Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cambridge Academy East

Charter | K-6 | 273 students

Small classroom sizes and highly qualified Teachers
 
 

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 12 ratings
2011:
Based on 19 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted April 12, 2011

The vision of Cambridge Academy East is an excelling, achievement-oriented environment where children in grades K-8 learn, master, and eventually apply foundational skills in a sequence that logically builds from the most basic elementary content to increasingly higher order conceptual thinking. We are a school committed to the family, embracing the notion that the school is an extension of the home, and therefore we must work together to achieve success. It is our belief that all children have the ability to achieve greatness and become the person they dream of being. At Cambridge Academy East, we provide a rigorous and Arizona State Standards aligned curriculum, disciplined environment where our students are academically and socially prepared to excel in demanding college preparatory schools.

111 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 8, 2008

My daughter loves her teacher and loves going to school everyday! She has learned so much this year and I am definitely sending her back next year! We went to the open house at Zaharis and I was not impressed at all. They had no chairs for the students? No individual desks with chairs? That is only the beginning of the issues. I am so glad we found Cambridge Academy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2008

A person writes that he is disapointed becasue the school is so small....but that is the benefit of being at Cambridge. the classes are small, the teachers get one on one time with students and the kids LEARN! There is a multipurpose room that functions when PE needs to be indoors, when there is an assembly and as a cafeteria. The kids get music in their classrooms....there is not need for a room. Art room, every classroom displays the handiwork of the kids....If he wanted these thing s he should go to a bigger school. I am leaving my 4 kids at Cambridge and would not consider anything else. Until I moved close I drove 45 minutes one way to get them to the school where they get the best education, a smaller social environment and warm friendly greetings each day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2008

One of the things we love most about Cambridge Academy is that it is a small school. We find the teachers and staff very friendly and know my children and our family by name. You won't find that at a public school with 400+ students. So what if they are short on rooms for PE-Music-Spanish and Art. The school is growing each year. At least they still offer these programs!!! Many schools are removing programs like these or don't offer them period. What is more important, to have their own room to learn these special programs or that they are provided the exposure to these areas? These are the reasons my children are at Cambridge: Awesome & Caring teachers and staff-Wonderful programs Art-Music-Spanish and PE-Year round schedule.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2008

I love this school and it's wide range of academics offered. Many schools are taking away Art from their programs. My children have brought home some fabulous art projects this year. Their art teacher exposes them to different styles of art and even teaches them about artists. I was amazed my 4th grader could recognize a Van Gogh painting when we were out. Allowing art in a classroom provides children with the opprotunity to grow beyond the 3 R's. They are allowed the priviledge to be creative and open minded. Not all students are successful in math or spelling. Art has helped my children's self esteem and opened them to endless possibilities. I hope art continues to be something provided at Cambridge. My children look forward to it each week!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2008

The last two reviews are obviously from the same disgruntled parent. My question for him/her would be- why are you still there? Why would you keep your child at a place where they aren't learning? My child loves this school. I also came because of the reviews. I knew however that the reviews would be subjective and that one school cannot possibly meet the needs of everyone. I can only speak for myself. Moving my child to this school was the best thing i ever did for my child. He is getting a fantastic education and all of the teachers, staff, and administrators are wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2008

I am so glad the school year is almost over. I can't wait to remove my child from this biased school. My child hates to go to school and it is an effort to get to school every day. My child says the teacher has her favorites. At Parent-Teacher Conferences I felt the teacher had another agenda that was more important and she couldn't wait to get it over and done with. I was wasting her time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2007

My son has been a student at Cambridge Academy for the past four years. His teachers have challenged and nurtured him every step of the way. We are very happy with our decision to send him to Cambridge, and we highly recommend the school to anyone looking for an alternative to public education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2007

My son graduated from Cambridge this year. We are fortunate to have found this school for our son as I was not as lucky when I was his age. He was excited to go to school everyday and academically he is more than prepared for Junior High. He keeps asking me if we can still go vack to visit Cambridge next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2007

I drove 36,000 miles in 1 year to bring my children to this school. It was worth every mile and every drop of gas that went into my tank. My Children are 2 grade levels ahead or their friends in the Florence School District. The teachers are excellent! They go above and beyond! The office staff know your child by name. International night is awesome! Field trips-I wish that I went to Cambridge as a kid. The Science projects the kids did were great. You will not be disappointed if you send your child to this school! Cambridge prepared my children for our next part of our journey. I will always be grateful for them!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2007

I have been very pleased with Cambridge Academy. My children seem to be very happy attending this school. There are some great teachers currently employed... however there does seem to be turnover that the parents are not notified as to the why? This school also needs to incorporate Spanish as part of the daily curriculum. Spanish is currently taught once a week. This would allow our children to compete in todays world. If your child struggles with any subject(s) the teaching staff is available to coach/help once a week! Overall we are delighted with the leadership this school has taken and feel they are on some of the cutting edge of today's issues,i.e. global warming. I would recommend this school to anyone wanting a smaller environment for their children in the early years!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2007

I love this school, my child just finished her 2nd year at this school, and I have to say I am thrilled at the things that she learned,while also having fun. Besides reading, writing, math, they also offered extra activities, like a fabulous field trips, Honor Roll Night,Talent Show, Battle of the Books,etc. All the comforts of a public school without the chaos. My children are so excited about their year, that they cannot wait for next year. I reccomend this school to everyone. What a great positive learning enviornment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2007

In an August 2006 review it says social studies and sciences are limited... Well, I am glad to say that is very wrong. Each year they hold International Night where the kids show off what they learned about different countries to the communities, they have and excellent well rounded social studies program, including a great program on Arizona and the desert. And science, well, they don't cause explosions in a chemistry lab, but my sons and daughter are very well versed in science. How many Kindergartners can tell you all about snakes and which are venomous, and they do a super job on space exploration too. Save Chemistry for Junior High, Cambridge is doing a great job teaching them the things that matter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2007

After two months at this school I pulled my child. My child learned very little. Homework was given in lessons that hadn't been taught and I fount the teacher was more interested in gabbing than teaching. As a school, I think it leaves a lot to be desired!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2006

I just love this school. It has made all the diffrence in my childs education. The small classroom is wonderful. Having moved my child from a nearby school with 30 kids in a class, it's nice to know that a home life enviorment is still available. I feel the teachers truley enjoy teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2006

I think Cambridge Academy is a great school for kids who need to be challenged and work ahead. For kids who struggle I feel they get left behind.They work so far ahead that my son just ended up lost and left behind. I also think they do not hold kids accountable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2006

They do a good job teaching reading...but that is about the only subject that they teach well. The science and social studies programs are very limited. There are some quality teachers at Cambridge, but the tremendous amount of nepotism doesn't allow for high quality teachers and administrators. In short...run, don't walk away from Cambridge Academy East.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2006

In my opinion Cambridge Academy is one of the best charter schools in the state of Arizona and definately in the east valley. My children are in their 3rd year there. Each morning there is a staff member to greet your child as you drop them off and most know the children by name. It is a small school with small class sizes. I love that and so do my kids! They really get to know their classmates and staff and become like an extended family. I talk with friends and can't believe their nightmares. I would highly recommend to any parent truly concerned with their child receiving the best education possible to check it out!
—Submitted by a staff


Posted August 3, 2006

I feel that Cambridge Academy East, is the best grade school. My Grandson attends school there and is in 6th grade. He is an above average student and it is hard to find a school that will work with the bright students. Cambridge does. Cambridge makes sure every student has the opportunity to excel. They go above and beyond to make the student feel good about themself. Each accomplishment is praised. I highly recommend this school to anyone who cares about the education their child receives. I work at Cambridge and I am the school Grandma. We are one big happy family, all the staff knows every student. We have an excellent PTO that has family activities each month. That means, Mom, Dad, Brother, Sister, Grandparents, Aunts and Uncles. We love family involvement. If you are looking for the best school, please visit Cambridge Academy East. You won't be disappointed.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted July 1, 2006

The staff is caring and takes the time to get to know the student body. Our son's test scores stayed high and he was challenged to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2006

I was very disappointed in this school. The attire that some teachers chose to wear was extremely questionable.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 42%
Hispanic 16% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 49%N/A49%
Male 51%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Dance club: Hip Hop
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Girls on the run

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Amy Monarrez, Principal
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (480) 325-2365

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Foreign languages
  • Science
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Sunshine Acres
  • A+ Plus Catering
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Flag football
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Team Sports instruction
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Softball
  • Team Sports instruction

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Dance club: Hip Hop
  • Drama club
  • Girls on the run
  • National Honor Society
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Our students are encouraged to set goals. We are focused on getting students prepared for higher learning. Our students start with a dream and finish with a future! Unlike traditional K-6 Elementary schools, we enter our 5th and 6th graders onto our Enhanced Educational Track. This includes Common Core studies, experiencing different teachers for each core principle and Enrichment courses heavily based in science and technology. Please call Heather Montoya for more information! 480-641-2828.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Smith Junior High
Fremont Junior High
Shepherd Junior High
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9412 E. Brown Rd.
Mesa, AZ 85207
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 641-2828

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT