Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Desert Ridge Jr. High School

Public | 7-8 & ungraded | 1301 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 14, 2014

I was a seventh grader at this school and completely disliked the one year I spent there. Some of the teachers are decent, most are not, however. The honors program is very weak and the advanced kids get held back by the AVID students because they were not in an advanced program the year(s) before. I am switching schools for these reasons. Also, the campus is far too large. There are too many people for there to be an individualized approach to education. Bullying is also a huge issue. Everywhere you walk you walk past at least three cliques. The entire atmosphere of the campus is very negative towards kids dug as mysel who are classified as the "nerds" and "Emo". This past year, the bathrooms have been vandalized several times. Too many times my friends and I have been excluded from certain activities with our peers. One thing that I find interesting is that this school is mostly Mormon, but you can't walk ten feet without hearing some kind if cussing. If you are contemplating sending your child here, I highly eecommend that you do not. Publi schools are going down the drain. Within the first week at this school, I encountered colonies of ants and a snake.


Posted October 27, 2013

I have both an 8th grader and a 7th grader attending Desert Ridge Junior High. They are both thriving in the public school setting. I was a little worried since they had spent their entire elementary school years at a charter school. But they were able to quickly adapt in their new setting. I think this is in large part to the dedication of the teachers at DRJHS. They all seem to truly care about the students and their education. They are always having to do more with less but yet they strive on and I think for the most part they are doing a fantastic job. Keep up the good work teachers!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2013

I am an 8th grade student attending Desert Ridge, I am very pleased with the school. My father has seen the difference in education. You want some of the best education you can get? then attend Desert Ridge. The teachers are amazing. If you don't understand something they will help you. every morning and after-noon the hold tutoring sessions. I read that at one point in time the turned off the water fountains in the gym, that is no longer true; there are several spread out in the gym... weight room and 2 in the main gym. Education is high, physical activity is great, and every one is so open. The anti-bullying program is standing strong. Desert Ridge will not put up with bullying. Desert Ridge is a school I will recommend to anyone who is looking for a school with high education a great physical education program and so much more. ~8th grade student


Posted October 28, 2012

I would have ranked higher, but I do have some issues with the administration of DRJHS. As a busy but concerned parent, I appreciate being kept in the loop as much as possible. The school so far has sent out only a COUPLE mass emails with information. We were never informed of upcoming dances and the fact that our kids needed money for drinks as they turned off the drinking fountains in the gym and were not allowed to go outside to get drinks. That is one glaring example, there have been many other more insignificant in comparison instances where it would be nice to hear from the school. I listed my email address and phone number on every single piece of paper that came home asking for them. As far as the teachers go, they seem to care about the kids and their education, so in the end, that is what TRULY matters. I just wish the administration could exhibit the same concern.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2012

I strongly dislike this school .... The teachers are no help what so ever , I was in 7th grade there and i had to leave in the middle of the school year because i was bullied , they say that they have an anti-bullying tolerance (they don't). When i asked for help THEY DIDN'T UNDERSTAND !!! If you don't understand something you need it explained in a different way , right ... Well they don't give you a different explanation , they tell you the same thing over and over again until you end up lieing and saying you understand (but you don't). The math teachers are especially like that , The social studies teachers are cranky , The science teachers are just plain rude , The advisory (RSS) teachers are horrible. The only teachers i personally liked was my language teacher and my elective teacher. The students are rude , they CURSE , they BULLY , they act like because the school is in a high-in-neighborhood that there rich. Girls would go into the restroom and start rumors and drama. When i first saw the school i hated it. Just the way it was set up was bad. So if you do end up sending your child(ren) there PLEASE listen to them , if they say there getting bullied they most likely are.


Posted September 21, 2011

I was very unhappy with this school. My son attended in 7th grade last year and was not happy from the beginning. It was never a welcoming atmosphere. Although they claim they encourage parent involvement, it's quite opposite. They were 2 incidences during gym where my son had his possessions stolen and when I mentioned it, the response was, "oh yeah that happens...just tell your son to make sure he locks his locker". Not quite the response I expected, almost as if it was acceptable behavior. Now, I didn't expect the police to be summoned and I know these things can happen. However, I didn't expect to get such a nonchalant attitude as, oh well, it's your son's fault, your son must have not locked his locker. This happened twice! There was imposed to curb the behavior. It was as if it was too little of an issue to deal with. My son was in honors, had friends and was in sports for fall, winter and spring. He still did not like the kids. There are many clicks and they are generally mean spirited kids. They are some good kids, don't get me wrong, but, I believe they are out numbered. He did have a few good teachers that he respected and learned a great deal from, so it's not all bad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2011

Not a Fan So Far. Administration seems to be Fine no issues as of yet but extremely disappointed with the students. New to the school and the majority of the students seem to be unfriendly and flat out mean. Dirty glares and clicks. "Hi can you tell me where this class is?" No....Do I know you? Welcome to our school Not Really
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2011

Administration is difficult to work with. Cares more about paperwork than education of the students. Won't accept my wife's id and acknowledgement that we live in the boundaries because her name is not on the utility bill. What a joke. I didn't care to much for the admistration when my older son went through the school three years ago, this just further frustrates me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2011

I loved this school. I'm now headed off to the high school next door after spending my 2 years here, and because of my time at DRJHS, I feel certain that I can strive. I'll admit, the school isn't perfect and no one should expect that. My teachers were amazing, though there was one I could have done without. I always felt I could talk to the teachers if I had any problems with it. I think the music program is improving as well as the rest of the. To me, most everyone is caring or respectful, but in all honesty, you have to be in the right mind-frame to truly enjoy it here. I'll miss being a Rattler. GO DRJHS!


Posted December 11, 2009

I love this school. I never feel left out and I like the homework because its not all easy like my other school made it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 29, 2009

my child goes and i love the way its set up
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2009

'Office administrator n vice principle got problems teachers are great' I have the same feeling as the other parent reported. So I have to transfer my child to the other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2009

Office administrator n vice principle got problems teachers are great
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

I have a 7th grade and 8th grade student who attend this school and I am very pleased with it. The Principal and Vice Principal have an open communication with both the parents and the students. The teachers are great. I especially love the front office. They are very nice and respectful to anyone who enters their building. There are many opportunities for the students that help them grow educationally and emotionally!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2008

All in all, my all-time favorite school would have to be DRJHS! This school has given me confidence, amazing teachers and a truely wonderful education. Another positve asspect is that the school has so much to offer! Sports, clubs, and anything else that can possibly pop into your head is there! I personally believe that all reviewers who gave this school below average is that their teens are hanging around negative influences, and causing trouble for the faculty and staff.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 4, 2008

I attended this school for my seventh grade year, but I had too move. Sadly, I was glad I had to move. Im a very musical person and this school did not have a good musical program. It is also too crowded. It can use some work.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 16, 2008

This school is amazing. There should be more schools at this standard
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 22, 2007

I really love this school. The teachers are great, and the other kids are very nice. If I weren't already going there, then I'd make sure that I switched schools in order to.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 26, 2007

All in all, my all-time favorite school would have to be DRJHS! This school has given me confidence, amazing teachers and a truely wonderful education. Another positve asspect is that the school has so much to offer! Sports, clubs, and anything else that can possibly pop into your head is there! I personally believe that all reviewers who gave this school below average is that their teens are hanging around negative influences, and causing trouble for the faculty and staff.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 31, 2007

Desert ridge school is the best. I used to go to a middle school in tempe then i moved. at first i was a lil concerded about going here because i was afaid of not making any friends. But they turned out to be great. Wheb i first cam i thought that all the homework i was getting was unfair but then i realized it was all for the better. At tempe i was getting c, b, and sometimes ds. But now i get all A+. I love this school. PARENTS make sure you chose this school for your child!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

654 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

654 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
87%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

649 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

668 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

669 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 42%
Hispanic 19% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Black 4% 5%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 18%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (480) 625-2044

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10211 E. Madero Ave.
Mesa, AZ 85209
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 635-2025

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Imagine Prep Superstition
Apache Junction, AZ



East Valley Christian Academ
Apache Junction, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT