Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kingman Academy Of Learning - High School

Charter | 9-12 & ungraded

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 17, 2014

When it comes to academics this school is far and beyond the other two high schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

Sports program is good for the school size, however; my student moved to the local Public High School for a state competitive program and hopefully a better shot at scholarships. Crime rate is lower at this school if you don't take into consideration the drugs, which police tell me is a bigger problem at KAHS. Having said this, this campus is far from secure and the public park less than 30 yards away proves to be a problem. Students even use this unsecured area as a gym. Because of the nature of Arizona Law, the students can easily be kicked from the program, leaving only the top students left. Despite this, they continue to have problems. Also due to the Charter status, many employees do not have the required teachers credentials that a public school is required to have. The school district has started using the Cambridge program and is providing an alternative to the Academy program, but only time will tell. I am still not sure I like what is going on in the district. My youngest takes 2-3 tracking tests every week. At lease 2 hours of instruction is lost. Now that I think of it, I don't think I would give any school in this town higher than a 3 star.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2009

I graduated in 2007 and was prepared for my future completely. I'm a licensed Cosmetologist in Arizona and Florida. The teachers at Kingman Academy High school will always be role models to me, they helped me every step of the way into a successful future.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 4, 2009

I graduated in 2008 from this school and can tell you that I was completely prepared for college and was to no disadvantage. I was an AP student and participated in many of the activities the school had to offer both in sports and academics. The teachers are all very supportive and friendly and genuinely want to help students. Attending this small school allowed me know most of the people in my graduating class and in the school in general. The only drawback I can think of is that the science department could use some development- creating AP science classes and building labs to work in. Overall though, I will always carry my 'Tiger Pride' wherever I go.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2009

KAHS is a student oriented school. Wonderful and caring teachers. Students are very proud and quite excellent students.


Posted May 26, 2008

I've attended KAOL since seventh grade. I have never been more proud to say that I am a KAHS Tiger than ever before. I love this school. The teachers are great, the faculty is good, my other classmates were awesome and my favorite.... the school spirit is amazing. I am leaving for Minnesota in a week, and even though I'm a sophomore and will be at another school... my school pride will always stay with KAHS. I'll miss you guys. :(
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 24, 2008

The Kingman Academy is a really good school over all and is teaching me the nessesary things to know.The environment is great and the people that go there couldn't be any better exept some of the teachers. I respect that the teachers do what they need to do and as a student that means alot, even though at times it may not seem that way but it seems some of the time the teachers tend to pick on some of the kids and if a child gets their parent involved it seems thats when the teachers want to help the student and they put on an act infront of the parent to not make it seem the way the child says,and yet the teacher says they will help, but the next day things don't have change.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 25, 2007

This high school is one of the best in the state. The academic program is challenging and at AP level in just about all classes. Students have a safe environment to learn in, and the majority of the kids respect this environment and strive hard to maintain it. Teachers are caring, compassionate, and enjoy teaching. The school test scores reflect this dedication. The leadership (principal and staff) do not believe in titles - they all pitch in as a team to do whatever is necessary for the kids, (mopping floors, trash pickup, etc.). Athletics have now become stronger and more available, which has added to the kids' pride in their school and their passion to ensure that this high school remains one of the best in the state.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2006

Wonderful school. My child is on the pre-ap academic program which is a lot of work, but is very educational. Definelty would recommend to any parent for child. Principal is very friendly and goes out of his way to meet the new and greet the previous parents. School offers programs more on the educational side than the athletic side. If you care about your childs education and want the best for them than this is the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2006

Everything is great with this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 10, 2006

The school lends itself to being a great learning evinroment for the students. The school has great values and enforces them. The teacher are well educated and know about the subject matter they are teaching. However the teachers are some what young and have a hard time dealing with the more energized students at times. They need to be more communicative with the parent when concerns arise.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2005

My son has gone to the academy since 2nd grade. He is now a sophmore. Parent Volunteering is a great way to keep the parents involved. However, I feel that the teacher should get in touch with the parents ASAP if there are any concerns. I don't think the parent should have to check with the teacher only. It should be a 2 way street. This is something that this school could work on. The 4 day school week works out great and they really try to teach the students how to prepare for their adult life. They could offer a few more incentives for the students though. ie: more sports programs, etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2005

Small school, caring staff, great athletic coaches, energetic and charasmatic principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2004

Uniforms are enforced at the academy. What's this means really? No one is getting made fun of for the clothes they wear, because everyone is wearing the same thing. The school overall is great because of the staff and teachers, and even most of the students. The academy high got new sports this year and are planning on adding more next year. Though their class selection is limited, you can get all your basic classes. Science-Biology to Physics; Math-Pre-Algebra to Calculus. It's just a great school and though there was a few major incidents throughout the school year, the crime rate is nothing compared to public schools.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 42%
Hispanic 14% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 25%N/A47%
Female 50%N/A49%
Male 50%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3420 Burbank Ave.
Kingman, AZ 86409
Website: Click here
Phone: (928) 681-2900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Mt Tipton Elementary School
Dolan Springs, AZ


Mohave High School
Bullhead City, AZ


Wave - Mohave High School
Bullhead City, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT