Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Noah Webster Basic School

Charter | K-6 | 1143 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Mesa

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $136,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,130.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 9 ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

208 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 22, 2010

a great school would never put my kids anywhere else
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

I am a teacher at Noah Webster and a parent of two girls who have gone to Noah Webster through all of their elementary school years. My oldest is now graduating from high school with honors a year early. My youngest is in 5th grade and striving daily for excellence. Noah Webster is a well rounded school and is excelling. NWBS helped build great study skills in both of my girls. It also built their confidence in learning. I am a huge believer in their curriculum and outlook on education. I highly reccomend Noah Webster to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

I think it's a great school! My kids love it there and are really excelling!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

Great place for kids to learn! Great place to work!


Posted April 22, 2010

Noah Webster has been the best school my 4 kids have been to. 2 of them were failing and 1 of them needed the extra help and they are all succeeding now since entering in October 2009.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

Fantastic director, teachers and curriculum!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

All three of my children attended. Very satisfied with their education and supportive loving environment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

I am very satisfied with my kids' education at this school. My kids have been on honor roll each semester!! Teachers are great!! Staff are great!! I honestly don't have one complaint about this school........ And I would highly recommend it!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

This school is not only concerned with teaching a fine curriculum but also the caring ways of life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

Noah Webster is awesom! I have sent three of my kids there, and plan to send the rest. My kids have thrived and all become better and more responsable people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

It has helped our daughter excel in her learning. I love the way Noah Webster cares about each child and their individual learning needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

I love this school! I love the entire staff from the custodians, crossing guards to the principal. Everyone seems to pitch in to get the job done. My kids are getting a great education that is far advanced compared to some of friend;s children. They are very focused on respect and character building as well as academia. I feel blessed to have found this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

It takes a tight community to raise good children with values, respect,confidence and 100% participation. Noah Webster is the heart of our community! This school is the best school and deserves the recognition!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

I love the dedication and positive attitude that just emanates from all the teachers and staff at this school. I've never felt so appreciative for these people helping guide my child through life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

Great teachers and Staff. I have a 5th grader at this school and she is working way above grade level. My 7th grader has moved on to junior high and is in honors classes due to the education she has received at Noah Webster. The teachers are awesome and put alot of time and attention into their students. There are alot of activities and fundraisers that the kids love. My daughter has medical problems and they have gone above and beyond to help her. I would recommend this school to anyone who is looking for a top knotch education for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

Excellent curriculum, dedicated teachers, family environment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2010

My Son has been attending Noah webster since Kindergarden. He is in the second grade now and we are about to pull him out. We have had conssitent problems with his teacher this year not communicating information to us. For example he is left of of class event like valentines day and birthdayy parties. When we ask why the teacher did not send anyhting home she always says she did. His grades began to slip and he fell from an A student to B student and falling very low in two areas, Math and Grammer. We ask the teacher to give us specific examples and she never did. We asked about tutoring and she said there was none available, but sent us private tutor that also works fo rthe school that was going to charge us thousands. It turns out there was tutoring available the entire time. Many more strange issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2010

My daughter has been going to Noah Webster since Pre-K and I have nothing bad to say about this school! It has awesome teaching staff and awesome facilities! Its a very close knit kind of school and I def would recommend them to everyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2009

My child is in first grade at NWBS. New this year. My child attended our neighborhood school at Higley last year and I was so very concerned about safety and lack of discipline and overall competence and organization of the school. I found NWBS and decided to try. Yes, it IS different from public school. Is that not why we seek out alternative schools in the first place? I was very surprised at the lack of parent involvement too. I contacted the teacher, let her know I would like to volunteer in the classroom and go in once a week. They welcome me. There is much to be said for the structure and organization NWBS. I actually like that it is run more like a business. My child is in a safe, competent school. She is learning so much and is extremely happy and so am I.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2009

Thank you, thank you, thank you! The Fright Fest was an AMAZING event! Noah Webster, you all did a fantastic job! Keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

152 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

152 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 42%
Hispanic 22% 43%
Two or more races 5% 2%
Black 3% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 51%N/A47%
Female 49%N/A49%
Male 51%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (480) 354-3490

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7301 E. Baseline Road
Mesa, AZ 85209
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 986-2335

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT