Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Montessori Academy

Charter | PK-8 | 210 students

MA looks at the whole child , has strong academics, & engages minds.

 
 

Living in Paradise Valley

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $820,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 21 ratings
2012:
Based on 17 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

61 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 4, 2013

TERRIBLE. The camous is filthy. the teacher turnover is high and it is chaos. The students (and teachers) are unkind and generally not good roles models. In short, a waste of time. It is all a sales pitch- not at all academic but simply a way for the charter holders to make money. Don't waste your time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2013

The principle had a very good sales pitch/presentation of the school which is what intially sparked my interest in having my daughter attend this school. After the first semester my daughter had to go back to Kindegarten at the new school she now attends. Not happy at all that we wasted the first part of the school year at Montessori Academy. This school seems more like a daycare than a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2013

Actually zero stars. My happy child became quite depressed here. He never complains about anything, but did say a few things about his teacher that made me question how she was handling the children. I began to have other concerns with the school as well such as low academic standards, no communication to parents, school in poor repair, etc. One day I heard him playing school with his stuffed animals and suddenly the animals were attending "Mean Academy". When I told him he would be switching schools he gave me a big smile and asked hopefully "tomorrow?" By the way he is a good student, not a behavior problem, and has lots of friends. The stories he has since told me about MA have not been good. He is happy and excelling at his new school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2013

Sadly, this school is a joke. After almost 4 years there we pulled our kids half way through the year. It is nothing but pure chaos and disorganization. The communication between teachers and parents is awful and the parents never know what is going on. The finances are a mess, there is never any money and the students are the ones that suffer from it. Instead of fixing the problems at hand they have decided to add a high school. This is laughable as they can't properly educate the kids they have now! I know this first hand as we were just informed that our daughter is way behind the average first grade level and now requires tutoring several times a week to try and get her caught up with the rest of her class! They have no business educating children. Stay far far away!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2013

Truth and honesty....This is a great school. There were a couple of students that left, but there were more that started at the school in January. I know one student left because he moved and was very sad to leave! Two teachers moved out of state and were also sad to leave! The school has amazing replacements! My kids have attended Montessori Academy for years and they have scored high in academics, have a love of learning, travel and are very independent. The perfect Montessori environment for us!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2012

Montessori Academy is finally hitting their stride. The school moved to a new campus a few years ago, and it took some time to work out the issues with the new buildings and some new staff. But they have quickly grown this into an excellent school. They have a 9:1 student to teacher ratio, they promote respect and self direction, and they teach every student to his or her own peak level. Every kid at this school gets a custom fit education. In the 2.5 years that my kids have attended MA, I have never once seen a behavioral or bullying problem from any child. It is simply not tolerated here. On the contrary - the older kids teach the younger kids, if someone drops their lunch, there is no laughing - there are 4 kids rushing over to help them pick it up. My first grader is doing 3rd grade work, and continually blows away his cousin's parents with his drive, motivation, respectful behavior, and inteligence. If you want your kid to have a free ipad, you are going to have to send them to a public school. But if you want them to be well rounded, confident, and smart, MA is an excellent choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2012

Our children have been going to Montessori for 3 years now. The staff is amazing and treat the children with respect. You don't see that in alot of the public schools around here. Believe me we have tried almost all of them. My son had a bad experience from another school and they were so understanding with him letting him learn to like school. I don't think any other school would have helped the way they did. I think they teach things that other schools don't it is not just about test scores it is about teaching the whole child. If you want your child to learn to respect others and love learning this is the school for you. I just hope they have the highschool ready when my kids are ready!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2012

My family has been part of the Montessori Academy community since 2002. My daughter came from a public school & was transformed into a curious student who loved learning within the first semester. She has only fond memories of her school days. Not long after she graduated, my son started there. Montessori Academy is like a second home to our family. The teachers & admin are accessible and responsive through emails or in person, handling any issue with careful consideration and competence. Truly, this is a Montessori learning environment that takes a holistic approach while finding the right path to learning for each child. They are supportive & passionate about kids. The school moved from a tiny campus in south Scottsdale 3yrs ago & doubled their attendance. The dedication & determination of the admin to do great things with this transition was palpable. This permeated throughout the school community to form an organic hands on mindset among parents and teachers alike. If you are thinking about trying a Montessori school, I would definitely recommend taking a tour. Also, prospective students may spend a day shadowing a MA student to get a good feel for the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2012

It is interesting that the person who posted the previous comment has been keeping track of how many negative posts there have been, and where they have gone. This seems to suggest that they are watching and adding negative comments as needed. This website is great, if used properly. If you are posting more than one comment on your experience, you may be giving a skewed view of how many negative experiences people have had. Please have your say and move on. Many of us love the school and staff. We will have our say once, please only have yours once.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2012

Glad to hear YOUR child is doing well at AZMA. Please try to pull your head out of the sand long enough to realize that your experience is just that, YOURS. MY experience, and that of several of our friends, was much, much different. My child went into AZMA Kindergarten performing at a high second grade level thanks in part to an amazing pre-school, and a lot of hard word at home. In our first year at AZMA, practically all the teacher did was sing songs and have the children color pictures. There was NO academic instruction whatsoever. I know this first hand because I observed the class on several occasions. So you go right ahead and be "appalled" that someone had an experience that did not match your own. I for one, am appalled that this school is allowed to "educate" children at all. As I said, I am very glad to hear that YOUR child had a positive experience at AZMA. Mine absolutely did not.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2012

Our daughter's teachers at Montessori Academy are TERRIFIC! Our daughter is excelling on her AIMS test and in the classroom. We are active at the school and love the teachers and administration. They are exceptional and so devoted to the success of their students. I am appalled that any parent would write rude and untrue statements about this school. Perhaps they should look at themselves if their child isn't succeeding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2012

I'm so pleased with this school. My children attended a different Montessori School in Scottsdale and came home each day with feelings of low self esteem and worthlessness. My son is very intelligent and active. The principal at Montessori Academy along with his teachers have worked so hard to help my son. On our last parent conference I actually became emotional because of their genuine care and desire to help all students. If your're considering this school you won't be disappointed
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2012

I am so happy for my daughter to be at such a wonderful school!! The teachers and assistants are all so great! The administration does an amazing job in communicating to the parents on a very profesisonal friendly level. I have seen all the growth the school has been through, and is still thriving to be the top school in arizona. This is what Montessori is all about, great people all working together as a team for a better future!! Our children.....thank you Montessori Academy for everything you are doing!! All of the negative comments that people put on here are really sad to hear, but it should also make you think about the children they put in montessori. Just because they dont get their way, they think they can talk badly about a school. Instead of putting down the school focus their energy on working with teachers/administrators and their children to have a positive outcome. Really take a close look at the child, sometimes its hard to do! Thank you again to all the hard work you do on a daily basis!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 29, 2012

My kids love this school They have never been happier! we love the 2 pools and swimming lessons! Great staff also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2012

After reading other reviews, I have to respond to the teachers and parents who point fingers at those of us who've had negative experiences at AZMA. Why do you feel that just because *you* had one kind of experience, that *everyone* must have experienced the same? If you're happy with the school, that's great and thank you for sharing your feelings on the subject. There are LOTS of us who are/were not happy with the way our children are/were being educated, and we have just as much right as you to express our opinions. Furthermore, our "claims" are absolutely based in FACTS, which are quite easily verifiable. There is no standardized curriculum, or at least not one that is enforced for the lower grades (We had friends in other classes in the same grade level, and the curriculum taught was completely different in all three classes! The Principal is too busy trying to be everyone's "buddy" to be an effective manager and leader. The communication was improved, but is still severely lacking. There is very little pre-planning or forethought at this school, and the lackadaisical attitude from the administrators is completely unacceptable! This school simply does not set a good example.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2012

I could have written a similar review about remaining positive when there warning signs of problems. Great report cards but other signs of trouble, etc. The principal is a great saleswoman for the school but she is only selling her vision for the school, she does not have any leadership skills to run the school to attain her goals. The reality is that the school is currently a mess. Many mid year withdrawals and now end of the year transfers to other schools may make it hard for the school to survive. GIven the low level of education at this charter school I am not sure if they should. Children should not pay the price for their disorganization and huge egos.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2012

We gave this school a chance, remained positive and hopeful, although our first grader seemed to be learning at a very slow pace in all areas. Yet the report cards were always great and the teacher kept assuring us that everything was fine and told us to be patient every child learns at their own pace etc. Not being sure of the this assessment, we had our child tested by a third party school and was told that our first grade child was at a mid-to-low kindergarten level in all areas and recommended that repeating the first grade would be highly recommended. During our conversation it became apparent that we had experienced a lost school year and really only had been sending our child to a daycare facility. Needless to say we will not be back; and regardless of the positive reviews I have personally spoken with over a dozen parents who have expressed the same concern as ours. Some have left while others have stayed. The teachers are unprofessional, uncaring, lacking proper leadership from the principal who is more interested in whether there are sweets in lunches than properly leading her staff. Teachers avoid parent contact unless you are volunteering to help out in class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2012

Teachers are the backbone to this country's future and this school has dedicated personelle. The real concerns for anyone who is serious about educating their child; should be around curriculm - which this school needs to prioritize. The public vs montessori student ratios casues issues of frustration for all involved - With time this school could become quality - No patence to wait as our children can not be the byproduct.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2012

I have worked at Montessori Academy for about 4 years. It would be interesting to know from the negative comments how long they have been part of the community. The "turnover" that these posts speak of is totally blown out of proportion. Yes, teachers have left for personal reasons, but that happens everywhere, in all speres of life. The communication complaints have been remedied through email accounts for all teachers and newsletters that are sent out on a weekly basis and voicemail boxes for all teachers to facilitate phone contact,, a homework line so that parents can be aware of the work that their children are doing, as well as an open door policy with staff and adminstration. As for the credentials of the staff at this school all lead teachers have their Montessori certification, and there are several assistants who are currently going through Montessori training for certification. As a staff member of this school I am very pleased with the professionalism of the administration, and the overall environment in which I work. I am very saddened that people are upset with the school, but would say that most if not all of their claims are totally unfounded. I LOVE working at MA
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 18, 2012

We absolutely love this school and feel so fortunate that our child can attend here for free. For this quality of education along with the beautiful campus you would normally have to play high-price private fees. Our child is absolutely thriving here academically and socially. The Montessori method nurtures the whole child and gives each student a world view and and a thorough understanding of science and culture. There are also many fun and enriching outside activities and a real sense of community.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 42%
Hispanic 8% 43%
Black 3% 5%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 23%N/A47%
Female 46%N/A49%
Male 54%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gardening teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff American sign language
Arabic languages
French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Math club
  • Recycling club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Music
  • Performing arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • Computer animation

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Arabic languages
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Swimming pool
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Juli Newman
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (480) 874-2928

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Independent Study
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Montessori
  • Multi-aged
  • Project-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Environmental
  • Foreign languages
  • Global
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Writing
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Arabic languages
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Playground
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Violin
Girls sports
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Violin

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • Computer animation

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
  • Community service
  • Gardening
  • Math club
  • Recycling club
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6050 N. Invergordon Rd
Paradise Valley, AZ 85253
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 945-1121

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Kachina Country Day School
Paradise Valley, AZ


Kiva Elementary School
Paradise Valley, AZ






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT