Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Meridian

Public | PK-6 | 868 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Wednesday, September 17, 2014

The new Principal is extraordinary. He is very professional and the new teachers at the school take such an interest in the students. It is refreshing to see such renewed enthusiasm.


Posted February 7, 2014

So upset with the front office staff and their lack of customer service. We are paying their wages and we often feel harassed by them as if our kids are less than. Very clickish....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2013

Our family has had an AWFUL experience at Meridian Elem. We have 2 children here- 3rd grade special education and the "gifted" 1st grade program. The SPED (Autism specific) program is severely lacking and has EXTREMELY limited support to the teacher. I came for a scheduled "volunteer" day in the SPED room to find my child alone in the corner holding adult scissors. The "gifted" 1st grade program consists of "extra worksheets" and homework. There's very limited advanced learning in the actual classroom-it's a "mixed" level classroom and time is spent getting other students up to grade level. The principal (12/2013) is a very frigid unfeeling woman worried about the bottom line before the safety or learning of the students. I've never seen a smile or a kind word from her. We moved from the Midwest with high expectations from the ratings. DO NOT BE FOOLED. Test scores only take you so far. Class size is HIGH, support is LOW. There are some great teachers, but they are hard to find. I am sure they move elsewhere due to lack of support and encouragement from the principal. I urge you to research Charter schools and exhaust all options before purposely choosing this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

My daughter is in her second year at Meridian. I've had no complaints other than pick up takes quite a long time in the car loop but I imagine that to be the norm. My daughter has really liked both her teachers. Ms Singer and Mrs. Prach are both great. They are dedicated to teaching not only the curriculum, but discipline with positive reinforcement and working as a group. Great school. I don't like how students are released at a different time on Wednesdays but still happy overall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2013

Meridian Elementary has been a wonderful school experience for my third grader. We have had a positive experience in all area's of his education thus far. The Teacher's and staff have been a real asset for this school. The Principal -Mrs Hester is TOP NOTCH. The PTSO does a TERRIFIC JOB in providing the major purchases the school wants and needs. Job well done Meridian Elementary. Sincerely, Barbara Porter
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2012

I wish front office staffs were nicer and welcoming to kids and parents. Principle seems nice, little stiff at times. I don t feel welcome whenever I am there helping in class. I believe they can be more polite and respectful. After all we are the taxpayers too and public school is our right and they need to stop looking at kids and parents as burden and please someof the staff may want to stop complaining about how hard their job is, many of us don t even have a job at this time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2011

I LOVE the principal and all the staff I know here!!! My daughter has an exceptional Kindergarten teacher who is both caring/positive and teaches my daughter exceptionally well! Would recommend school to all!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2011

I agree with the writer parent sept 20 . At first I was happy about the school and the teachers, but as the month s passes, I am less impressed. It seems most teachers and staffs are not happy with their job, most seem unapproachable. They seem to be uptight therefore enforce harsh policies and give Write Ups for some nonsense incidents! The children need positive instruction and teaching, not punishment and write-ups. I believe in counseling and encouragement not harsh penalties, especially these super young kids. Negative reaction by teachers and principle will not help them but positive reinforcement will. How about giving them positive smiley notes for their good act? Not sure if my children will finish out this year at this school. They are not "what I consider excellent or even good school for my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2011

Not very happy with my kid teacher or principle. They have few policies that are not logical for young kiddos.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2011

I have a son in kindergarten and another son in second grade. My second grader is in an IEP program and is receiving excellent attention which is showing in his grades. We are very happy with the teachers & staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2010

I think the school has excellent teachers and challenging academic programs. The ALP program for 4th through 6th is awesome. I couldn't ask for a better teacher. He makes it fun and exciting and the kids excell. The problem is in Jr High, there is no ALP. There are honors classes, but I don't feel my kids are learning as much or as fast as they did in the ALP program. As for parent involvement, I feel there is little parent involvement in classrooms, various meetings, and fundraisers throughout the year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2010

I can't believe someone would give the school only three stars and then misspell "strict". Sounds to me like someone should be attending Meridian Elementary to regain an understanding of basic words and how to spell them. Maybe that's the reason that individual cannot spell correctly - there were not enough "STRICK" teachers (as they put it). How sad...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2010

This is my daughter's second year at Meridian. We have had a great experience with the Teachers and Staff at Meridian. My only complaint is parking. Both lots are very small and do not offer many spaces for parents to park.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2009

the school is ok but it has some strick teachers in it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2009

We have been at Meridian since our son enrolled in their first kindergarten class in 2000. We've been 100% impressed with this school and all its faculty. The principal is very effective and also very progressive. Whenever problems are identified, she intervenes, quickly and effectively. The teachers have all been excellent in communicating with us about class activities and any challenges our child is facing in the classroom. The PTSO does an awesome job and we have never had an unpleasant encounter with any staff member -- they're always extremely hepful. I think the staff at Meridian does an exceptional job and I'm glad our child attends school there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2009

5 For all areas. I've found the entire staff to be kind, caring and friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2008

I don't know how many people know this but......public education is underfunded!!!!! If you want schools to change, vote or e-mail congressmen and senate officials! There are 20-25 students in every class. I hate to tell you that your child isn't going to get their undivided attention! I know that little Sally and Timmy are the best children ever! But you have to take care of some things at home. The principal does a darn good job dealing with some of the nutjob parents out there. Every time I've called the school, she calls me back within the next day. The teachers are the sweetest people ever. They give me tips on what to help with the kids and they actually care about the kids. If you want a teacher or principal to focus just on your student send them to a boarding school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2007

Coming from a charter school over the past 3 years it has been a delight at Meridian. The staff are so delightful and refreshing after our experience there. The discipline is handled in such a positive manner in comparison. The principal is very hands on...knows the children by name...goes into the classrooms regularly...and even makes the morning announcements herself each day. I have been impressed overall with the staff at Meridian. I have also observed the aides on the playground and how they speak to the children there. Kids can be very disrespectful, but the aides speak to them with respect, unlike some schools. This school also encourages a lot of parental involvement which is so very important. I am so glad that we made the change here when we did.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2007

I am very dissapointed with Meridian. The school has not handled the all day kindergarten classes very well. My child's teacher has missed quite a few days of school this year due to scheduled seminars to advance her teaching ability. I am seriously rethinking my decision to send my child to public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2007

Moving from Maryland, we were extremely dissatisified with the quality of education at Meridian, from the principal to the teachers. In a nut shell, we agree with the parent who posted 6June07. We have experienced the same problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

149 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
78%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 42%
Hispanic 18% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Black 4% 5%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 18%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (480) 497-4039

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3900 S. Mountain Road
Mesa, AZ 85212
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 497-0742

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ala Mesa
Mesa, AZ






Ranch Elementary School
San Tan Valley, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT