Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Irving Elementary School

Public | PK-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 8, 2013

I love this school! All 3 of my children have been here since kindergarten. All have had amazing teachers and do very well academically. Above their grade level. They have a new principal who is very involved with the parents and addresses parents concerns very quickly. She's very approachable and the office staff is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2013

My children have been here since Kindergarten, my oldest now in 6th. She has loved every teacher here. My others have also loved their teachers. They help them work to their full potential. The office staff always helps me with my questions and the principal is always involved and willing to answer questions and address concerns one might have as a parent. I am very pleased with this school so much that my children are here on a boundary exception.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2008

The school pricipal is very set in her ways and works inside the box when it comes to the kids and parent issues. I feel that the school is at or below average in academics and that some of the teachers can only teach to the children that get it. They have no plan in place to help the children who need extra guidance. My 3rd child is there now and I would not recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2008

My son attended Irving and had his very best academic experiences. He started there in 3rd grade and had excellent teachers every year since. The teachers were very approachable and seemed to have my child's best interest at heart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2007

I have 2 children at Irving and so far neither of them has gotten a decent teacher. There is no communication what so ever. The are so many safety issues there is not enough room to list them. And the child drop off is a joke. I will definitely be switching schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2006

Our son went to M.E.L.P. at Irving from January till May of 2006. His teacher, Mrs. Leopold was great. He had a great experience with school and looked forward to going each day. He will be going to Johnson this year. Thanks for a great experience for our son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2005

I believe this school has good academic quality, I don't believe that they always have the child's best interest at hand. I would have liked to have seen more parent-teacher communication since it would seem like months before I would get any type of report on how my child would do. I believe they have a great P.E program, and their academic program is ok but my daughter was not challenged as much as I would have liked. They do have great administration in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2004

I am not at all satisfied w/ this school and their education process. The office staff are rude. I requested my child get tested for learning issues I saw and it was never done!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2003

My children have attended Irving Elementary for all 7 grades. Overall I have been satisfied with the school, although I believe certain teachers were not as hard on the students as necessary for growth potential.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 42%
Hispanic 42% 43%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 5%
Black 3% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 72%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (480) 472-1699

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3220 E Pueblo
Mesa, AZ 85204
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 472-0200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT