Ribbon Award! Hats off to everone at CCS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2008

CCS is a very good school. My son looks forward to go to the school every single day. He loves his teachers, his friends, his principal. We are very pleased with this school. He is learning so much. I am very happy with the school timings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2008

I am so glad I found Challenge Charter. My son has had the best experience and education that I could ever hope for. My son has learned so much and has had so much fun. His teacher, Ms. Owens, has created her classroom into a learning zone that is warm and friendly. The Kindergarten students know that this is a place to learn, but that learning is fun and rewarding. I can't thank the Kindergarten teachers enough for making my son's 1st year of school such a happy and educational experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2007

I am an old student of Challenge Charter, and I really have to say that CCS gave me the best education I could ever get. Their education took me to the Regional Spelling Bee. I recently went and passed 7th grade thinking, 'Hey, I already knew ALL of the stuff I had learned at my last year at CCS. I am really thankful for my education here, as I know it will give me so much headway in life. I am going into 8th grade right now, and I'm still stuck thinking... 'Will I know all of the things in this grade too???' Well... anyways, I rate this school a 10/10 because of the treatment, the education, and the pure and simple fun I had at CCS. I recommend it to everyone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 18, 2007

My daughter has been attending challenge since 1st grade and this year will be in 4th. She gets a great education from a staff dedicated to just that. The structure in the academics and citizenship is second to none. I admire the dedication the miller family has for the process of core knowledge and look forward to another great year
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2007

My son went to Challenge last year and we are absolutely happy with all the help and excellent teaching enviroment. They also took the class to six field trips and the 'hands on' learning really shows on an everyday basis. We are sending two of our kids this year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2007

I love CCS! My daughter goes to Kindergarten and has excelled beyond my expectations. The teaching staff continues to make sure that she is 'challenged' so she won't get bored with her studies. She absolutely loves 'Specials Day' and enjoys learning about Spanish, Art, Computers and PE. Her reading skills at her age are awesome! Even my youngest daughter has taken an interest in reading now and looks forward in the Fall to being a 'Pirate'! I also love the fact that the older students (5th/6th graders) get involved with mentoring the younger grades. Many thanks to the teachers, staff and the principal for being understanding and available to the parents when we need to vent our issues!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2006

This school has good test scores and a lot of good thing that can be said about,but the school work is not grade level. They worry more about keeping their big name than helping with learning problem kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2006

Challenge is an amazing school. My son is finishing his Kindergarten year and has excelled beyond our expectations. The teachers teach to every student not just one group, they give extra work to the advanced students while taking the time to work with the ones a little bit behind. Challenge gives the kids a rounded education. Every subject is important and the kids are learning music, spanish, art and even charater traits. I can not say enough good things about Challenge. This school teaches kids with an iron fist and a hug something that is missing in many of today's public schools. If you truly want the best education for your student this school is the best hands down.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2006

This school has been great! I have two very different children and yet the curriculum and teachers have allowed each of them to shine in their own ways. I look forward to seeing the great things that my third will do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2006

My child has attended Challenge since Kidnergarten, he is now in the fifth grade. I really love this school. The principal makes himself available to the parents and is very understanding. The entire school loves kids and it shows. Acidemically my son has had some struggles but this is not a reflextion of the teachers or acedemics offered at Challenge. My son has ADD and the teachers have always been willing to work with myself and my son to highten his success. This is an excelling school and is a challenging school. If acedemics are important to you this is where you will want to send your child. I do wish there were more extra-curricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2006

I have agonized over my children's school placement, and after one academic year, I am convinced that I have made the best possible choice. One of my sons attended kindergarten in a Blue Ribbon, excelling AZ State public elementary school. At the end of the school-year, they had finished learning the ABCs and learned to count to 100. That was it. My younger son is now finishing kindergarten at Challenge Charter School. He is reading small books and does single digit addition and subtraction. My first grader has just finished reading Charlotte's Web. He is learning about magnetism, the world's oceans and landmasses and climates. The basic reading/writing/math instructions at this school are obviously superior. The science and Spanish are absolutely unparalleled! With the foundation Challenge is laying, my children will no doubt succeed in our world of growing expectations. Thank you to the Staff and the Millers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2006

Challenge Charter School is an excellent school and deserves its 'Excelling' rating. My daughter attended kindergarten there this year. By the middle of the year she was reading at a first grade level. She loves going to school everyday and is learning not only language arts and math but science and social studies as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2006

I am a teacher at Challenge Charter School and have been for three years. This school, like any other business, has undergone staff changes over those years, and the new staff just keeps getting better and better. I enjoy teaching here and don't have any plans to leave. The families are dedicated and loyal and so is the staff. Our curriculum is challenging and the teachers expect a lot from the students. If you are looking for a school that will challenge your kids and welcome your involvement, it's Challenge Charter.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 8, 2006

The academic programs are solid. There are no sports and limited extracurricular activites.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2005

This is a wonderful Charter school in Arizona. Charter school often get a bad reputation, but this one is wonderful. Principals and teachers genuinely care about students and the inportance of their education. This is is an official Core Knowledge School...which is a terrific advanced ciriculum!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 7, 2005

I have to admit I thought this school would be good for my child but the teachers lack of compassion and understanding is outrageous. I can't believe that a teacher would rather fail a child then help them where they are lacking. The office staff leaves something to be desired they were the rudest people I have ever talked to not to mention the lack of commincation in that office. Oh and if you are a divorced spouse trying to be involved in your childs learning forget that they are absolutly no help. So no I would recommend this school unless you want your child to have no manners, behavriol problems, and learning issues......
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2005

The academics at Challenge are incredible, but the music and foreign language programs don't exist for the higher grades at all, and now they have no art, either. We are very disappointed that our children have no art, music, or foreign language education at Challenge.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
99%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 42%
Hispanic 11% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 3%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Black 2% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 19%N/A47%
Female 53%N/A49%
Male 47%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Founder Miller inducted into the Circle of Honor (top 1% AZ Principals.) (2006)
  • National Charter School of the Year - awarded by Washington D.C. based Center for Education Reform (2007)
  • US Dept of Ed National Blue Ribbon School - highest academic honor (2007)

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Yes
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30
School end time
  • 3:30
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Principal Miller
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Fax number
  • (602) 938-5393

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Yes
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Physical Education classes
Girls sports
  • Physical education classes

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • *school advisory council: hands-on management team *school facilities and curriculum committes such as technology, uniform, discipline etc. *community-business partnerships. strong parental support organization and volunteerism *classroom instructional support *bi-annual parent-teacher conferences & at partent/ teacher's discretion *key members of admin. in civic organizations
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • *Environmental policy allowing scent/toxin-free learning environment *Uniform policy *Full-day kindergarten program *Character development curriculum *Limited transportation provided *National school lunch program
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5801 West Greenbriar Drive
Glendale, AZ 85308
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 938-5411

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Discovery Community
Glendale, AZ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT