Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Highland Jr High School

Public | 7-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 7, 2013

HJHS is a sad excuse for a school! The children run the place. The lack of respect of children, as well as the staff and teachers there is absolutely unbelievable! Thank God for charter schools!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 13, 2010

3rd year of having a child in the school. Given the economic environment and the status of school funding around the state, I give HJHS a 5 out of 5. So pleased with the teachers, programs, and staff. Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2009

Highland is so amazing with its students, like me, and teachers. It is a good school for any child.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 4, 2009

Highland JR. High is 1 of the best schools out there. The teachers are amazing the principal does his job wonderfully and the students are nice everyone is so caring its hard to believe it. I miss this school so much! I love You Ms. Redden Mr. Brazill(with 2 ls) Mrs. Deaton, Mr.Day(R.I.P), Mrs.Cuppage, Mrs.Bennet
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 3, 2009

Every school will have that one teacher your kid will not like, and yes meeting are durning the day so parents can interact with the child. One bump in the road does not make this a bad school. They have an amazing staff. Ex: Mr.Macnamara, Mr.Tontello, Mrs.Cavalletto, Mrs.Carrio, Mrs.Kulkarni, Mrs.Chilton, and Mrs.Barnhart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2008

Highland Jr is an excellent school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 30, 2008

This school rocks! I love it! I love all my teachers ( Mr. Brazill, Ms. Barnhardt, Mr. Smith, Mrs. Deaton are my favorite!). And I love the principal! They are all so nice and the conselors care SO much! Everyone is always smiling and happy! The students are always willing to work together and accept others! It is so fun there! The school has a great enviroment, too! In class we always do hands on activities! It's truee I've only been there one year, but it feels like a life time! I can't wait until next year! I wish this was my school forever!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 10, 2008

I think HJHS is a wonderful school with the most caring and hands-on staff ever!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2008

This school totally rocks my sox!! The tachers are awesome and way fair and most of the kids are pretty nice to eachother. We love you mr. o'hara, mr. v, mrs. almanza, and everyone else too :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 26, 2008

Well I go there right now and all I can say is its amazing! Yes, we do have cliques, but every group is willing to add another member to the group. There aren't drugs or alcohal and mainly, there aren't that many bullies. Its a fun and safe inviorment! Every last Friday of the month, we have a guest speaker from the organization of 'Not My Kid' and I love those talks. They tell us about eating disorders, drugs abuse, bypolar disorder, everything! The people speaking have gone through it and don't say 'Don't do drugs' but rather tell you the truth behind it all in a first person stance. Its a wonderful thing! Also, their academic levels are always high and athletics are wonderful! I was a part of the softball team and had a blast!!! We won the district conference and I have to say the coach was fantastic!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 10, 2008

I was recently a student at Highland Jr. High School about 2 months ago, I just moved to Florida. But I also attended Highland Jr. last year and for a couple of months this year, and I honestly think that is the best school out there. Everyone there is amazing. The teachers are great at what they do, even if they can be a little crucial at it, they do it for a reason. The students are one of a kind, you will never meet anyone like them. The staff workers are very nice and do a good job. I would do anything to go back to this school, it was like a home to me. Also, the after school games they had a lot of fun, I enjoyed being there with my friends and watching or just hanging out. I learned a lot at this school, and I love the French teacher Mrs. Hodgson!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 6, 2008

there are more non-morman kids than there is. there are different groups that the students hang with. i personaly don't stik with one group and branch out to different groups. yes some kids are bullies and maybe the mormans have high standerds and thoughs who notice it respect them but i think it is just on how the kids act and there parenting at home.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 3, 2008

I don't know what people are talking about when it comes to mormons, that's not true. and Highland is a fatastic school. When i first thought about the school i wanted to go to last year, i didn't ever think 'HIGHLAND', but when i got to meet the people that were there already, i thought otherwise. Yes, there are cliques, but what school doesn't have them? And the school support the kids have for games, activities, everything. they brong so much tp the table. I should know becuase i go to every game! I know there are alot of cliques but in the end, we all come together and it's great. It is the best school, really.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 18, 2007

Mr.Bowers is the best priciple ever and the teachers are great
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 13, 2007

I don't know what one of the parents was saying on a couple pages back about being mormon you get treated better that is not true. There are barely any mormons at this school and believe me you don't get treated better. On another note our pto is very very cliquish. I think it's horrible. Also we have some good teachers and some bad teachers.Just to name a few Mrs. Almanza, Ms. Cuppage, Mrs. Carrillo, and Mr. O'Hara and don't forget Miss Barnhart.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 9, 2007

Highland is a great school and I don't know what parents are talking about. I never see anyone bullied or being favorited and the principal is great. The school is not overcrowded and everywhere I go I see a smiling face, I am a cheerleader this year and it is awesome how much we Hurricanes support each other, some parents need to get a life and not take their probs out on the awesome hjhs! <3
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 24, 2007

Two of my girls have already graduated from this junior high and my son will soon be attending. I found it to be a wonderful school with great leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

We moved our daughter from a small k-8 to this school for 7th grade. Her teachers were very dedicated but there was not a lot of one-on-one due to the class sizes. Parents are not very involved and almost expected not to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2006

we have had a great experience at this school, from students, to teachers, to adminitration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

Impossible for working parents to contribute as all meeting are scheduled during working hours. Absolutely no outside people asked to help with anyone other than the 'clique'.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

661 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

661 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

659 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

634 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

634 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 42%
Hispanic 14% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Black 4% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 15%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6915 E. Guadalupe Rd.
Mesa, AZ 85212
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 632-4739

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT