Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Poston Junior High School

Public | 7-9 | 853 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 22, 2014

This review is solely about A.V.I.D. teacher Mrs. Pursley This woman is an outstanding teacher who genuinely cared about the success of my child ( and all the children ). Her teaching style is so unique and so intriguing that it almost made me want to go back and get a teaching degree just so I could do what she's doing. The environment of her classroom is low lit, relaxing, and extremely creative. I wish there were more teachers like her. All of my sons teachers from Poston have been great, but honestly, Pursley is a cut above the rest and should be recognized as such.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2014

Poston Jr. High is a good school, experienced teachers, great counselors, great psychologist, awesome band programs, just wish it was still 7,8,9th grades, not just 7&8 grades as it is now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2012

This school is rated one of the top Junior Highs in Mesa and it should be! Any problems I had were resolved quickly by the teachers or principle!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2011

Poston Junior High is a GREAT school. This year will be my final year here because I am moving into ninth grade and going to Mountain View. This school has great teacher, coaches and just the best of every thing. The only thing our school needs is a little more funding. The pool has been shut down and is suppose to be filled in with cement, but that was two years ago. But yea. Over all this school is one of the best in mesa and i only say that because i have a couple friends that go to Taylor, Stapley, Brimhall, and Rhodes. Most of them really dont like it here and say that alot of bad stuff happens there. also the students are really friendly, we all really just hang out in a huge group. Well this school is awesome, but I'm looking forward to be a MVT!


Posted September 20, 2010

I went to Poston for a few months waaaay back then. At the time I was new to Mesa and it took some time to get adjusted. I thought it an excellent school, but this was eons ago. Not sure about now, it has been many years. It would be nice to connect with some of my all classmates, those who remember me...GO PANTHERS! To me, getting an education depends on you - as far as I am concerned, teachers are guides, showing you the way. It is then up to us, those who are the learners to absorb and use what is handed to us to make our own path. Good luck and a double thumbs up to the most unappreciated profession; teaching! THANK YOU for showing me the way...


Posted July 17, 2010

Not sure what this parent is referring to when he/she mentions Poston as a poor school with gang violence? There are no gangs on campus...give me a break. As far as clubs, there are several to choose from. Their child just needs to ask around. This is a school with high academic standards and a caring staff. Yes, the school population has changed, but the staff continually rises to the occasion to be an excelling school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2010

Poston Junior High school is one of the worst and poorest schools in the mesa school district, there are very little clubs, not many teachers care about those who do not succeed In classes, The teachers treat the students with very little respect and ethnicity plays a great part in the learning experience, Those of other ethnicity and sometimes religion do not get treated well, Security consists of four officers who do not set good examples for the kids, one who does NOT like children, lots of gang violence, and most of the kids there smoke/do drugs, I would NEVER recommend anyone ever going to this school, This school is the worst school i've ever seen


Posted March 25, 2010

Our son attend Shepherd. The music teacher here Mr. Pastor is incredible with the kids and really cares.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2009

I am a parent and so far the school has not lived up to its reputation for making sure students are safe from bullying. Very disappointed in the faculty and some of the teaching skills that the teachers demonstrate. Any event that I have attended has been very disorganized and again a majority of the teachers are rude and uncaring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2009

the teachers are great and are always looking for ways to help. the njhs program is also great there
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 26, 2009

Best School ever! The staff works really hard. I am proud of my child going to Poston!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2008

I am a former Poston Panther, and I loved that school. The teachers that I had were amazing at connecting with all types of students and were always truly concerned with their students real needs. These teachers were always coming up with new ways to teach that actually made school interesting and worth going to. The staff is understanding, supportive, and always organized. There is a good balance of extracurricular activities and academics. It is a school where everyone fits in and feels welcome. Poston prepares students for the future like no other Mesa schools.


Posted May 28, 2008

My three children attended Poston, and now I am a teacher at Poston. The principal works very hard to promote student achievement, empower the faculty, and develop a top-rated school. As an educational community, we were recognized as one of the top Title I schools in the nation. I'm proud to be both a parent and teacher at this school. There is a waiting list to enroll into Poston!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 2, 2008

My child and I love this school. Good organization and communication.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2007

My time at Poston was absolutely fantastic and nothing could have improved it. Every Poston panther is so motivated that they encourage other students to succeed! This is because Poston is diverse so there's something for everyone. And once you make great friends, Poston will feel just like home. And all of this is apparent in the panthers' long history. Poston students constantly excell in academics, become champions of sports, excel in fine arts, along with a myriad of other accomplishments that make them s of succes. Yet despite their attributes, Poston students are not haughty or blinded by school pride; instead, they are diligent, unique, and above all, determined. But this is all thanks to the long effort and encouragement from not just Poston's teachers, but all its faculty. I personally wish to thank Poston for making me who I am today and preparing me for who I'll become tomorrow!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 4, 2007

Poston is one of the greatest schools in AZ. The teachers have really helped my child succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2006

...am disappointed in Poston Jr. High. There's an overall lack of communication on the teacher's part. As a parent of a Poston student I can't seem to get weekly updates on my child's academic standing. We have provided email/ph #'s and the teachers blow us off. They just don't seem to care. It's a good thing that AZ law doesn't provide for student vouchers. Poston would be empty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2006

School security is by for the best in any Mesa jr high school.They take students and faculty safety serious.Just try and get away with something there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2006

this is a very active and great school. all the kids here are involved and really focuse on there work and school activity
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 18, 2006

I have found this school very frustrating at times. The level of parent-teacher is definitely not where it should be. As much as I tried to be involved in my childs schooling, I ran much resistance with the teachers and especially the administrators.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%
Science

2014

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
70%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 42%
Hispanic 23% 43%
Black 4% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 44%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Music teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (480) 472-2107

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2433 E Adobe
Mesa, AZ 85213
Website: Click here

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT