Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Happy Valley School

Charter | K-6

 
 

Living in Peoria

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $232,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 15 ratings
2012:
Based on 13 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

101 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 13, 2013

My daughter has been attending HVS since KG. She is finishing 4th grade this year. Overall we have loved this school and have had amazing teachers every year. This year, has been a little rough - we haven't loved her teacher (who was new to the school and new to 4th grade) - but we think it is important for our daughter to realize she isn't going to LOVE every teacher/person she will have to deal with in life. We plan to keep her here for the next 2 years and will be sad to move on for 7th-12th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2012

This school has been great in most areas. I am impressed with the academics and seeing my kids learn, I did however have to take 1 star off because although I feel the staff truly cares about the children there is a disconnect when it comes to parents. This school provides a fun learning atmosphere for the kids and as a result my kids love school and are learning a lot too. Parents don't get to volunteer in classrooms and that is a shame because the class size is large and it could really benefit to have some parents alongside helping where needed. Other than that Happy Valley is a wonderful school in my opinion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2012

My child has attended this school for several years and we have watched it go from bad to worse each year. Teachers have been fired or have left on their own. The one that needs to leave is the principal. He is the root of all evil at that school. I run into other parents all the time and they have nothing good to say about the school and many have transferred their kids to different schools as a result. My child will not be coming back to this scary place. Please reconsider taking your children here!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2012

It is sad to read hate reviews written by parents, who obviously didn''t get their way & blame everyone else. I have had a wonderful experience for the past 4 years, and look forward to the upcoming school year. My children are excelling, and love their school. We have loved all of our teachers, and if you need something the staff is more than willing to help in whatever way they can (including the principle & vice principle).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2012

The people that are complaining about the staff are the same ones who dislike everything and are unreasonable. This is a wonderful school with an A+ Excelling rating. My children have been there for the past 4 years. Never a problem!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2012

This school has been such a blessing! My child has really blossomed year after year. I can't say enough great things about the staff, from the teachers to the aides and office staff and owner. Very happy parents and we highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2012

My daughter has been at this school for the last 5 years and I am quite pleased with how she has excelled. I find the majority of parents are very pleased with what Happy Valley has to offer in its curriculum, enrichment classes, and supplemental materials. Happy Valley is dedicated to giving students the best education possible. Compare the AIMS scores of this school to other charter/public schools. The scores are an excellent indication that the teachers are doing a great job and the students respond to the efforts to help them succeed. If you are not interested in a quality education then this is not the school for you. Parent involvement is only limited because the students are there to learn, not to spend time with their parents. Parents are invited to participate in Field day, to go on field trips, to help with the class parties and to be a part of the excellent Parent Team. Family time is important to the owners; therefore homework is very minimal giving the students that time with their family. If you are interested in helping your student be prepared for the rest of their years of education, give them the best start possible and send them to Happy Valley School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2012

- Excellent Academics - Very large class sizes. Would like to see smaller classes in the younger grades - Addition of a gymnasium would be a huge boost to the school - Very little opportunity for parental involvement - Admin staff is friendly and helpful - School events are difficult because they are held in the cafeteria and cannot accomodate very many people
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2012

My daughter has been attending this school for the past 6 years and I have watched this school go down hill every year! The principle is a joke! He is full of empty promises and full of a few other unmentionable things too! Unless they find a replacement principle, DO NOT send your children to this school!!!! You will regret it!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2012

I have two children at HVS and over the years have had amazing teachers. However this year one of my children had a horrible year do to a teacher. Some things I have learned this year is yelling and belittling the children are exceptible behaviors by owner and staff and that a lifetime experience degree from redding university is also exceptible...if you look it up you can see that all you need is 4 years work experience and NO education, a payment of $395 and you can receive a bachelor in art of education! AMAZING so do your homework check the credentials and resumes very important parents need to stand up for there children!


Posted April 16, 2012

I think that HVS has been a good experience for my two children. This is our first year here, and it is much better overall than the local district's school we were last attending. I have found the staff to be very friendly, and my kids have learned a great deal. I am a bit disappointed that I cannot volunteer in the classroom, but I do my best to remain cheerful and supportive. There are no perfect schools out there, but so far I am happy with the results at HVS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2012

HVS has really dissapointed me the last few years. Although I have been happy with the teachers my children have had (by request), the majority of the teachers are lazy and not happy to be there. The school has gotten WAY to big.... and they just keep adding more. My children have had 35+ kids in their classes, with no aides. If you want to be involved with your childs education, don't send your children here. Parents are not wanted.... and if you want to know whats going on with your child, YOU have to make the effort to befriend the teacher. I am pulling my kids out of HVS and will not be sending my younger ones their either. Unless they make major changes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2012

I wouldn't recommend it. They have some good teachers but they also have bad ones, unfortunately the bad ones ruine the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2012

We attended Happy Valley for kindergarden and would not recommend this school to another family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2011

The turnover at this school is less than desirable as it upsets the children and yes, the parking is a nightmare. However, if parents follow the pick-up times, it goes pretty smoothly. There are teacher "cliques". Some teachers seem to belittle the children and lose their tempers. However, it is because of a few teachers that give this reviewer the high marks. Some of these teachers have hearts of gold and are a credit to their profession; others should move on. Depending on the teacher your child gets, the education and teacher make up for the cons (no gym; less "fun")
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2011

My daughter started in KG at Happy Valley School and she is now in 2nd grade. I absolutely love the high expectations of the children. My daughter loves coming to school and she's getting the best education. I love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2010

I LOVE Happy Valley school. I have two children who've attended there for two years now and have been extremely happy with the school. We moved here from Boston and were worried about the level of education in Arizona but have been nothing but pleased with the curriculum at Happy Valley.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2010

This school claims to encourage parent involvement, but the truth is they barely tolerate it. Parents are not "allowed" to help in the classroom and the school refuses to allow a formal PTO of any kind. There is a volunteer "clique" of parents who help at the school, they are are extremely limited in what the are allowed to do or say. The communication at this school is horrible. There are NO parent/teacher conferences and when you request one the teachers are very defensive. Their style is not one of transparancy at all. The principal lacks all courage and the staff is petrified of the administration. The ratios are as high as 33 to 1 with a part time aide and again NO parent help in the classrooms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2010

I am a Mother to 4 children, spanning in age from 15 to 3. The very first year Happy Valley opened 10 years ago, my son began kindergarten there. I had worked with him extensively at home and wanted to send him to a school that would support all that he already knew. Happy Valley not only supported it, they challenged him! They allowed him to excell at his own pace and made sure that he had everything he needed to do so. He is now 15, a junior in High School (having skipped a grade) in all honors classes, with a 5.0 GPA. I currently have a 6th grader and a 1st grader attending Happy Valley and am looking forward to sending my youngest once she is old enough to embark on the formal education journey. The staff is amazing and the academics superb. Thanks Happy Valley!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2010

I have a Kindergartener, a second grader, and a third grader at this school. They all loved it and adored their teachers. (2 very quiet kids and one outspoken) Yes, class sizes are large which is why there are always 2 teachers in every classroom and teachers aids available to tutor. (during school) Yes, it is up to the parents to communicate via the daily planner which is always checked. No they don't have lots of parents volunteering which I like because I don't approve of how some parents speak to other children, what I would consider immodest dressing, or tatoos showing around my children. Teachers are trained parents are not. This is a great school
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 42%
Hispanic 10% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 3%
Black 2% 5%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 14%N/A47%
Female 54%N/A49%
Male 46%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7140 W. Happy Valley Road
Peoria, AZ 85383
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 376-2900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Candeo Schools
Peoria, AZ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT