Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Public district
Mesa, AZ
Students enrolled: 541
 

4 stars
Based on 32 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

29 reviews of this school


Sousa Elementary School 1

Posted December 07, 2014
- a parent
The school likes to make excuses for children that are bullying. My daughter has an IEP and teachers don't like to follow. There is no communication from the teachers unless I communicate first. They don't seem to care when your child is failing. I would not recommend this school to anyone. They also do not have preschool.

Sousa Elementary School 1

Posted August 11, 2014
- a parent
I am sad to report the experience at Sousa has been a horrible one for myself and my child. It is run like a penitentiary and and it has a very toxic environment. As a place of learning with young children having a warm and inviting climate would be appropriate but this is not the case at Sousa elementary. I warn parents that staff yell at the children and are extremely confrontational to parents. Be sure not to voice your concerns because retaliatory actions will take place. I would not recommend this school to anyone. Submitted by a parent (I agree with this parent) this is what I saw.


Sousa Elementary School 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
My daughter has been at Sousa since Kindergarden. She is now in 2nd grade. I have had nothing but positive experiences there. The teachers are fantastic and the principal is wonderful. The teacher keeps me so informed and my daughter is excelling.

Sousa Elementary School 5

Posted April 11, 2014
- a parent
John Philip Sousa Elementary School has provided excellent education for both of my daughters and soon for my son. Everyone keeps me informed when their may be a slight problem we can work on at home to better any curriculum concerns my daughters' may have. I attended Sousa when I was a child and I enjoyed every moment of it, this is why I chose John Philip Sousa for my children!

Sousa Elementary School 5

Posted April 16, 2012
- a parent
Please don't believe the drivel of the previous review. My child has been at Sousa for 4 years and we are specifically staying in our home until he's done there because they are that good! My child who has ADHD is thriving under their care and watch. Unfortunately like at all shools, some parents think they are above the rules and protocol that comes with running a safe and learned enviroment. These people ignore instructions for picking up and dropping off children, chatting on cell phones while driving through the parking lot in their Mercedes, endangering everyone else with no regard for months before finally being confronted and than they have an axe to grind. I stand by Sousa and the Principal 150%. All public schools should be this awesome!


Sousa Elementary School 1

Posted March 08, 2012
- a parent
I am sad to report the experience at Sousa has been a horrible one for myself and my child. It is run like a penitentiary and and it has a very toxic environment. As a place of learning with young children having a warm and inviting climate would be appropriate but this is not the case at Sousa elementary. I warn parents that staff yell at the children and are extremely confrontational to parents. Be sure not to voice your concerns because retaliatory actions will take place. I would not recommend this school to anyone.

Sousa Elementary School 5

Posted October 25, 2011
- a parent
Our choices were Sousa, Ben Franklin-power or Zahara's...We chose Sousa! And we have enjoyed it very much! The school is very organized and aware of whats going on. The teachers are some of the best! They definitely care for the students they get each year! The programs are great and the quarterly family activities are super fun! The school is clean and organized. We are so happy with our choice! Our children love school because of Sousa! * Side note, all the negative talk about the principle in the reviews from 2004, you can disregard! They have changed the principle since then and she is organized and kind, and cares about her school and students!!

Sousa Elementary School 5

Posted February 10, 2011
- a parent
Sousa has great teachers that care about the kids. My kids have always had the full support of the staff as they learn and grow. Plus, there are many opportunities for parent involvement. I'm very happy we live in the Sousa neighborhood.


Sousa Elementary School 5

Posted February 16, 2010
- a student
this school is very good the teachers and staff are also very helpful and kind

Sousa Elementary School
no rating

Posted December 19, 2008
- a parent
My daughter has attended Sousa for the past 2 years (1st & 2nd grade) and I am THOROUGHLY impressed with the staff. All the teachers are incredible and principal is very hands on and cares deeply about each of her students! We came from supposedly one of the best schools in the Madison School District in Phx and this school outranks any of them BY FAR!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sousa Elementary School
616 N Mountain, Mesa, AZ  85207
Last modified Sousa Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sousa Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. Top