Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Thunderbolt Middle School

Public | 7-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 8, 2014

I am a Student here and This school is horrible. I moved here from the east coast and I was excited for a new school and new things and I wasn't impressed at all. Kids get away with whatever they want like Bullying, Drugs, PDA, etc. The students are very VERY racist and rude but not all. My advice is to not come to this school. My best choice for your kid is Telesis or The Academy. The teachers are unfair here with grades and everything. My friends get bullied and I stick up for them and I get in trouble! This school is a joke and they could do much better.


Posted June 19, 2013

This school isnt all that it is cracked up to be. The education sucks. I like some of the teachers but the way they teach is not helpful. Second, they have no clue how to comtrol kods. I mean I don't mind, but when they make all these stupid policies you'd think they'd try to enforce them. Wrong. Fights happen, Pda, and even drugs and do they stop. No. Come on Thunderbolt staff. I'd like to leave on a good note though. One thing thunderbolt is excellent at in my opinion is their sports program I was on their 7th grade boys basketball team and track team. I thoughts these programs and coaches were excellent. I compliment you on that. B hall-7th grade-boy


Posted May 6, 2012

A 9 out of 10 really? That's a laugh this school is the worst I've ever been to. More like a 2 out of 10 maybe.


Posted March 25, 2012

Arizona has the worst public schools in the United States and Thunderbolt isn't an exception. Overall this school is just terrible. Academics are terrible, learning environment is terrible, there's no consequences for students misbehaving, controlled by cliques, overcrowded, this is one of the worst environments to send a child to school in. Okay where to start. Teachers: To be honest teachers here aren't bad but they don't make learning very interesting. Academics: Terrible in every sense of the word. They are learning things here other states have learned 2-3 years ago (sometimes more). Tests are a breeze for kids who have moved into the district from out of state. Cliques: Many of them. Many kids don't know half of their grade because they stay inside their group trying not to talk to "outsiders". No consequences: You can get away with anything in this school. Curse all you want, fight in between periods, disrespect your teachers, there's no punishment. Overcrowded: There are classes that have 35 students in them! This town needs two middle schools but due to AZ's budget cuts on education they had to shut down Daytona. My tip: Don't move to Arizona W/ kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2012

This is the worst public school my daughter has attended. They are rude, uncaring, and the principle is terrible. My daughter is a straight A student. The academic part of it is ok, but everything else is just awful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2010

My son was an honor roll student until he got to Thunderbolt & it all went downhill. The policies make it difficult to be all you can be there. Some teachers are allowed to have their own grading scale, where you get an F for no date on the paper. Some teachers dock a full letter grade for stuff like that. Others like to rip up papers if they are mad at the student, others throw them away for no name. My son is constantly assulted by other students in the hallway, yet no one seems to do anything about it. Can't wait til my son is out of there. We don't have a choice in schools due to budget cuts and they closed the other Middle School in town. My son is constantly bored & teachers don't know how to handle that well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

Thunderbolt is excelling and is academically challenging for my son Thomas. Thomas loves his school and continues to perform above average with the wonderful instruction and mentoring he receives from the administration, staff and educators. Thunderbolt deserves to win because it is a winner! Laurie Monson Anderson
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2008

My son attends Thunderbolt and was an honor roll student all through Elementry. His 6th grade year was tough at Thunderbolt but he still managed to be on honor roll. This 7th grade year he is struggling to stay an average student, because of a school policy that lacks flexability. The policy states that missed work due to absence can not be picked up unless the student is going to be gone for 3 days or more. This is rediculous...it puts the student in a bad situation and sets them up for failure. Students can't keep up with the class and their assignments if they can't collect their missed work while out sick! Unfortunately, 1 assignment NTI on time can make a student go from a A to a D. On many occations the teachers lose the assignment and blame it on the student. It happens....trust me!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2008

mrs. Mack rules! best teacher at t-bolt! its a good school too. the teachers here are cool
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 31, 2006

I believe that Thunderbolt Middle School has the excellence that is shown in our test scores, extra-curricular activities and many honors programs. We have great support from our teachers in the staff and quality help for all learning disabilities. I, as a parent of a 7th grader that attends here, am very satisfied with the quality of education that she receives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2006

This is one of the best schools ever! We have some of the best teachers here. Also, there is a ton of school spirit. Our school is just the best.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 2, 2006

I would have to say that Thunderbolt Middle is average at best. Both of my children have attended Thunderbolt and both breezed thru. Both of my children felt bored.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2004

A wonderful school with very dedicated teachers. The enrollment is too high for the size of the building and safety is an issue. In the past, the principal was wonderful. The curriculum is incredible and teachers are working hard. Parent involvement is key to a the success in any school and seems to be improving. Overall, a great school in need of a new principal!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

432 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

433 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

430 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

486 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

486 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 42%
Hispanic 20% 43%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 3%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (928) 854-7482

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

695 Thunderbolt Avenue
Lake Havasu City, AZ 86406
Website: Click here
Phone: (928) 505-6900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Havasu Preparatory Academy
Lake Havasu City, AZ


Calvary Christian Academy
Lake Havasu City, AZ


Telesis Preparatory
Lake Havasu City, AZ


Havasuonline
Lake Havasu City, AZ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT