Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Canyon Del Oro High School 3

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
This school was looking rundown before the renovation that began a year or two ago, but looks much better now. I do like most of the teachers, but I am not sure of others. Communication is poor and classes have too many students per teacher--making it very hard to judge how well the teachers are doing. Some kids do fine in this environment while others are left behind--like my child. I had to go pay a math tutor to get my child extra help because the math tutoring at school is suffering from too many kids and my child is only able to ask one question per session and the same happens in class. Unfortunately, BASIS is the only Charter High School nearby and Pusch Ridge $$$ the only private High School. Too bad, I know a lot of people who went to this School in the 1980's and did well.

Canyon Del Oro High School 5

Posted January 29, 2013
- a parent
The new International Baccalaureate program at Canyon Del Oro has proven to be extremely challenging for my child. He has seven challenging courses and is learning for the first time how to manage his time, which will benefit him greatly once he is in college. The IB teachers and counselor have been supportive and have responded immediately to my questions and concerns. It is difficult implementing a new program and I feel the teachers and administrators at CDO are open to feedback from parents and students. With a few minor adjustments , the International Baccalaureate program will be successful and will attract high achieving students from across the city. Most of the Phoenix Schools that offer an IB program have spent years perfecting their programs. I do feel that freshman students that are interested in the IB program should receive introductory seminars/classes on time management and research skills so when they enter the IB program as juniors, students are well prepared for success.


Canyon Del Oro High School 3

Posted January 27, 2013
- a parent
The new International Baccalaureate program is a disorganized joke. This program is no where near as great as the programs offered in Phoenix High Schools. The administration is impotent. The security staff discriminates against white students because they are mostly Hispanic. This is found throughout the campus but certainly in handling behavior, dress code, etc. The administration doesn't communicate with parents. Teachers are not required to post grades in a timely manner and don't care about student success. The only exception is Chris Yetman who is excellent in the math program.

Canyon Del Oro High School 0
no rating

Posted October 12, 2010
- a parent
I graduated from CDO in 1991; therefore, I have nostalgic affinity.

Canyon Del Oro High School 5

Posted September 07, 2010
- a parent
This is an excellent school. My children love attending it. The teachers do an excellent job teaching using 21st Century Skills!


Canyon Del Oro High School 5

Posted April 04, 2006
- a parent
Great place on all levels to learn/grow!

Canyon Del Oro High School 5

Posted March 21, 2006
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Canyon Del Oro High School 5

Posted February 02, 2006
- a parent
I'm very pleased with CDO High School. The quality of (most) teachers seems very high. The class choices as well as the extra-curricular activities are almost overwhelming. The safety of the school seems good, and the students who attend seem to be top-notch. I highly recommend this high school.


Canyon Del Oro High School 5

Posted January 22, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Canyon Del Oro High School 5

Posted December 28, 2005
- a parent
It has an excellent academic program (including AP courses)that is an excellent training ground for college. In addition, it also forsters a tremendous sense of community through an array of extra-curricular activities. My daughter's educational/psycho-social needs are definitely being met!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Canyon Del Oro High School
25 West Calle Concordia, Oro Valley, AZ  85704
(520) 696-5000
Last modified Canyon Del Oro High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Canyon Del Oro High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top