Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Porter Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 450 students

We are an AVID Elementary preparing all students for college/career readiness.

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 25, 2014

Porter Elementary Mesa, AZ Definitely a 5 Star school all the way! This school is consistently a top performer in my opinion!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2014

I have two students who attend Porter. I have always been very pleased with their teachers. Recently the administration has changed and you can see life back in the school again. Kids love it. Teachers are happy. Test scores are up. They have been promoting pride and I see it at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2011

This school is amazing!! We have tried charter schools as well as a montessori school (which was a disaster) and Porter is by far the best we have had experience with. The principal and teachers care very much for their students. They have parent groups and committees to make the school even better. Our son is happier at Porter than he has been at any other school. He is getting a very good education and we are very satisfied with Porter and its staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2011

The whole environment in this school is unsatisfactory. The teaching is on lowest level one could imagine. The principal's note below is totally wrong. Official school score is at 3 out of 10. The management is not concerned with achieving high level of education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2011

This year Porter Elementary School scored 99% A's and B's on Mesa Public School's District's Parent Survey!! We have consistently scored between 94% and 97% over the past five years. This year's score is the highest we have every received. We are very proud of our continued parent support, Parent Resource Center, and the numerous ways we involve parents in meaningful ways at Porter. We work very hard at creating and maintaining a over-all "Porter Family" school environment for our community. Achieving a 99% rating validates that our parent's realize Porter is a GREAT School! Thank you parents, for recognizing our hard work and supporting our belief that parents are the most important educational influence in their child's life. Our home -school partnership is essential to our students success. Sincerely, Mr. T. LaMantia: Principal
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 11, 2009

Porter is quickly declining from what it used to be. It is no longer, in my opinion, a great school. Teachers are encouraged to send a child home if the child disagrees or argues, fights with a sibling, or other minor infraction. Children that have a parent that work or volunteers at the school are never diciplined (I know, my child is one of them) even when they deserve it. The younger teachers can't seem to handle their class rooms, and will 'pigeon-hole' your child into whichever category suits them. Children are unique from day to day, but not at this school, once they think they have them figured out, they never stray from that track. I am fed up to here with the school, and have decided to pull my kids and place them in a school that fosters a learning environment rather than pointing out flaws.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2008

My two boys go to Porter. I love their teachers, but the students are a hard group to deal with, and I dont see any of the staff doing much about bullies. On the other hand, I have always had good communication with the staff about homework..schoolwork..etc. The 4th grade curriculum this year is different. It used to be studying about Arizona, and this year it is about studying Mexico, which is fine, but I think the students would get more out of it by learning about the state they live in. Another thing, is the combined classes. i think Porter needs more teachers, so they dont have to combine grade levels together in one class. I think it takes away from the students learning time because the teacher has to spend half the time addressing the students that are in a different grade as the others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2008

Our two oldest enjoyed their time here at Porter. The teachers were very interested in them as individuals and it was the first time I had my child invite their teacher to birthday parties, baptisms, etc. Always felt welcome as a parent and enjoyed helping out by reading stories or setting up for an event. Happy times which we miss now being in Germany where the school system is dire.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2006

I think Porter is an outstanding school. I have two sons who have attended Porter from kindergarten through 6th grade. The both have done very well academically. The teachers really care about the students. The school focuses on the 'whole child', not just academics. The principal, Tony LaMantia does an outstanding job. He really cares about the kids. The band and orchestra instructors are excellent as are all of the teachers. I highly recommend Porter and am very thankful my children were able to go there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2006

Porter is an excellent school from the office staff to the teachers to the principal. I had 3 kids in this school and my oldest received the extra help she needed w/o being made to feel bad or embarrassed. Mrs. Grove is the best! As is Mrs. Slocum. Mr. Lamantia is a great principal! Porter is the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2005

This school has some of the best staff I have experienced in Mesa School District. The teachers care and so does the administrators there. I would give this school a rating of 5 out of 5!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2005

Porter School has an excellent staff. The schools strives to provide a quality education to all students. Students are enabled to learn to the best of their ability. A sense of community and a repect for the diversity of others is emphasized at this school. I have been extremely satisfied with my interactions with the staff and administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2005

My daughter attended Porter from 1st grade through 3rd grade and really loves the school. The principal is very friendly and is not afraid to roll up his sleeves to get involved with the kids and their activities. Parent involvement is strong. Anything from selling popcorn on Fridays to fields trips, special school events or helping in the classroom. Teachers are friends and encouraging they seem to have a great attitude towards teaching and their students. Academically I feel Porter is right along with the other schools. My daughter needed some extra help with reading and was able to get that extra help in school. Her teacher never made her feel anyless smarter for needing the help. Overall Porter is a great elementry school with a wide range of ethnic backgrounds and academic levels in their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2005

The teachers send home letters with typos, but they are responsive to behavioral issues. There should be more after school and family activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2005

I think this school needs more parent/community involved activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2004

My children attended Porter Elementary from school year 1994-1995 thru 2003-2004. Over the years the school went through several changes, but the last 4 years with Tony LaMantia as Principal, the school has flourished and grown. Under Mr. LaMantia's leadership, the staff and students are provided an excellent environment for learning and social interaction. Keep up the good work, Porter!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
58%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 46% 43%
White 40% 42%
Black 6% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 72%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Girls on the run
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 am
School end time
  • 2:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (480) 472-6698

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • Individually guided instruction
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Running Club
Girls sports
  • Running Club

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Community service
  • Girls on the run
  • Homework help/study buddy club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
110
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
110

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Taylor Junior High
Mesa High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1350 S. Lindsay Dr.
Mesa, AZ 85204
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 472-6700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT