Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Peoria High School

Public | 9-12 | 1702 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 4, 2014

My children were at this school 2013/2014 school year and I am pulling them out and taking to a charter school instead. In this past school year there has been favoritism shown by a teacher that was left completely unchecked and a student lived with another teacher apart from parents. That student was given teacher online access to student grades and allowed to do things other students weren't. It was a complete blurring of authority. My child was at the mercy of another student's approval for grades but the system was not set up in a way to protect my child. There is a building set up with security guards for teens to take classes that have been expelled in the past. I am concerned for the learning environment my children are in and as a result I am pulling them out of Peoria high school. I do not recommend this school. If you have a choice and can go to a different district I would.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2014

This school is horrible! Nobody here wants to excel at anything, everyone gossips, even the teachers and staff, and there are a lot of disrespectful people that go here. The atmosphere isn't very positive. There are a lot of fights, and there are not very many people here that have any morals or values. This school is ghetto-like, because of the way that people here act. There are a few good teachers at this school, but they don't encourage anyone to do above average. If you have a child and want what's in their best interest, don't let them go to this school. My experience going to this school was awful.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 23, 2012

WHO'S HOUSE!?!? CAT'S HOUSE!!! AAAAAHHH!!!! my freshman year i went to two different schools. Carl Hayden && Copper Canyon.. BUT then i moved to PHS and thats were i spent the last 3 AMAZING years of my high school life... and i LOOOOOOOVED IT! every bit of it..! they help you out SO much and all there electives are WONDERFUL at helping with ur future career. theres so much LOVE at the school, we're all practically family PHS school spirit is THE BEST with clubs, sports, and classes. you really feel like the teachers care, i couldn't have picked a better school to graduate from. ONCE A PANTHER..**ALWAYS** A PANTHER
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 17, 2011

Wow. What a horrid disappointment this school is. My grand daughter went here, and when they moved to a different district, they found out just how poorly PHS is really performing. The staff convince the kids to get all their electives out of the way as soon as possible. Leaving NO room to catch up if anything happens. Shame on PHS. Too bad I can't give this school negative stars.


Posted November 21, 2010

I graduated from Peoria High School. I thought it was an amazing school and I still think it is an amazing school. I like the idea of students being able to pick and choose their own schedule. It helps with the idea of independences and decision making, which really helps in the real world and for college. And even if the students are making poor choices, they still have their councilors there to make sure they stay on the right path. The traditions held at PHS is really what makes it Peoria High School, and what makes us all come back for the football games and other activities. If it were not for Marching Band, I would not have all the wonderful memories that I do have from my high school days. It really is a wonderful school.


Posted September 17, 2009

Tradition, Tradition, Tradition! All my kids love it as did I! I am a former Peoria High student as well as my children have either graduated, still attend and are future Panthers!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2009

Im currently attending Peoria High School and i think it is a wonderful school. The teachers really do care for the students and try their hardest to help my peers understand the lesson. When your a part of a sport or a club you really do feel like your a part of a family (even though thats sounds extremely corny). There are amazing electives and plenty of honors and AP classes and im blessed to be attending such a great school. PHS 2012!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 20, 2009

i was going to dysart high school. it was ok, but then i moved to peoria high. there is a huge difference they have alot of elective classes, and that will help you in the future the people there are always in a good mood, the teachers are real cool there, and they are crazy when it comes to sports! and as u see the comments below peoria is a good choice of a high school
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 1, 2009

I graduated from Peoria High School in 2003 and came back to observe classrooms in 2009. My experience at PHS from the fall of 1999 to the spring of 2003 was excellent. I was heavily involved in honors classes and several extra-curricular clubs. I always felt that the teachers were encouraging, although the facilities weren't in the best condition. My recent visit amazed me! The campus has morphed drastically (for the better). The new buildings must be so much nicer to have class in than what I was used to. It was good to see familiar faces and that a lot of the staff that I knew six years ago are still teaching there. That tells you a lot abou the quality of this school.


Posted March 27, 2009

This school was the best school I ever went to, but once I moved to surprise I was stuck going to Dysart high. I miss peoria. It was by far THE BEST SCHOOL IN EVERYWAY!! Especially the Rotc program. :]
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 7, 2008

Excellent School, wich caring teachers and a wonderful sports program
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2007

I love this school! It is the best!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2007

Outstanding diverse environment. Great teachers and staff. My students all recieved a great education, were prepared for college and felt accepted and a part of Peoria Family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2007

I graduated in 2003. I belive PHS is overall the best school that I had been to in my 12 years of schooling. I felt the staff reached out to the students on a more personal level and were interested in what they where doing out side of school as well as on the inside. Thanks to a lot of those teachers I graduated with honors after having a child in the middle of my senior year. A lot of schools would have just left me behind or sent me to another school! I would like to thank all the staff at PHS for helping me threw that. And now that my son if 4 1/2 he will be attending the PHS COOP program starting in August of 2007. Thank you Peoria!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 15, 2007

As far as sports go, I wouldn't send my children there not unless there trying out for track. Everything else is terrible and only getting worse.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2006

Since phs has begun its new building process, the actual amount of knowledge learned from both core classes and electives has gone up tremendously. Not all of the teachers are... Good teachers. Most, however, are awesome. They go the extra mile to ensure that all students are performing to the best of their abilities. My younger brother, a current freshman, will be the third phs graduate from my family, and i'm proud of that fact. The biggest negative i found with the school was the impersonality of the head staff. Some of the office staff, the vice principals, and the principal themselves are all very distant, and a large number of students have no idea who they are, because they are never out around the campus.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 14, 2006

The teachers do not help the kids in any way, even when a student pleads for help in understanding work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2006

im a former student graduated in 2005...this school was awesome to me and 3 older brother...great interation with teacher which allowed me to do the best i could.i was always encouraged to do the right thing and get involved with different things.i absolutely love this school and want my son to go here when he gets old enough..i love peoria and still support them..
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 12, 2006

The teachers work hard for the student and are very involved. The principal doesn't do a whole lot for the school, but we have enough support from the teachers, staff and parents anyways so it works out. There aren t a lot of problems with bullying. The school is very diverse. They fit everyone s needs for learning to help the student at their own rate
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 23, 2006

My daughter attended PHS her freshman year. Peoria has an excellent selection of classes and programs for the kids. While she loved her classes, practiularly the photo program which was phenomanal, they are issues with disiplin within the school. An ongoing bullying situation was brought to the administrations attention and not resolved. This resulted in my withdrawing her halfway through the school year for she feared for her physical safty. We ended up sacrificing a well developed academic program for a much more limited one but her peace of mind had to come first. I did not enroll my other child in the school when he reached ninth grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

436 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

438 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

436 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 45% 43%
White 38% 42%
Black 8% 5%
Two or more races 4% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 53%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (623) 486-6330

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Swimming
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Badminton
  • Diving
  • Swimming
  • Track

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11200 N 83rd Ave
Peoria, AZ 85345
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 486-6300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT