Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Imagine East Mesa Elementary School

Charter | K-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Mesa

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $88,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 12 ratings
2013:
Based on 11 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

58 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted today

My son is starting his 3rd year (kindergarten through now 2nd grade) and we are very excited about the coming school year. The teachers are well trained in identifing the education needs of each individual student and really helped us to develope a balanced home/school schedule that directly impacted his grades and performance. My husband is a parent volunteer in class and appreciates how fluid the educators are in adapting to new testing requirements. Overall, I would highly recommend Imagine East Mesa. My thanks to the faculty and staff there for all their dedication and hard work educating the youth of our community and continuing to establish teast school results that are at or above state testing levels. Keep moving forward!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2014

My son Is going on his 4th year at IEM. We had our struggles in the beginning with a teacher & administration staff turn over, but we are beyond happy with the education my son is getting!! Ms Porter in 1st grade is an amazing teacher and has great new ideas & so happy my son had her for 1st grade!! She really changed his thoughts on school & he is so excited to go! This year, my son had Mrs VanLonkHuyzen..... Mrs Van is incredible!! I was able to help out in the class room, so glad I was able to watch her interaction with the kiddos, she truly loves the kiddos and works her hardest to help each child out individually!! After all the changes with the administration, I'm so happy with who they have & the group is awesome!! There will always be turn over at schools, every school has their issues and people think the grass is greener on the other side but you will eventually be back.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2014

This school has been a joke over the last year my son has attended, talk about being left behind. There shouldn't a reason why all of his class work is being done incorrectly and not even noticed by teacher. No one stopping him to make sure to explain or make sure he is understands the work. He will now be repeating Kindergarten at a better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2014

I think the fact that teachers are posting is a positive thing. I have been at this school for 8 years. There isn't any other place that I would rather be working. The fact that the teachers love the school is an added bonus for our students. I truly believe if a person is happy where they work, they are blessed! I love how I feel valued as an individual and can feel comfortable and free to add my own personality and passions into my daily routines. This allows our students to have many types of experiences they may not have in a public school. My animals create leadership roles and the development of responsibility and respect. Many of the teachers go above and beyond the planning and teaching in their own classrooms. We've provided meals for the community and work hard to make sure that our students' basic needs are met. Teachers tutor after school, during breaks and early morning. Through a few major transitions we've come out strong and better than ever! I am proud to be a part of the Imagine East Mesa family and enjoy watching the students develop and grow into the leaders of the future! Going to work with such amazing kids is truly a joy!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 4, 2014

Imagine East Mesa is a great school and a great place to work. Coming from a public school IEM is a breath of fresh air. The teachers, leadership team, instructional aides and office staff are incredible. We are a family who work together to meet the needs off all students. People who post negative reviews are simple minded and don't know what's best for kids. I am confident in saying IEM is a GREAT school. Come see for yourself if you don't believe me.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 4, 2014

Imagine East Mesa is a great place to work with amazing leadership. I have been a teacher there for the last two years and have loved every minute of it, especially in comparison to other schools I have worked at. I am feel very supported and everyone on staff comes together to support children however they need it! IEM is a great place to be!! Go Roadrunners!!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 4, 2014

Let me preface this by saying that everyone is entitled to their own opinion. That being said, I have had nothing but great experiences my entire year here as a teacher. From the administration to the office staff and fellow teachers and support staff, I have never met more wonderful and caring individuals. Not being here last year I cannot speak for the turmoil, but I cannot understand how a teacher could leave their position mid-year. I know some were due to extreme illness and family issues and those must come first, but anything else is inexcusable. We make a commitment to our students for the school year and regardless of our personal feelings towards the administration or other staff members, we must honor that commitment. What exactly are we teaching our children when we quit?
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 4, 2014

My son was with the Florence Unified District for 7 years. I worked day in and day out with him and there were always multiple excuses about not wanting to go to school. His grades were persistent C's and high D's. His older teachers used to call me and tell me he NEVER applied himself. I ended up pulling him out in November 2013 due to a separate issue that was ignored for almost a year. On his first report card he was ALL A's! I have never seen him so excited to show me a report card. He raves about EVERY teacher and I get compliments on him. Our teachers go out of their way to help students, even after school! One of our teachers said "If he can't figure out his homework here's my cell phone number you have him call me!" Seriously!!!! Where else are you going to find this kind attention?! East Mesa should have been my son's home from the beginning! I love our veteran teachers and love seeing so many of them advancing within the Imagine Family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2014

This was my first year teaching at this school and it has been amazing. The administration is very supportive and the entire campus is a huge family. Everyone genuinely cares about each other and work well together. I am so impressed that I am pulling my child out of public school and bringing them here next year. If I had ANY doubts in my mind about this school, my own child would not be attending. I know my child will get the best education possible here from the amazing staff.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 23, 2014

I have two children who attend here and love it. The teachers are awesome and communicate with me all of the time. I volunteer once a week and the atmosphere is great. The school has many after school programs/sports that the children can be part of. I think they are doing a great job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2014

This is my 5th year with Imagine. Out of the 5 years there was only one year I questioned whether or not I made the right choice to move from a public school. I DID! I have been nothing but impressed with the Leadership the last two years, the Teacher's are all Highly Qualified, the support staff are welcoming and friendly, and the office staff always have a smile on their faces. But the most important reason I love this school is my kids! They love going everyday! This is truly an awesome school. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2014

I am not impressed at all with the office staff and how they handle issues with the children. The rules are not the same across the board. Once child does and action, the other does the same thing and the actions taken are completely opposite. they also have nothing to offer kids with special needs. They have no staff to accommodate the needs of these kids. If your child is smart and can fly under the radar this school is for them. We have three kids there 2 do great and the other no so much. Disappointed and after 5 years with this school we are saying goodbye.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2013

My 4th grader is very happy at this school. I am not sure if the negative reviews are posted to the correct school - every concern we have had about bullying were promptly and appropriately addressed. Some new teachers, some have been there for quite some time - normal in every school, and not sure why it matters, since the kids get a new teacher each year. Regardless, the staff is kind and caring, and they seem to know all of the kids. I will be enrolling a kindergartener next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2013

At the end of the 2012-2013 school year, I withdrew both of my kids from this school. The rate of teacher turnover was staggeringly high under the administration at that time, and including the unexplained firing of my son's favorite teacher. The administration at the school does not appear to be trustworthy, and continually engages in cover-ups and double-speak. And they permit bullying and other forms of abuse by students on the campus, with no significant consequences for the perpetrators (my son's class). This was easily the worst elementary school I have ever encountered, and I'm quite content with my decision to send my children elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2013

My grandsons have attended this school since pre-k. One is in fourth grade and the other in second. I have volunteered in their classrooms once weekly for tne past five years. I have been very happy with the genuine caring of the teachers and support staff. I am able to observe not only what is going on in their classrooms, but I get to see how the students in other rooms behave in the hallways. I walk past many classrooms and am always pleased to see students actively engaged. The music program is outstanding. I heartily recommend this school.


Posted August 26, 2013

not a good school.... very dirty... non- friendly no smiling face... lot of favorism.. money hunger..... non accessible.... no communication.. and the list goes on and on... will not return next year
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2013

This was my childs first school, there was POOR Communication with the front office; instead of getting informatiom... I always had to request it. I got more information at Taft Elementry then here. Where's the high standars??
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2013

Imagine East Mesa is an excellent school! All of the teachers and staff on campus teach the students character education and with the Leader in Me program we are truly growing leaders on our campus. Our school now offers Band and Choir in middle school and we have winning sports teams. Our Elementary Honor Society is going to do great things for our community. We are a school that is passionate about helping those in need and making our community stronger. Our Preschool program is unbelievable and our Before and After care program is professionally run and the kids love it! I have worked here for several years now and I never see myself working for any other school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 20, 2013

This was my childs first year there. The management was so bad that it effected the students ability to learn. Teachers were coming and going like a revolving door. The bullying by many of the student body were not handled effectively and were never stopped.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2013

I have 2 children at Imagine East Mesa. My oldest has been attending since Kindergarten and will be entering 6th grade next year. Imagine East Mesa has the most caring and dedicated staff I have ever encountered. They value academics but they also value and educate the "whole" child. Everyone at the school from the leadership, the teachers, the aides, EVERYONE is invested 100% to help my child not only be successful academically but to be successful as a kind and caring person. I recommend Imagine East Mesa to everyone I meet.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 42%
Hispanic 26% 43%
Black 8% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 55%N/A47%
Female 51%N/A49%
Male 49%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (602) 445-8100

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9701 E. Southern Ave.
Mesa, AZ 85208
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 445-8000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT