Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Challenger Middle School

Public | 4-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 16, 2014

I am going to place my children in a school out of our school zone just to ensure they don't have to attend Challenger another year. I went on a field trip with the students and the teacher had no clue why the students were there. I had to teach them off the labels on the water plant. The principal doesn't work with the parents and is full of back handed comments. I am not the only parent who feels this way. The teachers pick and choose when they want to make students follow rules, as quoted by a worker "It depends what teacher and if it is a good day or a bad day" Not that their rules are all reasonable but I am very disappointed. I would recommend district replace the principle and the student counselor as well as send some of the teachers through a teachers ethics class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2013

Since the very day I walked in the office to enroll my child I knew it was going ti be a bad experience. The office staff was awful talking trash about the kids and her co workers. The kids that bully don't seem to get in trouble or have consequences. Staff does nothing. You call or write a note to find out how your kid is doing or ask for your child to get help and you don't get a response from anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2013

I only selected one star for each choice.....I just wanted to register for the updates. This is my sons first year there and he is in 7th grade. I will say his computer teacher was very impatient and rude with him when he asked for help. I was very upset! I know my son will be very hesitant to ask her questions again. If you can't ask your teacher questions, then what's the point? He came home that second day of school very upset and didn't want to go back. The teacher made him feel like dirt! She should not be teaching if she doesn't want to help the kids out! The teachers always wonder why the students don't ask questions....they should think about how they respond to the student. Use the golden rule....would you want someone to talk to you the way you talk to your student? I know all parents say this, but my son is a good kid. The most he will get in trouble for is maybe talking in class. Choose your words wisely teachers. They can have a huge impact on someone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2012

i found this school horrible from bullying to lack of help from teachers i walk down the hall to see girls yelling and planning fights and boys bullying and also planning fights, i found no teacher has done anything good to stop this all i can say thats good is the classes but not the teachers if i had a choice to sit with my class and a pack of wolves the pack of wolves would be my choice


Posted May 26, 2012

This school is a stable school but when the students get rowdy then thats when the teachers start with the PRIME or detention its 2 warnings then the student gets a detention which since im a student i got at least 15 even though im a great student. One of the teachers wouldn't let me go to the bathroom and i was about to pee on myself I left the classroom to run to the bathroom and she tried to suspend me but in the end i got a detention and this teacher is now leaving. the principals are really good though they get to the bottom of the problem.


Posted March 22, 2012

Violent and aggressive students rule this school and administration doesn't get involved. I am moving my kids out of state after persistent bullying at this school caused my son such deep depression that he was suicidal and hospitalized. It ruined my gifted and honor students life. Ruined his grades and personality and all they did was move him to another school in the district that is not as bad, but still has bullying. The assistant principle has called my son and I "liars" when we brought it to his attention, and it even had no direct change when I met with the district. This is the kind of school that is waiting for a law suit, but this is my only act of contrition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2010

Challenger Middle School is an exceptional educational facility. The students at Challenger are met with high expectations and are held to those expectations throughout the school year. The teachers and administration work very hard to make Challenger a great school for all students. As a parent, I couldn't ask for a better school for my children. Congratulations to Ms. Molina and Ms. Birrell for all of their hard work and leadership in making this school a great school for kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2010

Challenger school administration is terrible.There is no support from the office admins. Therefore the students are out of control. I have observed this school and there is no way I would ever put my child in this school. There has been so many threats and bullying and even the admin have to have a security officer walk with them because she is afraid of the students.


Posted March 29, 2010

I began my career at Challenger, and in the short amount of time that I have been there I have grown to adore this school! The administration, Tiffany, Jenni,and Mark, have been such a support in good and bad times. Challenger is filled to capacity with amazing teachers and beautiful kids! Speaking from a teacher's perspective Challenger is a wonderful place to work and live out the dream of teaching that still burns inside of me.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 24, 2009

i am a student at challenger and i think this school is not doing very well. In my opinion this school shouldnt be aloud to be a school. me and my mom have had so many problems with the school. the staff is horrible they arent kind and the principals arent doing a good job. if i could switch schools i would. i am glad this is my last year here. i have been at this school since fifth grade until now and i am in eighth grade now. since i came to this school my grades have been lower than before and i always never wanted to go to school. i use to be a straight a student but now im getting b's or m's or 3's. another thing that bothers me is the grading system. well im glad im going to highschool and im getting out of that dump.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 9, 2009

Challenger Middle School is doing much better now and is a performing plus school. Thanks to our phenomenal teachers,staff members,and principals Challenger is a wonderful school. Our staff member work very hard to make sure that we learn to our highest level possible. I really enjoy school knowing that Challenger has smiling teachers everyday that everyone loves. CMS is the best school ever!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 12, 2008

The school is so overwhelmed with the amount of students, when I see another apartment complex go up I know the school will get another rush of students. Our child is in 5th grade and this is his third school because of over crowding, I thought the purpose of buying a home was so that children could stay in the same school. As for parents we need to speak up, jump up and down, scream and holler whatever it take to get some action.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2008

Parent apathy, overwhelmed teachers, poor student behavior, continous staff turnover, and lack of effective leadership at the district level are all factors that cause Challenger to be a below average school. There are some bright spots but unfortunately that are few and far between. There is much that needs to be done in order to turn Challenger into a quality school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 9, 2007

It is sad that this school can't meet no child left behind act for the last 5 years.I believe our teachers are underpaid and the curriculum needs to be changed. Glendale District needs to step in and assist with these changes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2007

It is very sad to see Challenger (when it was a true middle school) an A+ school, now falling to the label of an under performing school. There are a number of reasons for the failings, but the efforts to save money has let good teacher after good teacher go to other schools by transforming the school into a fabricated K-8 school is a shame.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 7, 2006

we pulled out our daughter and put our daughter in a charter school and doing a lot better they have real grade not like here where it is meets failing or exceeding that don't tell you how they are really doing she is on the honor roll and getting homework it great we should have done this years ago. Most of the kids have no respect. If you can don't put your kids in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2006

I am very disappointed in the teaching staff at this school. The teachers seem very rushed and overwhelmed with too many students. This school is a failing school and the other schools in Glendale are mostly failing too! I am transferring my child out of here as soon as I can.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2005

Seems to be alot of minorities at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
58%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
49%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 69% 43%
Black 14% 5%
White 11% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 89%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (623) 842-8324

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6905 W. Maryland Ave
Glendale, AZ 85303
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 237-4000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Coyote Ridge
Glendale, AZ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT