Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Heritage School

Public | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 28, 2014

I have been very impressed with the office staff , teachers and the administration . They have an attitude of going above and beyond for kids. Band and art and the STEM classes are great additions to the school choice. A variety of students attend Hertiage and all seem to get along.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2014

I have been teaching at Heritage for 15 years. I consider this school my family and I wouldn't change it for the world. School is what you make of it and those students and parents who get involved enjoy Heritage tremedously! I am proud to be a Heritage teacher!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 6, 2014

A La Paloma sister school in Williams, AZ, Heritage Elementary, allows serious bullying and I know that Ms Janes did not respond to a parent that contacted her regarding it. The principal at Heritage is allowing police report worthy bullying. I know of two parents who pulled out their children from the school this week. However, La Paloma Academy's Ms Janes mentioned to a blog reporter that they expel kids, kids that came from the public schools, Paloma keeps them 100 days and expels them. And well to quote the blog directly: ' the district school won't get any state money for the rest of the year. La Paloma keeps it all.' This makes me understand now why they allow the bullying to go on. I think school districts and the state should be made aware of this, because there is many a parent who can testify to the bullying their children have suffered under a La Paloma Academy school. No homework because it lowers the kids esteem is their excuse. No real history is taught in many classes. Homeschool co-op in the area is far far better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2012

I have gone to this school for my K through 7th grade 2003-2012 it's average school their but if you are looking at a educator point of view most of these teachers are great! of course you will get a couple bad ones. The kids there well...their is always a bad group and a good group and there is bound to be fights every now and than and trouble but if your kid is smart enough he will stay away:) the staff their they seem like there family and there great people ! overall I had good years here and learned a lot from street smart and book smart have a great time if you come here:)


Posted July 6, 2011

When my family relocated to Glendale after Thanksgiving 2010 I was really excited for my 2 girls to start here after reading the reviews. WOW, we were all EXTREMELY dissapointed! There is absolutely NO structure or rules followed here! The 5th grade teacher was the most unorganized and clueless teacher I have ever dealt with. No homework was given because, "there were budget cuts so we aren't allowed to make copies for homework!" What a joke! I researched homework papers on the WEB & printed them from home every night for both of my kids. This school is full of foul mouthed punks that do nothing but pick fights, as well as disrespectful parents who don't care! I personally witnessed a parent hit a student that was not their child & when I asked the principal about this she informed me she'd look into it. It happened again & nothing was done. My 1st grader was so advanced compared to the rest of her class that her teacher had her sit in the back of the room & color instead of giving her something challenging to do! According to the principal, they don't want students to fall behind so they basically lower their standards to make sure everyone is equal!!! DO NOT GO TO THIS SCHOOL!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2009

I am impressed with the Kindergarten curriculum and teachers. Kindergarten students are learning at a higher level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2009

The teachers at Heritage are out of this world. You would not believe how much they honestly care about your child. I just can't say enough about this school they are just wonderful and they honestly promote good strong values. My daughter is in 8th grade this year and I am sorry to be leaving this wonderful staff. Thank you for all you have done for our daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2008

When my son started heritage he was noticeable lacking primary education. Partnering up with his teachers we got him back on track. Education is not just the teachers responsibility it is also the parents. Heritage involves the parents in their childrens education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2008

My daughter absoutely loves this school. She has been there for 2 years now and has had nothing but positive experiences with the teachers and staff there. The attendance staff is wonderful and will call if your child is absent and you forget to call.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2007

My children have been attending Heritage for over ten years. Overall, our experience has been extremely positive. The environment at Heritage is like one big family, the staff and administration are caring, giving and truly want the best education for our children. When issues have arisen, the staff and administration have rallied to work with the parents to quickly resolve the problems, always keeping in mind the best interest of the students. I have felt very supported through all these years, and believe me one of my children really put them through the ringer. They were patient, kind and understanding through it all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2007

This is the BEST school in the state. You will NEVER get more caring teachers with the HIGHEST Ability. THIS School has a TOP NOTCH STAFF ALL THE WAY AROUND. I would never move untill we are out of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2007

I attended Heritage for 5 years. I loved it. Great elementary school!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 23, 2006

My kids have gone to Heritage for 4 years now. They have excelled in school and the teachers are very involved with the the students. I can contact the teachers with no problem if I have any concerns with grades or anything dealing with my child. There is alot of parent involvement, and its very comforting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2006

We've attended Heritage for 5 years & each year is better than the last. Conflicts are handled immediately and efficiently. The cirriculum for 4th grade is challenging but I believe this will prove most helpful for entering the 5th grade. The nursing staff and administration are top notch. I would like to see a bit more communication from administration go home concerning upcoming events. Overall, this school is caring & concerned about the kids future and education. Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2006

Iep teachers are good. Nurse is wonderful. Teachers from 5 grade and above kids have all the responcibility and the teachers take none.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2006

This school is a very well teaching school. The only thing I don't like about it is the kids there. I'm not gonna say who but it's not their fault, it's their parents. They are still nice kids. I am a student there and I know.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 20, 2006

Good School - Ms. Ohmes is the best. Ms. Phillips is also great Phy Ed teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2005

My daughters have been going to this school for 1 1/2 years. in 7th and 8th grade this year. Last year my oldest switched to this school because of diffuculties at her last school. I was very impressed with the length of involvement the staff is willing to go into the education of my girls. They seem to genuinely care about our family. Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2005

My children were failing in their other schools, but when the started Heritage the teachers took the time to get the up to speed and now my children are A and B students. The teachers are wonderful and sincerely want the best for you child. I hope my childrens High School will be half as great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2005

My children have attended Heritage for two years, starting in the 1st and 4th grades. The love it. I wasn't too pleased with the teacher my daughter had in 1st grade, but her second grade teacher, Mrs. Wainwright, is awesome. My son has had wonderful teachers (Mrs. Nunez & Mrs. Grassman) both years. The nursing staff proved helpful. Office admin could be a bit friendlier, and the music was interrupted halfway thru and my daughter really enjoyed chorus. I'm hoping that returns for the 2005-2006. I also plan to be much more involved this year. I obtained a variance to this school, and am pretty muich pleased with the choice. I had some problems with tardiness with my children, and the principal and I spoke about it. Apparently, she shows concern. I like that too! Overall, fairly good school, and learning appears to be important to the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 42%
Hispanic 34% 43%
Black 6% 5%
Two or more races 5% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 54%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Lynn Brodie
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (623) 412-4535

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Elementary school
Middle school


 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Ironwood High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5312 W Mountain View
Glendale, AZ 85302
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 486-6000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Sunset School
Glendale, AZ





Horizon School
Glendale, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT